We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must search it out and go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Squillante al Ghibli

Chef Squillante al Ghibli
Via Marina Piccola, 49, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 4063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 231 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $18 - $44
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You must search it out and go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days in Sorrento and ate tbere 5 t
fact that it was adjacent to where we stayed was a factor. The menu is not extensive but we had different dishes each time and they were all delightful. On our final night the wheels came off the service rather. As we were given the wrong bill and it took some sorting. Language was an issue as was operating the card machine. In spite of this confusion we would go back. The position (on a private beach) is wonderful. The fact that it is away from the stampede of tbe town centre is a real bonus. It is euro bus trip from the centre or they will pick you up and take you back to your hotel. Don't miss this restaurant. It on the Marina Piccola. Seafood at its best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    61
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food, but very slow service. Be prepared to wait a long time for everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to Ghibli based on the high TA reviews. Food was pretty good, but the service was so slow. Our entrees were not served until 1.5 hours after we started dinner, and we only ordered 2 courses. Due to the slow service, we decided to forego dessert because we didn't want to wait another hour to get it. Getting the check took multiple requests and another 30 minutes. I even considered walking out, on the theory that that might produce the check faster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gourmet food in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Sorrento. We had planned to eat here earlier but the location on the map on tripadvisor is not accurate (go past Ruccio on Marina Piccola and around the corner). The food was to a fantastic standard, the most gourmet we had experienced in Sorrento (try the tuna for starter and the lemon sponge cake for dessert). The location is romantic - tucked away and overlooking the marina. The service was disorganised (but this doesn't seem to be a rarity at Sorrento restaurants so we can't complain too much!) but friendly. We would recommend eating here as the setting and food is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food but lacking the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

You will not eat better tasting food in Sorrento! The chateaubriand was absolutely fantastic perfectly cooked. When we returned a second time the sea bass was equally fantastic! Our only quibble with the food was with the sea bass it didn't come with anything (nor was their any side order options on the menu) it was simply white fish which although v nice could have done with some vegetables such as potatoes or aubergines! The location is equally nice however the restaurant really needs some lessons in service! It was fine the first time we visited as it was very quiet but the second time when there were more than 2 tables it was a problem! I have no problem having a long relaxed meal, in fact we enjoy that but this service was poor in other ways. On our second visit we actually had to ask the waiters for bread, we never received any of the faccachia that other tables were receiving (not out of spite but the waiters simply forgot). One of the waiters lacked basic waiting skills so instead of coming round the table and pouring from your side he was leaning over one of us in order to get to others. Equally although it is nice to sit and enjoy the scenery and drinks often we would have 3 of our 4 plates removed and one of our parties plates were just left! The food is also quite pricey-certainly our most expensive meal in Sorrento (more so than Terrazo Marziale or Traottoria) and when your paying this sort of money you expect the service to be excellent when in fact it was poor. A shame as the food really was outstanding! The manager is equally delightful and both times offered to give us a lift back to our hotel in his car! This could easily be the best restaurant in Sorrento as the chef is amazing but the service is really the detriment of the restaurant at the moment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sorrento has so many good restaurants so picking your favourite seems tough, but Ghibli was just that good. In fact, we went back a second time and loved it just as much, if not more. Just keep your head down, ignore the pushy waiters from other restaurants in Marina Piccola trying to herd you into their restaurants until you get to Ghibli. The staff were extremely friendly but in a personal way, not in a stuffy, subservient way. In fact, when we finished our food we were told to take our time and enjoy the rest of our wine, which I thoroughly appreciated. The food was absolutely excellent and made fresh that day. The views are lovely as well as you're on the small beach at Marina Piccola. Overall, it's an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Squillante al Ghibli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.