We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Sorrento surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais to your Saves list
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Vico S. Aniello 39, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Sorrento surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose Sorrento because we are an older couple who felt that the Amalfi towns would be lovely but maybe more than we wanted to deal with all day and night. We 'settled' for Sorrento for the proximity. We discovered that we absolutely loved the town AND our hotel. Not only is the hotel centrally located so everything was very easy but we loved our room and really loved our balcony. Our very quiet room overlooked a boulevard with many trees but was right on the main square. We were in Italy for nearly a month and it was our best experience and nicest surprise. Our trip included a few days in Rome at another old favorite hotel, a week in a villa in Tuscany w/4 other couples(who can get tired of going to Tuscany??), a week split between Corsica and Sardinia and another week split between Sorrento and Capri. Throw in a great tour guide "Johnny" arranged for us by the hotel, the lovely square, the best breakfasts the entire trip and the terrific restaurants(all easy walking) and you have a delightful stay. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony! We were on the 2nd floor near the beautiful breakfast room which also has outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
256
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Palazzo Jannuzzi is just a 10 minute walk from the bus/train station-easy to do with luggage in tow. Our room (#13) was huge! It overlooked the main square and had two balconies. Once the doors are closed, you cannot hear a thing that's happening out in the street...very quiet.
The breakfasts (made by owner Simona Jannuzzi) were lovely. Fresh baked cakes and scrambled eggs, along with many other yummy treats-we even were lucky enough to have been treated to a quiche one morning. Simona also teaches cooking classes in her kitchen right there in the hotel. Choose what you want to make-we made gnocchi and ravioli! It was a fun evening that was very reasonably priced. The rest of the staff is great as well, they made tour arrangements and very all very kind. We will be back and highly recommend this gem!!

Room Tip: Room #13 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are traveling to Sorrento you must stay at this hotel, the location cannot be beat! You in are in the city center sourrended by history in modern accomodations! The hotel staff is top notch! This was our first stop while travelling through Italy for two weeks and the hotel, staff, and breakfast really set the bar high! This is a newer hotel and the hotel staff really knows how to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in September with two teenage daughters in the third floor apartments. These were the best rooms we stayed in in all of Europe. Huge in size, clean, comfortable and an amazing outdoor terrace the rooms were amazing. The location cannot be beat - right on the town square that comes alive every evening. The best place to people watch in Sorrento is the ground floor resteraunt - drinks and meals are also great. Staff are friendly. The whole town of Sorrento is very kid friendly and its safe to let them walk around (teenagers). This was the highlight of our four week european holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of September. Everything was excellent - beautifully decorated, spacious room, spotless throughout, great service, right in the centre of Sorrento. Bright breakfast room with a great range of high quality food. Staff were very helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel Jannuzzi perches on top of the central square in Sorrento. The hotel was originally a family home that sat on top of the family store; a famous wood inlay shop that has been in the heart of Sorrento for many years.

What begins to emerge is that the Palazzo Jannuzzi is something built by a family that has been at the heart of a town for decades, a family that cares about quality and craftsmanship and a family that believes in creating something special for its clients.

From the moment you walk in you are met by the excellent staff who go far beyond the norm to make sure you are well cared for.

We stayed in the central suite which was beautiful; modern and stylish with carefully chosen design accents. We had two balconies, both with amazing views of Sorrento and despite the outside bustle and traffic the room was well insulated and peaceful.

We took a cooking class on the last night and it was perhaps the highlight of our two week vacation. The Chef, Simona, is part of the Jannuzzi family and she was knowledgeable, funny and passionate about her food. Once the food was prepared we ate together with some of the family. It was just wonderful and the best meal we had in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights at Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais. Although we paid a little more for this hotel, it was 100% worth it. The location was superb - right in Piazza Tazzo- easy walking distance from the train station, even after a very long day, with lots of luggage.... They were warm and welcoming at reception and our room was spectacular! We were in room 13, which overlooks Piazza Tasso, and has 2 balconies! Even though it is right on the square, the windows/doors are well insulated form the noise, and we found it to be relaxing (even though there was a big Harley Davidson concert/gathering right outside our windows). It was lovely to sit on the balconies and watch the world go by!! The room is extremely spacious and stylish. The simple yellow and white decorations and clean lines are punctuated beautifully by the whimsical ceramic bullfrogs (each room has a different animal- we had fun at breakfast asking others what they had in their rooms!) The beds were very comfortable, though the pillows were too bulky for my taste (luckily i always travel with a feather pillow of my own, since I"m picky about that. The down comforters on the bed bade it extra cosy, and even though it was quite warm, the blankets felt nice while we slept. The room had plenty of electrical outlets, which is often an issue in hotels. It seems they thought of everything! The bathroom was well-appointed, very clean and had an incredibly wonderful shower! There was a full length mirror on both sides of the door....very thoughtful when you have 2 women getting ready in the morning! Breakfast is delicious and hearty and the breakfast room is equally stylish with a cool open kitchen. Simone was so very sweet and kind every day (she makes the best cappuccinos with sweet little hearts on top!!) We could definitely feel the difference on the one day she was out. The service was still exceptional, but it wasn't... Simone!! :) My only minor complaint/suggestion about improving their breakfast is that it would be been PERFECT if there had been fresh squeezed orange juice (since it seems oranges are so plentiful). But the food was fantastic, and that would have been a luxury. My one regret is that I didn't have the time to do a cooking class with Simone - next time I will!! The front desk staff was very helpful, and offered to call to check restaurants for availability and made us reservations or suggestions for alternatives. It is a fantastic hotel for families, couples, or individual travelers!! They had a high chair in the breakfast room for a couple with a baby, and I saw a couple families with kids.... I was traveling with a friend, and we were ever so pleased with the hotel! I travel extensively both domestically and internationally, and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! 5 stars!

Room Tip: I loved room 13. See my review above- 2 balconies overlooking Piazza Tasso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais

Address: Vico S. Aniello 39, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais stands in the heart of Sorrento, overlooking the famous Piazza Tasso. The rooms are furnished with elegance and style. They are spacious and furnished with every comfort for an unforgettable stay for guests. They are equipped with minibar, air conditioning, satellite TV, WiFi internet access, safe, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, sound-insulated windows. The bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, bathtub or shower.The Relais has a lift and a panoramic terraces, a kitchen with adjoining dining room and terrace available to guests for breakfast or buffet. A reading room with comfortable sofas and the fireplace covered with old tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.