We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais to your Saves list
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Vico S. Aniello 39, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Sorrento
Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Palazzo Jannuzi Relais was a perfect location right in the center of Sorrento. Was one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in. Our room overlooked Piazza Tasso and was spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was amazing, lovely and fresh and a great choice - fresh fruits, pastries, cakes, sliced meats, cheeses, eggs, cappuccino and more....and was served on the sunny terrace or lovely sunroom area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks Ariane. Highly recommend Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
245
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent three nights in Sorrento and had booked into the Palazzo Jannuzzi. We were taken aback when shown to our room. It was a beautiful space with a large bathroom, lounge and bedroom. Very light and airy. We had a beautiful patio with doors leading from each of the rooms that ran the whole length of the hotel room. It was truly an amazing space. Breakfast at the hotel is very good with an excellent choice. The room is right on the main square in Sorrento and so you do get some traffic noise in the evenings and early mornings, but this didn't stop us from sleeping well. Overall, I would recommend anyone to stay here - truly superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais in Sorrento in the later half of May. I’ll share our experience below, and hope to provide some valuable unbiased insight for others who are planning trips.

First, Sorrento is a very touristy and very expensive place. It’s lovely and small with beautiful views and has as a mostly nice climate (although the weather in Italy in 2013 has been crazy… almost June and very cold weather… restaurants had portable heaters out outside!)

The hotel is situated in a great spot about a 5 minute walk from the train station. All around it you’ll find good restaurants, transportation connections, and it’s easy to walk everywhere in Sorrento – even to Marina Grande or Marina Piccola.

We found the entrance to the hotel on the opposite side of the Jannuzzi Family shop (you must step inside the shop and look around) and went upstairs and checked in and were surprised that we didn’t get the room we had booked. Instead of the Superior Room we had booked (superior rooms all have terraces) we were upgraded to the smaller of the 2 apartments on the third floor (that’s 4th floor in the United States). It was a great room (see photos). A very unique room with sky lights that could open/close and also open/close a shutter on them. I was impressed. But we had no view. I would have rather had the room I booked. Also, the room they gave us had an extra small bedroom which we did not use as we were just 2 people. However, since it rained most of the days I guess we really would have had little time to use the terrace anyways, so no complaints! Someone else might have been upset though not to get the terrace they had booked.

The staff were friendly and helpful when needed, especially Adrianna. Some staff spoke better English than others, and those that weren’t comfortable speaking it came across a little reserved… but that’s normal.

The breakfasts here were plentiful. There is a large outdoor seating area, although with the cold and rain we never got to use it. Breakfast has a selection of fresh fruit (not from a can or package), cakes which they bake on sight (you can smell them baking the night before!), and pastries and eggs and cereals and juices and caffe.

The Internet here was very reliable and had a strong connection. This was much appreciated. Internet is free. It was the most reliable internet connection that we encountered on our trip.

I highly recommend when staying in Sorrento that you try to find the restaurants where locals go. The locals won’t come out until at least 9pm for dinner, after many of the tourists are going back to their hotels to go off to bed. The central pedestrian streets in Sorrento are very touristy. We tried to avoid them, except for the best gelato place in Sorrento – Raki – just opened and is on one of the streets. Primavera has become touristy and they have SO many different flavors that they have lost their passion. Try Raki and talk to the owner and he will tell you where each ingredient comes from and the breakdown of flavors and at which precise moment certain flavors reach your tongue.

It can get a little noisy at night at the hotel. There is a local man with a mental handicap that at 3 or 4 am would walk past the hotel in the main piazza and scream yelling things. He woke us up one night. We’d pass him another morning on the way to the train station too. On Saturdays and Sunday evenings they shut down the piazza to cars and even the main road gets closed and becomes pedestrian only. There was a lot more noise Saturday night.

We found the beds to be comfortable, and the foam pillows too.

You can’t go wrong with this hotel for its location, great breakfast, and friendly staff. A great base to explore Campania!

I did think it was bad taste for the hotel to send an e-mail afterwards asking you to leave a review for them on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to share comments with them directly by doing a post-survey (which a lot of hotels do), but asking customers to write a review on trip advisor for them is how businesses skew ratings on here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved staying at he Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. Loved the location in the heart of Sorrento. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

this is our third trip to Sorrento we chose this hotel so we could be right in the heart of Sorrento and what a choice we made, we had a lovely time not having to rely on a shuttle bus this time was a big bonus for us, it gave us so much more time to chill and do just what we wanted to do. staff were great and really help full, breakfast was lovely and rooms kept really clean, we had a balcony room looking over the square if you can get one its a big plus. thank you to all who made our trip wonderful.

Room Tip: room over looking the square watching the local traffic is amazing no traffic lights just a beep whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Almost certainly the best small hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautifully designed and decorated, spotlessly clean and with delightful proprietors. The hotel is centrally located within a short walk of the train station and convenient for shops and restaurants. We stayed for 7 nights and cannot thank the Jannuzzi family enough for making us feel so welcome - the breakfasts were wonderful Simona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Ultra modern, spacious, in the heart of Sorrento, offering great breakfast and fantasic service. Simona was fantastic, the best coffee and service in town.
Visiting the homewares shop under the hotel is a must.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais

Address: Vico S. Aniello 39, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais stands in the heart of Sorrento, overlooking the famous Piazza Tasso. The rooms are furnished with elegance and style. They are spacious and furnished with every comfort for an unforgettable stay for guests. They are equipped with minibar, air conditioning, satellite TV, WiFi internet access, safe, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, sound-insulated windows. The bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, bathtub or shower.The Relais has a lift and a panoramic terraces, a kitchen with adjoining dining room and terrace available to guests for breakfast or buffet. A reading room with comfortable sofas and the fireplace covered with old tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.