We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good little find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Tasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria della Pieta, 33, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location. Good little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

good location, modern room, friendly staff. breakfast was average/basic. clean. A/C and TV is good. Location is key. Found through Tripadvisor and was pleased. Close to shopping and great restaurants... Go do day trips by boat or bus... Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and also for choosing Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento, we do our best every day to let our guests enjoy their stay, and we hope you'll choose us again for your next trip in Sorrento.
Silvana
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    68
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
114
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I traveled with my family and stayed 4 days in the hotel. Location is fantastic, right in the heart of the city, near everything by walking distance. Breakfast is ok (not great variety but has everything we need to start the day) . I would definetly come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our third trip to Sorrento after a gap of 26 years. Previously we were never in the town centre so this was a huge benefit this time as it allows you to pop in and out without a long walk or bus ride to your hotel. Unlike some, we found the continental breakfast just fine, we especially like the taste of the crusty bread rolls stuffed with salami. Italian bread is generally hard and dry. After every breakfast we never felt hungry during the run up to lunchtime.

Our room was good sized, clean and adequate. The en-suite was good too - the shower had more than enough water pressure. The glazing cut out the traffic noise and I am a light sleeper. The church bells are audible but isn't that what they are for, calling to the faithful?

The Staff and Owners are so friendly and helpful.

4 stars and not 5 only because of the noise of footsteps from the main marble stairs which are the other side of your bedroom door. If you are on the very top floor then the stairs are a good form of exercise, forget the lift you'll feel the better for it.

Room Tip: The balconies are narrow so don't really count - I'd rather be 150 metres away in the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A surprisingly modern design for a hotel in the middle of Sorrento. Fully refurbished and sound proofed rooms, very important given the church bells are next door. Great location in the historic quarter, ten minutes to the train station and buses. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon this year. We originally booked a standard room but we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very secure as you cannot enter without a key to the front door. Our room was clean and crisp with a balcony that overlooked the entire main street. Our bedroom was modern and the bathroom was nice and big. The walls, doors and windows of each room are soundproof so it's easy to get a peaceful night sleep. Breakfast was served on the top floor. It was basic but enough to start the day with. The hotel as a whole looked very well maintained. It's close to the main shopping and dining areas, and it's a 10 minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the seaport. It was also my birthday while we were at this hotel and the staff gave us 2 bottles of champagne as a birthday gift and also congratulations on our recent marriage. This was such a nice gesture and it made my husband and I feel very special, like we were VIPs. Overall, this hotel was worth every penny and I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so glad that you appreciated so much staying with us a Palazzo Tasso right in the historical center of Sorrento, and we truly want to thank you for this excellent review, we try to do our best every day to make our guest's holiday an unforgettable one.
We hope we did also with yours and we look forward to welcoming you again at our Guest House
Hope to see you again in Sorrento!
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was very clean, and the water pressure in the shower is fabulous.The location is close to all transportation, restaurants,shopping, etc. The wi-fi is reliable. Like other reviewers, I found the breakfast disappointing. I found the quality, not necessarily the variety, of the breakfast items, breads, cakes, etc. to be poor. I think I would choose to stay at a location where the reception desk is manned 24 hours a day,. It is personal preference, but on the day of our departure at 5:30 A.M., the elevator was out of service, and so we had to carry our luggage down from the 4th floor. Again, this is a non issue if one were leaving later or on a lower floor; however, it was an issue for us. I realized that 24 hour manned reception is not important unless one happens to need it. Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Finally we have found the diamond in the rough! We stayed a week at Palazzo Tasso in August. Fantastic central location within easy walking distance to everything - train station, shops, restaurants, marina for ferry to Capri. We were not disappointed when we arrived. Bright, modern and clean rooms with all amenities, including private bathroom, comfortable beds, fresh towels and linen daily, TV, safe, mini bar and free WIFI. Our room had a small balcony overlooking Corso Italia which provided a great opportunity for people watching. Double-glazed doors to balcony provided a quiet room despite all the hustle and bustle on the street below. All the staff, Silvana, Pepe and Rosaria, were extremely friendly and helpful and speak perfect English. Silvana was fantastic in providing insights and information about Sorrento and recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Pepe provided a great start to the morning with an excellent coffee, great smile and friendly chat. The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. Overall a memorable stay and we have no hesitation in recommending this gem. We can't wait to stay here again when we next visit Sorrento. Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta, 33, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Tasso 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers 15 cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Tasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.