We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place from which to explore the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il Nido Hotel Sorrento to your Saves list
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect place from which to explore the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This turned out to be everything I'd hoped it would be - a pleasant and convenient base from which to explore the Amalfii Coast, Capri, and Pompeii. Note - it's not a 5-star hotel - but it is excellent at being what it is - a clean, safe, pleasant, yummy, helpful, friendly place to stay.

The hotel is situated high above Sorrento, with a truly incredible view of Sorrento, Mt. Vesuvius, and Naples. The room was very clean, having its own great view, an overhead spa-like shower head (which I love!), and a nice TV. Free wifi. European-style skinny towels, but really huge ones.

Breakfast (included!) was the best I had in Italy. Scrambled eggs, really good and fresh pastries, some meat and cheeses, and this magical orange juice machine where you put in your own oranges and it squeezed them right into your glass. I loved that thing. I heard several guests say the restaurant was good for dinner as well (I never ended up being there for dinner).

The staff were extremely nice - every one of them. They were very helpful in identifying tours to take, or ways to get around Amalfi. In fact, when you check in, they provide a sheet of paper with a map of Sorrento, all the ferry schedules, bus schedules, train schedules, tours with pick-ups at the hotel, and the shuttle schedule to the center of town. I referred to it every day.

Note on getting into town: You wouldn't walk from this hotel to the town center. It's far, and there aren't any sidewalks - on a fairly dangerous twisty road (welcome to the Amalfi Coast!) There is a free hourly shuttle in the mornings and afternoon/evenings to the center of town. It takes about 15-20 mins. I had wondered if this would be an inconvenient constraint on visiting the city, but it turned out to be perfectly frequent enough. The shuttle was always prompt, nice and clean, and the driver was incredibly nice. He would point out various sites during the drive.

Note on tours picking up from the hotel: Getting to Capri is about 18e each way on a ferry. There's a tour that leaves from the hotel that costs not much more, and the boat is a lot more fun than the big ferries (though not for those with weak stomachs!) However, be aware that Il Nido is first on the list of hotel pick-ups, and you'll spend an hour picking up other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear LiliBoston,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. I'm sure that your review will be so useful for our future guests. Further i really hope to see you again here at Hotel Il Nido.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    308
    50
    14
    9
See reviews for
331
707
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked two nights here after reading the glowing reviews on trip advisor, I was pretty disappointed and I'm not urge what all the hype is about!
The good:
Free shuttle down town,
Lovely view,
Staff were friendly,

The bad:
Extremely out dated rooms
Uncomfortable beds
Poor food in the restaurant
Whole hotel is in need of a make over

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Kidhead,
Thank you for your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and investigate any concerns immediately. We are sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, but we we did receive any complaints from you during your stay. About the hundreds of previous positive reviews, well it's just a matter of taste...i suppose.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. If you want a spotless traditional family run hotel with wonderful views and a friendly welcome then this is for you. Don't be put off by the fact it is not in the town centre. The shuttle bus works well. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely decorated. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room. The views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to see you back here at Hotel Il Nido, and we are equally pleased for your great review. Thank you again, and then..."All good things come in threes".
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We picked this hotel as we are travelling through Italy by car and have to be mindful of selecting hotels with parking.

Firstly, there is plenty of secure parking off the street.

The hotel did not disappoint also. Although a 10 min drive out of the city centre the fact they have a FREE shuttle which runs on the hour makes it ok.

The room was large and clean with a great view of the bay.

We were able to do our washing which was very handy. €5 for the washing machine and €3 for the dryer. This was a godsend since we are living out of a backpack for 8 weeks.

The breakfast was nice. Loved the fresh orange juice!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Bentsa,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay. We are used to say that here at Hotel Il Nido, also your car can enjoy the view from the parking, and you can forget it by using your free shuttle.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There have been many reviews of this hotel already posted, but I promised the hotel manager ( sorry, I forgot to ask your name), I would right a review. It will be honest too.
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights from 11th Mat 2013. The hotel is a little way out of Sorrento, but that to us is a benefit. We had a sea view room with balcony, and as everyone says, the view is quite spectacular. We sat all 3nights with a relaxing drink looking over the expansive view of the bay of Naples, sorrento and a backdrop of Versuvius. It is something quite special. The rooms are dated in decor, with bathroom fittings like shower curtain rails held together with cello tape and the taps are so worn it looks like they are brass. the bedroom furniture is also wanting a little, but..... here is the reason it is a diamond. The attentiveness and dedication of the manager is the best I have seen. He will do almost anything to make your stay a good one. The hotel is very clean, staff are courteous and you were made to feel a bit special. That doesn't happen very often. Meals in the restaurant were fine. We only had one meal in the restaurant, so can't say more than that. The shuttle bus is great, taking you to and from Sorrento centre. Just be aware, if you are not at the meeting point on time, the shuttle bus Will leave. The beds as far as I'm concerned are great, a little hard than home but we slept really well, and I usually suffer with back pain from a harder bed. The decor of the hotel is dated as some have said, but it is clean, airy, and if you have a problem, say so. Don't be afraid to tell the manager, he is very attentive as I have said, and will do his utmost to sort problems out.
We had to leave at 6am to catch the 6:30 am sorrento to Naples airport bus and the manager got up early to make sure the coffee machine was on for us to get a drink( the cappuccino was good, contrary to some who said the coffee was awful), he then took us to catch the bus in time. He would not take any money, even though we felt he deserved it. This is a hotel that makes you feel you are among friends, with a lovely setting, and yes, the breakfast pastries are too delicious. Oh yes, the views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm sure it will be useful for our future guests. I will share your comment with the rest of the staff, as it sounds like a prize for us.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are second time visitors to the IL NIDO Hotel. Our host, Gino, was welcoming and always ready to share a recommendation for making our stay even better. We found things even better than our first visit, three years ago. The family run Hotel, with great views, friendly staff and fabulous restaurant offer a most delightful stay in Sorrento, with access to Pompeii, Capri and the Amalfi Coast, and a view "second to none" of Naples Bay and Mount Vesuvius. For a reasonable room rate, we were provide large clean accommodations, WIFI, and best breakfast with the freshest orange juice imaginable. Dinner in the restaurant begins with complimentary a glass of Prosecco (Italian Champagne like sweet wine) and Bruschetta. The dinners were each top quality with everything prepared fresh for each order. Mother (83) and younger brother doing the honors preparing and presenting the best meals we had during our trip once again. Once again, IL NIDO sets the standard for our stays in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on Floor #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Senior653,
it's always a pleasure when a guest comes back here at hotel Il Nido because this means that you enjoyed your stay! We will do our best so to see you next year again!
Thank you again for your review.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel Il Nido like the name would suggest is a nest in the Sorrentine hills. So as you would imagine birds’ eye views include such treats as the formidable Vesuvius and the expanse of the Gulf of Naples. This view from the restaurant terrace comes inclusive of the ample hot and cold buffet breakfast. The biggest decision you will make is trying to decide which pastry you are going to try. You must look out for the pastry cabinet. The croissants are a must! Evening meals are served in the restaurant were there was a good range of meals and these were delicious. It’s all very relaxing.

If you want to prolong that view then book a room with a sea view and balcony. We did and it was well worth it. Rooms are light, spacious and airy. The mini bar unlike a lot of hotels is reasonably priced with a small bottle of wine costing 3 Euros. So you can have a drink on an evening and unwind against a backdrop of twinkling lights from the bay.

Hotel staff are friendly and welcoming – nothing is a bother! From the reception to the restaurant staff to the bus drivers everyone makes you feel special and well looked after.

The hotel courtesy bus was a god send and it’s easy to access the main tourist sites like Pompeii and Herculaneum from the rail station in Sorrento which is a short walk from the bus drop off point or if you want to pop into Sorrento for a meal and drink. We were pleased to have picked the Il Nido as Sorrento seemed a noisy place to stay and it was good to get back to the hotel for some rest and recuperation and that VIEW!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Emmeline1930,
What a detailed review! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. I am equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. I will pass along your compliments to rest of the staff.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.