We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest restaurant in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Squillante al Ghibli

Chef Squillante al Ghibli
Via Marina Piccola, 49, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 4063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 234 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $19 - $46
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“The nicest restaurant in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This little restaurant is a must go when you go to visit Sorrento. It is beautifully located in the little harbor with a nice view over the sea. The food is fantastic and the service is super friendly. The son of the owner drove us back to the hotel after dinner which was very nice as it is otherwise a steep walk uphill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    56
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate here last night and had a truly great dining experience. Before our antipasti arrived we'd already been given three different types of beautiful fresh breads. We then had first, second and dessert. Following this we had coffee which came with even more food. It was all delicious, and the waiters were extremely nice. The area is really quite and sits peacefully by the water. When looking for the venue TA directed me to the wrong spot. It's down the bottom of the hill, on the right beside the jetty to Capri. Magnificent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting despite being the day after the floods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The evening started with Mario picking us up on time from our hotel. There had Bennett floods the evening before so it was very quiet on the waterfront, but the stating is so nice and the food was excellent it didn't matter
Would definitely recommend the place for food and service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cannot get any closer to the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location of the restaurant is so close to the water it was spectacular. I loved the location and enjoyed sitting outside at the end of the evening enjoying the views. The family running the restaurant is wonderful and they were able to spend a good amount of time with us as there were not many other customers when we arrived.

The food was very good and we had so many courses with each one having the same quality and wonderful taste. At the end of the evening, the owner's son drove us back to our hotel so my father-in-law did not have to walk as there were a million (or it seemed) stairs that we went down to get to the restaurant. I could not imagine climbing back up all those stairs after the meal we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Michelin standard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The owner/chef here worked at a 2* Michelin restaurant and this shows in his food - its excellent. Some of the best ravioli I have tasted. Its a family run establishment and service can be a bit sketchy if they are busy. This restaurant is situated on the water at Marina Piccolo so lovely location and they will collect and return you to your hotel which is a bonus.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Squillante al Ghibli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.