We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating 3 months together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 254, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
napoli
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Celebrating 3 months together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I found a great deal on groupon to this hotel and decided to celebrate our 3 month anniversary here. The room we were given was small and to be honest, not 4-star quality. When my husband called the reception to ask for an upgrade within two minutes someone knocked on our door and at no extra charge we were moved to a MUCH nicer room with a beautiful view of the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. Since we only eat kosher we had to bring our own food but the kitchen staff agreed to heat up our food even though it was "outside food". The people at the reception desk were warm and friendly. We really enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    112
    56
    17
    3
See reviews for
41
126
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary,alberta
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice to have a pool even if it was shared with an adjacent hotel. Never busy. Rooms were small but well decorated. The roof terrace was exceptional, with lots of tables and chairs. It was a great place to relax with a glass of wine. Its about a 10 minute walk to the center of town but an easy walk. Lots of cafes when you get there. Many rooms have a balcony or a sea view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros
- beautiful ocean view
-clean and comfortable room with lots of hooks
-clean and spacious bathroom with tub/shower
-room has a safe
-bedding has clean crispy sheets with duvet covers (YAY!)
-ample selection for breakfast
-outdoor pool area
-friendly front staff

Cons
- Takes 15 minutes to walk to the main piazza - it's not the time that bothers me but having to sometimes walk on the road, single file wasn't fun
- No free wifi, 5 Euros per half hour. This was the ONLY hotel in our stay in Italy that didn't have free wifi.
-Dinner at the restaurant was probably one of the worst meals we had in italy.
-We paid close to $230 CND for our room, from researching expedia it looks like you could get a nicer hotel for that price

Room Tip: We stayed in room 416, has ocean view, large room, large bathroom. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We vacation in Sorrento for the 16th time, every year, the new hotel. The hotel is conveniently located, not far from the main sites. More luxurious rooms with antique furniture. Large bathroom with all necessary. Excellent cleaning. Soundproof room. Breakfast is excellent for Italy, a wide range to suit different tastes. Service in the restaurant at a high level. Large professional fitness room , with good facilities and training equipment. Pool. Great hotel for a stay in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The name of the hotel is a bit misleading, because the hotel is actually quite a walk from the main plaza of the city. However, our room was comfortable, but not luxurious by any means. The curtains were a little off, and didn't close right. The bathroom was small, and had a step up for the bidet and toilet, for whatever reason. It seemed unnecessary, and could be a trip hazard for some people.

The room was relatively noisy, with sounds from our neighbors and the street wafting in. The included breakfast did not include hot items, but was adequate.

The views from the rooftop were nice. The adjacent swimming pool was medium size. It was large enough to swim short laps.

Internet access was available for an additional fee. In my opinion, that's inexcusable for such a pricey hotel. In the US, we call that nickel and diming the customer. The need to access the internet should not be treated like a luxury option. Most people I know are regular internet users when traveling, so I would advise the hotel management to enter the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having been transferred to this hotel at late notice by our travel company I was perhaps not in the best frame of mind on our arrival to gather immediate impressions. Now, at home, I have time to reflect and can hopefully provide an objective comment.

Let`s get the negatives out of the way first. The hotel is not `central` neither is it four star. The walk into the heart of Sorrento town will take a good fifteen minutes on roads which can be very awkward. The footway is undulating and at parts only two feet wide. Being a main road the traffic is very busy and passes within a fraction on the narrow sections. Be especially aware of the maniacs on motor scooters every one of whom has a death wish.

We were fortunate in being allocated one of the larger rooms to the front which was a good size with room to comfortably walk about. Rooms to the rear of the hotel are smaller. The penalty is the traffic noise which continues until late evening. If you are an early bedder take earplugs. In the morning I hope you are an early riser because the traffic will certainly wake you. All rooms have balconies but sitting above noisy traffic is not to pleasant.

The dining room is quite small for the number of guests for which it caters. We made the mistake on the first two nights of dining early and found the noise levels uncomfortable and the general crush disconcerting. At breakfast, unless you are going on a trip, arrive later as the pressure of people around the table where the continental breakfast is available is quite unacceptable with the natives of one certain country thinking it was the norm to elbow guests out of their way and shove their way to the front (not U.K!).

Onto the positives!. The hotel has obviously undergone recent refurbishment and was tastefully decorated in fresh pastel shades. This was also the case in the bedrooms. The seated area contained what looked like new sofas as were bedrooms doors and various fittings throughout the hotel. Our room contained quite delightful repro furniture.

The pool area is shared with the adjacent hotel but at no time was it busy. The area contains two sections with adequate seating. I found it quite pleasant. There was certainly no need for a 5 o`clock towel run! There is also a very nice roof terrace which I preferred as it had both sun exposure and plenty shade as required.

The dining room menu offers five choices and while not quite top cuisine there was always something available to happily satisfy the hunger.

The one definite positive about this hotel is the staff who were quite exceptional. Friendly, very helpful and pleasant when dealing with any request.

All in my wife and I had a good break. The hotel certainly did not spoil anything but having had a look at it while we were in Sorrento I would have much preferred my original choice which was a proper four star. However I am sure most guests will find the Central suitable for their needs.

Room Tip: Taxis in Sorrento are VERY expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and another couple for 3 days. Excellent hotel for money, friendly helpful staff. Rooms not huge but clean and have everything you need. It is a bit of a walk from main area but good to walk off all the wonderful food and gelato!! Hidden gem is the roof terrace. Lovely way to end an evening with drinks up there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Corso Italia 254, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.