We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with magnifiicent views and spotless accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Nido Hotel Sorrento to your Saves list
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel with magnifiicent views and spotless accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This hotel was just as all the other positive reviews had described it.
We were welcomed by Dino after a delayed flight and made to feel at home straight away. The service was friendly, but never intrusive, with advise being offered regarding excursions, travelling arrangements and just about ewverything you might need to know to make your holiday more enjoyable.
The room itself was spotless and the view from the balcony made you want to sit and look at it all day and night to see the sunset.
The orange juice machine which took three oranges to make a glass of juice was a good start to the breakfast.
The bus into town was reliable and friendly.
On our last day Dino suggested we leave our suitcases at the hotel and the driver brought them to us later in the day in sorrento ready for our coach pick up to the airport that evening, so we did not have to carry them around all day, lovely touch which he really did not have to offer to do but was very much appreciated by us.
We ate at the hotel two nights and the food was lovely, as was the view on the terrace. All in all a Lovely hotel which we would glady return to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    303
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
322
695
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel was exactly as described by others on trip advisor. We had a room with a balcony, the room was what you expect of a three star hotel and well cleaned, but oh what a view! you could spend hours just soaking it in. The staff were always very freindly and helpful. There was a good buffet for breakfast. Although not in Sorrento there was an excellent minibus service, provided free by the hotel, which took 10 minutes and was so punctual you could time it to the minute.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, excellent value for money.
If you're looking for somewhere to eat in Sorrento that is reasoably priced, good food and freindly service try The Garden on Via Tasso2 we ate there 4out of 7 evenings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

The hotel has great location -- 15min by shuttle from Sorrento town center. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel where you can catch the bus to visit the rest of the Amalfi Coast.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is spacious (even has a balcony) and clean.

The highlight of the hotel is its breakfast room which overlooks the sea. I thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast (very good food and fresh OJ) there while watching sunrise.

This hotel definitely deserves the raving reviews below.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We chose this hotel after reading excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Booked nine nights (Saturday - Sunday) as part of our honeymoon.

When we arrived at Sorrento train station, we called the hotel and were told that the hotel's mini-bus would be there shortly to pick us up. 10 minutes later the bus arrived with a very cheerful and helpful driver who put our bags away. On the way back to the hotel we were told of the pick-up points and other useful locations.

On arrival (10-15 mins bus ride) we were met by Dino who was very helpful and told us about how to get back into town, bus times and tickets, meal times, etc.

Our room was lovely, but perhaps slightly dated. Very spacious and a balcony with a fantastic view across the bay of Naples towards Mount Vesuvius. Room was very clean and tidy. Service throughout our stay was great. Also there is a washing machine and dryer available at a charge. The only one thing that could have improved our stay even more would have been the addition of tea and coffee making facilities in the room (maybe just a British thing!). But a very reasonably priced mini-bar is supplied!

We ate at the hotel restaurant on our first night and were so impressed that over the time we were at Il Nido we ate there another four nights. The food was amazing, fantastic 'home cooked' by Gianni (brother of Dino) and their mama. So fresh and tasty and extremely reasonable. Also being able to sit out on the balcony overlooking Sorrento and the bay and watching the sunset was magical.

Breakfast was also a feast! A very large selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread, ham, cheese, bacon, scrambled eggs and pastries. Also tea and coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The addition of a mini-bus to take you into Sorrento town and pick you up was extremely welcome. The bus departs every hour on the hour from 08:00 - 11:00 and then approx 15:00 - 23:00 and similar times from Sorrento to the hotel. The journey only takes 10-15 minutes.

There is a bus stop just across the road (tickets bought from hotel reception) where you can take a bus to Amalfi, Positano and other small villages along the coast.

Two PC's in the lobby have free internet access for those who need to check emails, etc. It was very useful to use for online check-in for our return flights - as we did.

In summary, the best things about this hotel is the view, atmosphere and delicious food. Downsides - we had to come home!

Would throughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We arrived at Il Nido quite late at night. The manager Dino saw our poor starving frames
( well...not exactly ) and offered us a lovely meal of ham, melon and salad. This set the tone for our week at this wonderful family run hotel. All the staff were very friendly and the hotel's minibus ran on the hour very reliably, and the driver is great... free of any maniac tendencies, which is imporant on those steep inclines on the coastal roads!
Our room was spacious and clean. The view we had of the sea, Sorrento and Vesuvius was just incredible! The balcony was large and perfect for sitting out with some drinks.
The only wee criticism is the roof terrace or 'solarium' as advertised. It seems the original space for this terrace has been developed to an ugly car park, and the new terrace is a rather sad looking affair to the side of the hotel. No parasols or chairs etc make this terrace an uninviting place. Nobody used it...shame!
Breakfasts were superb with good selection, with many tables set out on the long restaurant balcony where you can enjoy that same incedible view.
This is an excellent hotel and a perfect base to enjoy Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our hosts at Il Nido provided a wonderful experience, going above and beyond to be accommodating. Very clean, superb cuisine, delightful family-run hotel with commanding view of Mt Vesuvius and valley below.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The family that runs the hotel was very friendly. The place is situated on top of the hill outside of town, and has amazing views from the dining area and some of the rooms. Spend the few extra dollars for a room with a view of the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvio, it is well worth it. The cooking was great, and the free breakfast is more than just pastry and coffee. The free shuttle into town is helpful, but be aware that it does not pick up until 3PM. We got into town early and chose to take a very overpriced cab up to the hotel, although I believe the local bus runs up that way as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.