We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel President to your Saves list
Grand Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Colle Parise 4, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed middle of October so was at the end of the season. The hotel is in a lovely location overlooking Sorrento. We didn't brave the walking down and back but used the Hotel's shuttle bus which was excellent. We stayed on half board and the food was very good, perhaps a little more choice for the evening meal would have been nice as it would probably have got repetitive if on a longer stay, but prepared and served very well. All the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel or going back.

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    155
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
96
423
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Where ever i may roam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I wanted to surprise my wife on her "special day" with a hill top location to get out of the city centre and an excellent view over the Bay of Naples. First 2 boxes ticked, the next was comfort, courtious attention and relaxation, all three ticked. Cleanliness, facilities and connections all passed. So very pleased with choice of hotel. The walk down is fun and not too bad on return, however, a reasonable fitness is required but the views are worth it. We went at the quiet time of year (end Oct early Nov) so it was running on a third capacity - fantastic for us as it suits our needs. The shuttle service is spot on and always on time and efficient. The breakfast was good and plentyful to suit most palates and the evening meal was of a good quality and changed everyday but not too spectacular hence only 4 spots. I would have no hestation in going back as we really loved the location, hotel and genuine hospitality just a pity the weather was "soggy" and we could not make full use of the excellent roof top bar and lounge area. Hey Ho!!!

Room Tip: Always go for the sea view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the President for our honeymoon. We were there for about 5 days - basically doing day trips around the area each day. We booked the hotel and an ocean view superior room based upon the photos we saw on their website. When we got to the hotel, we were given a room that looked nothing like the website - it was ultra modern, smaller, with the bed in the center of the room and not much room around it. Plus the bathroom was tiny. We asked to be moved to another room, which they did, however that room was just below the hotel restaurant - which they neglected to tell us before they moved us. It shouldn't have been a problem except that the floors of the entire hotel are tile and the restaurant opens at 7am. We heard everything and it was awful. We moved again (yes a 3rd time) to a lovely room but once again the tile everywhere makes the sound proofing non-existent. There are some good aspects though - the pool area is lovely and the morning breakfast is very nice. You dine overlooking the ocean with a beautiful view of Sorrento. The dinner restaurant is good - but very pricey. So is the food at the pool - and that's not anything special either. The hotel itself is situated on top of the mountain and although it's all right to walk down - it's awful to walk up. There is a hotel shuttle but we found having a car to be worthwhile. This is also not a kid friendly hotel - we didn't see one there the entire time we were there. It seemed to cater more towards older couples and that's who was mostly there. When we return to Sorrento we will not be making a return to the president.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great hotel with fantastic views of the bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius and Sorrento. Room was very clean and had a balcony with views over Sorrento and the Bay. The food was ok but Star ratings in Italy dont compare with the UK.

The food was a very ordinary restaurant standard, think Zizzi's and you'll be on the right track. Pool area could get a little crowded but we did visit in the height of summer. Food from the pool cafe was very good if a little simple in content.

Views from the roof at night are fantastic and its a great place to Star gaze. The rooftop jakuzzi, for me its what I call a human soup bowl, no thanks.

You can walk down to Sorrento from the Hotel it takes about 20 minutes but it can be a bit of a slog on the way up, especially if its hot.

Make sure you visit Capri, Sorrento, Ravello, Naples, Herculaneum, Mount Vesuvius and most of all the Villa Cimbrone in Ravello which is Incomparable... rising above the roses and oleanders on a plateau whence the gaze sweeps to the sea.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here only amazed at the beauty of the area. Word of warning though, Italians dont give a S**t about their cars so if you hire one be prepared for a totally reckless attitude to driving, especially from the the scooter drivers. Bring it on!

Room Tip: Get one with a view its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a truly fantastic holiday in the summer at this superb hotel. The views are wonderful, the staff very helpful and the food fabulous - a different menu everyday of our stay.
We booked this holiday independently and worried about how it would be but we can honestly say from the minute we arrived and saw our bedroom and the view over the Bay of Naples we knew we'd fallen on our feet. The staff couldn't have been more helpful making our stay wonderful in every way.
Our bedroom was wonderful, very clean, great facilities - with tea and coffee provided as well as a fridge/mini bar.
The views are amazing; plenty to do everyday; the walk into Sorrento was not a problem and the courtesy bus an added bonus. Public transport at the top of the quiet road and plenty of footpaths to explore further afield.
We can thoroughly recommend this to everybody - fabulous!
Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Anyone reading reviews about this hotel will have probably worked out it is a very good hotel to stay in.
The hotel is based at the end of a very quiet road, amazing views, spotlessly clean, very helpful staff and good food quality, although I would not have it down as five star food, more like four star.
We regularly walked down into Sorrento using the off road cobbled path, it takes about fifteen minutes and it is quite steep coming back up, but for the average reasonably fit person this should not be a problem.
We did use the courtesy bus when raining, etc and found it to be very efficient; the driver being very helpful and careful.
A lot of people have commented on not enough times the coach goes down, if they add another one in the middle of the afternoon this would satisfy most guests.
Safe is included in the price and a fridge containing a mini bar, (not free). No tea and coffee making facilities, poor for a Thomson Platinum Hotel.
If travelling with Thomson, and as this hotel is advertised as a Platinum, we were forth drop off, when I pointed this out to the rep on the bus she replied “due to the amount of people and the logistics of the area it is not possible to have this hotel as a priority drop off” She agreed with me that “Thomson were misleading people but they have raised this all summer with Thomson and no one is listening”.
The rep in the hotel informed us on this matter they are under pressure to reduce costs. We did not lose sleep over this but it’s the principle of the matter, Thomson make a big play and charge a lot more for Platinum Hotel’s and to me they are misleading people, especially when there own staff have been telling them all summer.
We had booked a sea view room,(on mainly reviews on Tripadvisor), and paid well over two hundred pounds extra for this, a little bit disappointing to arrive and although we could see the sea through trees and great views of Sorrento it was annoying the fact the hotel had plenty of rooms above the pool sitting empty.
This has changed my mind now on sea views, if you are the type of guests, that spends most of your time at the hotel and using your balcony to admire the views then it probably makes sense, if like us you are out and about a lot, and the fact that we used to sunbathe on the roof and have the best views in the hotel I would recommend booking a ordinary room. You will be overlooking the hotel car park, which did not appear that busy, and remember you are not on a road it’s really quiet, you have shutter doors and a internal double glazed door, no problem with sound from outside.
The sound problem is internal, all typically Italian tiled floors throughout the hotel and the walls are paper thin, so ear plugs essential, if you want a goods night’s sleep.
All in all a very good hotel, which we would stay again.
If visiting places use public transport, especially the trains you will save a fortune on Thomson excursions,( Pompeii and Hercalaneum), although the Amalfi drive is worth every penny at 34 euro’s, and our advice avoid the Ischia trip, unless you want to spend all afternoon looking around gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from an excellent week at the President in Sorrento. All the reviews prior seemed to be very positive and we were not put off by the high position overlooking the bay. We were very lucky with the weather considering it was the end of October, between 24 and 26 degrees every day, beautiful. This was not a sun bathing holiday for us but could easily have been had we wanted.

We chose to be away from the centre of Sorrento and was glad we did. Don't be put off by the basic rear entrance when you arrive, as the "Jewel in the Crown" is the view from the front, "breathtaking" !!! Yes, it is a long winding downward walk into town and a steep walk back but that suited us and for the sceptical and less active there is a perfectly good free shuttle bus into town and back (we used it twice). The walk was needed after the excellent food every day and the wine was very reasonably priced. The Grand Buffet on the Thurs wasn't the best meal of the week but still good. The staff were excellent especially the friendly head waiter who attended to ours and everyone's needs admirably.

The hotel swimming pool was freezing as you would expect at this time of year but I did brave it once, just for the hell of it. The sea at Amalfi was cold but a relative bath compared to the pool.
The "only" small criticisim were the cushions on the roof terrace which were well past their sell by date but with only 1 week left in the season I suspect they will be replaced before next season. A more robust cushion would be more appropriate.

The trips out were a must and I suggest using the local transport system as they work out much cheaper than the organised trips. We paid 20 euros for a 3 day "Sita" transport pass (be careful not to get the wrong one as EAV does not cover all) which allowed unlimited travel on the bus and train. We went to Amalfi, Positano and could have gone on to Ravello but the bus was full on that day and we did not have time to wait for the next one. The fantastic amalfi drive is a must and the most amazing drive I have ever made anywhere (safe, but not for the faint hearted) but worth 20 euros alone (Thomsons trip costs £35 euros for that alone). If you don't want to get a 3 day pass you can get there and back in a day for 7 euros 20 cents (bargain!!). You can also get on the train to Pompeii and Naples with your 3 day pass. Don't recommend Naples as it is crawling with professional pick pockets and we bumped into a couple who had experienced this first hand. Beware!!

Capri is beautiful and well worth a visit but again, book yourself at the port, much cheaper. A tip, don't go on the sea cat car ferry as it has no open deck and is more expensive. It can leave early without warning. Make sure you are there 15 mins before departure, we nearly missed our return. Ischia is another good day out on the boat but we preferred Capri.

I fully recommend this hotel to anyone. There is so much more to write about but I will leave it there.

Room Tip: Why book a sea view at extra cost when you have the view everywhere else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Colle Parise 4, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers all modern facilities; sitting high above Sorrento with unique views of the hills and the Bays of Sorrento & Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.