We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, clean, friendly and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Tasso to your Saves list
Palazzo Tasso
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria della Pieta, 33, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate, clean, friendly and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Palazzo Tasso, Sorrento with the family (4 of us including 2 kids, 9 and 6). The place was absolutely immaculate - we stayed on the 3rd floor in a very clean, modern room for 4. The room was at the front of the hotel, and had a balcony overlooking one of the main streets, Corso Italia, great for people watching...but surprisingly with very little, it seemed very quiet at night! No worries about being on the 3rd floor either as a lift is provided to carry your bags up to your room and breakfast was served on the floor above us in a superb, light-filled room at the top of the building. This again was very modern and clean, with stunning views from the high level windows including across to the cathedral bell tower next door (which didn't disturb is either...the place seems to be well insulated against noise). Breakfast was great, especially for our two kids who were able to pick and choose exactly what they wanted, and coffee/tea flowed generously from staff who were in the breakfast room to help serve and clean up. Staff we very friendly, Pepe in particular made it a very enjoyable stay for us, my kids loved him, and nothing seemed to much trouble. He was also a font of local knowledge and recommended some excellent places to eat. This was my kids first trip abroad and they're first comment based on our arrival at the hotel was how friendly Italians were - a credit to Pepe who was the first Italian they had met! Before our arrival I found Silvano extremely helpful - all my questions were answered informatively and promptly, and directions to the hotel from the train station were easy to follow. The main entrance to the hotel is in a characterful back street off the main road, and its was great to walk out of the hotel into this traffic-free (well apart from the odd scooter) road and emerge a few minutes later into the main square in Sorrento, or drop down through one of the alleyways and onto Corso Italia.

A gem of a place - I can't recommend it highly enough, and given the opportunity to visit Sorrento in the future I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Thanks guys for a wonderful stay.

Adam Whitehouse

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    79
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
145
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a small, modest, yet perfect hotel for our stay in Sorrento and to visit surrounding areas, including Capri and Pompeii. The hotel is mid-town Sorrento, convenient to everything: restaurants, gelatterias, shops, pizza, the harbor and the train station. The rooms were meticulously maintained and breakfast was well-serviced. The staff was excellent, from restaurant suggestions, to breakfast service, to even spending hours on the phone helping my sister locate her missing suitcases from the Napoli airport. The hotel staff even convinced the Napoli airport suitcase attendant to pull the suitcase from its incorrectly programmed destination. We are looking forward to planning another trip to cover more of the area and staying here, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 11 rooms, with balaconies overlooking one of the main Sorrento small streets. Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Palazzo Tasso, and for the excellent review you wrote, for us the most important thing is our guests satisfaction and we try to do our best every day to obtain it. It's always a pleasure to know that our guest enjoy their stay and the hospitality here at Palazzo Tasso.
Our Guests smile is our mission !
Hope to see you again in the future.
Silvana
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Palazzo Tasso for 4 nights.. Feb 2013.The hotel was all we wanted,it was very clean and comfortable.The staff were very helpful with information about restaurants and transport to see sights etc.The breakfast room was very bright and clean with a selection of cereal and pastry's,maybe would have liked to get an egg and the addition of a toaster would be nice.our room was on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the main street for shopping,very nice but could be a bit noisy in high season.

If going out of season as we did you will find some restaurants and shops closed but you have the advantage of no crowds.!!

Paazzo Tasso is very well placed for the train station.

We went over to Capri and while getting our tickets for the ferry we were approached by a guide who wanted us to join his tour of the Island,at first we were a bit hesitant as he was telling us shops and restaurants would be closed and if we wanted to get round the Island on local buses they would be crowded,we did decide to go on the tour (only 6 on a 20 seater coach) and did find it was well worth it at 20 euro's.

As a previous reveiwer said the Hotel main door is situated in a cobbled alley way so do your research on how to find it before you go !

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel would be quieter but don't know about the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this excellent review, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to do our best everyday to make our guests holiday an unforgettable one. We hope to meet you again soon in Sorrento!
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Palazzo Tasso for three nights, and I would wholeheartedly recommend the experience. On our arrival, Silvana checked us in, took out a map, and gave us a lot of really useful information about what to do and how to get there - much valued because we were travelling in the low season. In fact, all the hotel staff we encountered were extremely friendly.

The hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, close to shops, the train station and the boat port. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. Wifi in the room was the fastest we've enjoyed on our seven week trip, and the satellite tv has enough channels to keep everyone happy. Our room also included a safe and a fridge, both of which were handy.

In all, a very comfortable and entirely stress-free stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, for us it has been a big pleasure to welcome you here at the Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento. We are glad you loved our rooms and our hospitality. We truly look forward to welcoming you here again.in the future.
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a quadruple room which was quite small. They just put two single portable beds in the room. One at the foot of the main bed and one at the side. This made it quite difficult to walk around the room. We did only use it to sleep in however as the weather was fine and we spent most of the time sight seeing and shopping. The front desk is not manned after 9pm but you have a key for entry. There are quite a few steps but there is a small elevator if you need it, especially for the luggage. Silvana gave us great directions from the train station which was only a 5-10 minute walk. Breakfast is lovely with cereals, coffee, cakes, yoghurt, juice, fruits etc. would stay there again in summer but not in a quad room. Great view of street.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I and our two adult children spent 5 nights in Sorrento at Palazzo Tasso and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location in the center of Sorrento where you can truly get a feel for the ebb and flow of the town right outside your window. The rooms are immaculately clean and minimalist and the pictures on Trip Advisor are indicative of what you'll get. Given that we didn't intend to spend a lot of time in our room, we were looking for location, cleanliness, comfort at a good price vs. a high luxury stay. As it relates to our experience...it was 5-star. The staff is fantastic and kudos to both Pepe and Silvana for making our stay special. The handled everything from recommendations on great restaurants (and they were fantastic), day trip recommendations and logistics to Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius and Ecolano, Amalfi and Positano to helping us track down my daughter's lost luggage (thanks Delta!) for basically the entire visit. Most of all, we had tried to book a Suite for the four of us and when we all realized that we would be too cramped in the reserved accommodation (I think this would have been fine for small children but not four adults), they went out of their way to solve the problem and make alternative arrangements at the hotel to make us feel comfortable. This was 5-star service all the way around and thanks to both Pepe and Silvana for making our Sorrento experience all the more enjoyable and memorable! By the way, breakfast is included and was perfect for our needs...not too heavy but enough variety to get us going in the morning. I highly recommend Palazzo Tasso and look forward to our return in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the configuration and match to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento and especially for this excellent review, we truly appreciated. For us it' s a big pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are close to everything , shops , restaurants, we are lucky, our position is strategical and together with this we try to do our best to make our guest's holiday an unforgettable one. Our guests smile is our mission ! We hope to meet you again in the future.
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

good location, modern room, friendly staff. breakfast was average/basic. clean. A/C and TV is good. Location is key. Found through Tripadvisor and was pleased. Close to shopping and great restaurants... Go do day trips by boat or bus... Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and also for choosing Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento, we do our best every day to let our guests enjoy their stay, and we hope you'll choose us again for your next trip in Sorrento.
Silvana
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta, 33, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Tasso 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers 15 cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Tasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.