We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families-excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Save Saved
You added Il Nido Hotel Sorrento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families-excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Convenient location for local bus transport and shuttle from hotel is good and very prompt.
Service was excellent. Staff are friendly and very helpful.
The room was comfortable, though slightly small for 5, but we did not spend much time in our room.
The beds were comfortable and clean. The daily servicing was very good.
Having the restaurant on site is great, as the hotel is slightly out of town. The food was good and the view to Mount Vesuvius and over The Bay of Naples is wonderful.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sarah,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
I will pass along your compliments to the rest of the staff.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    957
    291
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
302
644
45
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful as we had a bid of bad luck as I was pick pocketed at Naples train station boarding the train to Sorrento on our way to Il Nido. The wallet I lost was pick pocketed out of one of my front pants pockets. Fortunately I had split up the wallet contents and had emergency credit card and cash (euro's) in another zipped pocket. So all was well, I notified the banks and cancelled the other credit cards (good idea to keep separate list of cc phone numbers or have them saved on your phone). On Sunday trip to Capri, bank ATM ate my emergency cc, of course banks are closed on Sunday, so no chance of getting it back. In any case Il Nido manager helped us by advancing some euro's, until we could get replacement cc and pay them back. Great place to stay, wonderful staff, reasonable rates, very convenient shuttle bus service, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. I'm so sorry for the problem you had in Naples, unfortunately it may happen in every big city. Anyway I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here after completing a 10 day cruise around the Eastern Med. We really enjoyed our stay and can only give this hotel a very high recommendation. The hotel staff are really helpful and the level of service is very high, rooms and beds excellent also. We took the half-board option and the food was really excellent (esp. the seafood risotto).... even the coffee is brilliant!!!! We undoubtedly had excellent value for money and if you stay here...you will have a lovely time also.

Room Tip: worth taking the balcony option along with half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your 5-stars review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am particularly happy to read the compliments about our staffs and I will be happy to share it with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Attention to detail is a feature of this lovely well positioned small hotel high above Sorrento. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and most have stunning views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The delicious brekfast includes freshly laid eggs from Giovanni's mother's hens, delicious pastries baked freshly each day by his cousin and freshly squeezed orange juice. It's a family affair - he is the second generation to run the hotel. The free shuttle into the town is very convenient. Service is excellent, and the dinner served on the terrace is very good. Parking is available and free which was wonderful as we made use of the convenient free shuttle provided the hotel into town. It was for us an excellent base for exploring Pompeii.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable but quite small. Try for one of the larger ones with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed end of October. The hotel position and views across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius breathtaking. We stayed for 3-nts, to visit Pompeii, Amalfi coast and Sorrento. The hotel was very quiet out of season, however the service we received was excellent. From printing timetables to taxiing to and from Sorrento, nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast sufficed, but the evening meals we had were well cooked and the local house wine enjoyable.
I will probably return one day.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all rooms have a balcony? Book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good clean hotel with a great view of Mt. Vesuvius. The free shuttle service to and from downtown Sorrento was very convenient. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Jacklyn was especially helpful. The food was good too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Fiorella,
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
I will pass along your compliments to Jacqueline and the rest of the staff.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Sorrento
Il Nido

It was our second time returning to this great B&B. Why?
1) Spacious rooms overlooking Naples Bay and Mt. Vessisius, the grape vines and lemon trees below.
2) Free shuttle service to and from the town of Sorrento, which allowed us to park our car at the B&B to allow us to explore the area. 10 min ride.
3) It was a full Breakfast - eggs, yogurt, bread, sweets, salty meat etc.
4) The dinner menu was excellent with lots of choices, which we did after a long day of expiring
5) The staff was help full, friendly, and accommodating

It must be a good place as we met others who returned from previous years too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Il Nido.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.