We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“100% Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from staying 12 days on HB at this hotel.

We booked a garden view room and were also very pleased to have a view of the sea. The rooms are immaculate, clean, light and airy with well equipped bathrooms. The chambermaid ensured that the room was kept in an exceptional condition on a daily basis.

The food was amazing. We arrived late and the restaurant had been kept open. There is a huge selection and variety at the buffet breakfast, fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfasts, home-made
pastries, cheeses, meats etc. The evening meal was "fine dining" with choices from a daily menu, chef's recommendation or the a la carte menu. This coupled with the very attentive and professional restaurant staff made eating here feel like a special occasion. We are really pleased we booked HB. In comparison to other restaurants offering the same standard of food this hotel was excellent value.

The reception rooms in the hotel were immaculate. The indoor areas, the pool, the decking area by the sea and the gardens were fabulous.

The town centre was a pleasant ten minute walk away with no inclines and with views across the
bay.

On a final note, all the staff are a huge credit to this hotel. They really do try to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. We would highly recommend this hotel and would not consider staying anywhere else in Sorrento.

Thank you to all at the hotel who made this visit truly special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for spending your time in writing this nice review.
The location is certainly great, it is a point of strenght for us; just 10 minutes walk from the beautiful town centre, but at the same time away from the city chaos.
Once in Hotel, you can only apprecite the calm of our beautiful garden, the breathtaking views of the Golf of Naples and the culinary delights of our Restaurant.

Wish you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    188
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
190
580
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The hotel is let down by very poor management - the service is non existent. Staff do not appear to be interested in assisting and are quite rude and unhelpful. Breakfast is sub-standard, you have to make your own tea, options are limited, and the waiters are non- attentive. It's a shame as the hotel location and building are very good, a change of ownership or management is really needed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are terribly sorry to know you left our Hotel with such a great disappointment,
Your words leave us astonished as your review is the only one so negative among hundreds positive. Our Staff is really attentive to Customers needs and always runs out of his way to satisfy
all the requests. We hope you‘ll be back one day, and hopefully you’ll give us the chance to redeem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, this time with sons and girlfriends in their 20s.
The hotel was beautiful before, but the refurbishment that has taken place since our last visit has improved and updated the reception and bar area greatly.
The rooms are well appointed and serviced excellently by the daily maid service. Little extras, like a choice of pillow is very welcome.
The staff at the concierge desk and in the restaurant and bars are very friendly and professional. Should you wish to garage cars here, there is a charge and getting into and out of the gates is an experience in itself, but the staff are willing to help.
There is a short, 10 minute walk into Sorrento, but a bus service is available just beside the hotel.
One suggestion for improvement would be the provision of mattresses for the sun beds beside the pool and down at the deck over the sea. We had suggested this after our last visit and were disappointed to see the same uncomfortable sun beds still in use.
We enjoyed our stay here, and would return
I would recommend this beautiful hotel in it's convenient location.

Room Tip: Some less expensive rooms are below street level, built into the cliffs, with windows opening onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for coming back to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We are glad to know you liked and appreciate the refurbishment of these last years.
We alway try to improve ourselves and to give our Customers the maximum comfort, in the service and facilities.
We hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Found this Hotel by googling and what a gem!
Centrally located, a 15-20 minute walk to the port to board a boat to the Isle of Capri.
Less then 10 minute walk to Sorrento city center and 5 minutes to the nearest BancoMat.
We spent 7 nights at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori (wish it was more)
We booked 2 tours online through the hotel beforehand and at check-in, the very professional and friendly concierge was on top of it. Even booked the 3rd tour right then!
Recommend splurging for the room with a bay view and Mt. Vesuvius.
Our room had to be 300 feet above the sea (5th floor)-there are lower level floors, as well as a very "healthy" walk down the stairs to the beach dock. (Elevator is also available)
Not only was the food exceptional, but so was the service!
The gardens are beautiful, there was an abundant amount of places to relax, smoke, drink and eat.
We are already thinking of returning next May with our son and daughter-in-law.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn that you were pleased with your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we went thru the doors of the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome,everyone was so friendly and the bell boy took our bags straight up to our room whilst they had kept the restaurant open for us as we arrived late,the service was second to none in all respects from management to housekeeping,the room was immaculate and very large overlooking the sea,just gorgeous views from our balcony too
We were independent travellers with a hired car and the concierge was very helpful with suggestions of day trips etc....
We had an absolute 5* experience

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view spectacular . The C floor rooms have just been refurbished and just beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review that literally make us feel proud of running the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We feel totally gratified when we read comments like yours because the Guests satisfaction is our main aim.
It was a real pleasure to welcoming you and we look forward to a future occasion.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We returned from a truly exceptional full week holiday at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in May. Looking back in trying to decide where would stay in Sorrento - we were so glad we chose the Ambasciatori. The room was perfect - though not direct sea view, we were on the right side of the hotel with a peak a boo view of the ocean. The room was absolutely immaculate and the daily service exceptional. Ah, the breakfast room. What a great way to start the day! Delicious breakfast foods with outdoor or indoor dining. Omelettes made to order and yummy crepes. Each waiter, each server, each food preparer, showed so much care in their work. The grounds were beautiful and the views to the Marina and Mt. Vesuvius so relaxing. The seating on grounds compels you to sit, have a beverage, relax and take it all in. The Front Desk team is exceptional - professional and very helpful. Definitely attend one of their midweek special evenings with dinner and music - wonderful!! The walk in to town is pleasant and we found that we saw different things as we took different routes. We enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of town and yet close enough to walk to everything. Working in the hospitality industry, I was so impressed by the care and attention that was given to every detail of our stay.We are already dreaming of a return some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting that the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori is an excellent hotel.
We do our best to improve the hospitality we offer; our Staff is really genuine, smiling and willing to maintain high the standards of the Hotel.
Thanks again for this review, good comments are always welcome
we are all very proud of your words.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori end of May for a long weekend. The journey from the airport through Naples is pretty depressing but as you climb to reach Sorrento the views are to die for. Hotel situated on a hairy bend with no drop off zone, cars/taxis have to pull in on the opposite side and you have to navigate the road with care!. Very efficient check in and we were given an upgrade - which was great. Suite was lovely, loads of space to hang/store clothes, comfy bed, very clean, large shower. Spectacular balcony with chairs, table, sun beds and jacuzzi. Breakfast good- check out the homemade marmalade - delicious, quick, efficient egg station. We opted for the meal deal, lovely food and lots to choose from. I will say, if an amuse bouche is served then it would be a good idea to explain to the participants what they are eating, the waiters failed to do this on two occasions! The only other downside was the bath in the bathroom did not dispense hot enough water too bathe in, there was clearly something wrong with the lever that delivers the water. I did make the front desk aware of this but they did not act on this complaint. If I had paid full price for this suite, I would have been disappointed. The weather was a little cool when we visited and it would have been lovely to soak in a hot bath before dinner. Friends stayed in the suite next door and did not have any problems with the temperature of their water. To end on a positive note - all staff from the waiters, bar tenders, gardener etc are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to write your nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
The location is certainly great, just 10 minutes walking to the beautiful town centre, but at the same time away from the city chaos.
We are pleased you appreciated our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our dishes, the services offered by our hotel, the courtesy and the friendliness of our staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience occurred; we can assure our Staff promptly warned the maintenance to provide. Maybe it took longer than expected, that's why a room change was also offered , but you preferred to stay as you liked the room very much.
We really care for Customers satisfaction and wish you will return very soon for an even better experience

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.