We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parco dei Principi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parco dei Principi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rota 44, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beach and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I know people say it isn't 5 stars--it doesn't have luxurious accommodations but we were very happy here. The rooms are simple, plain, and clean. We loved lying in the sun by the beach on the pier. Surrounded by water it felt as if we are on a boat. The restaurant was good--we particularly liked the eggplant. The tomatoes were amazing. The hotel is away from the crowds but there is a shuttle into the center of town if you don't want to walk--although we did. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with water view for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    126
    60
    34
    38
See reviews for
90
237
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

the beach is just fantastic. best sea view from the beach.
the elevator going down and having a private area secluded from the rest of the world is really good.
perfect place for peace of mind away from a hectic city life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

this hotel is not worth 5 stars at all, 3 at best. And the prices are outrageous. Breakfast is worst than most 3 star hotels. hotel is noisy. staff at best ok, but only friendly because they are paid to be. 10 euros for 20 cl of still water. I think that makes my point. Stay Away !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 407 which has the nicest view in the hotel. The room can be compared to a low end Motel. The Internet was only in the bathroom. The staff told you one thing in the morning and contradicted themselves in the evening. They knew very little about the area and you must take a shuttle into town which stops at 7:45 at night. Therefore if you want to go out to dinner you need to factor in a 20 euro cab ride to get you back to the hotel.
Very very disappointing. It is perfect for tour groups who stay for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jane,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Parco dei Principi Hotel for your last visit to Sorrento.
I’m surprised about your feelings we do all the best everyday to make our guest’s stay a memorable one.

Kind regards

Maria Scopino

Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostanga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have wanted to stay at this hotel for some years now, after reading about it and looking at gorgeous pictures. So I was well prepared and the lobby, bar and restaurant was even better in reality than I had expected. I went happily around and enjoyed the different floor tile patterns, the fantastic furniture and the wall structures. Everything so beautiful and in soothing blue.

But... nothing can prepare you for what awaits you when you enter your corner room at the top floor. The wiew is so overwhelming it almost made me cry. You don't get closer to eternity than this. Not in a hotel anyway...

Room Tip: Room 414, top floor, corner room with large window to the east and balcony to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Anna,

I would like to really thank you for your comment!

I wish everybody could feel same sensation and report it as you.

Sincerely,

Maria Scopino

Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We didn't didn't want anything too fancy....but we wanted comfort and cleanliness and this was just about spot on.a lovely bright place with fresh looking rooms (which some have said were too basic) but they were just how we like them. situated in wonderful gardens.. and a view of the Bay that took our breath away.We stayed for 6 nights and loved the short walk (about 15 mins) too and from the main square which we did most evenings...but they have their own hotel bus if you don't feel too energetic and local taxis when they stop later in the evening....We did eat in only on one night....and if there was a problem then it was just how plain one of the courses was.It was a sea food risotto that was very bland....other then that the rest of the Dinner was what you would expect from a Hotel like this,and breakfast was all very lovely and well laid out.Staff are all very friendly and speak very good English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear David,

I would like to thank you for choosing Parco dei Principi for your last visit to Sorrento.
I’m so happy to read that you had a great time here and that you relaxed yourself in such a lovely place.

I hope to see you in the next future

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our tour director described this a "Boutique" hotel that was a little different than what we may be used to in America. She asked us to keep an open mind and enjoy the beauty. That was not a problem! This is a beautiful hotel with breathtaking views! We walked in our room and were in awe of the view. We loved the blue colors of all the tile in the hotel and enjoyed all the architectural details it had to offer. Our room was a triple and very spacious. Huge closet space, ample bathroom space equipped with all the necessities and a great balcony for relaxing and taking in all the views. We slept with the balcony door cracked open just to enjoy the air and hear the sounds of the Bay. No problem with wi-fi. The dining room experience for dinner and breakfast was great, the gardens outside were great and the staff was great. This hotel is a jewel!

Room Tip: Room 413 was perfect! Balcony view of Bay and Mt. Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your kind comment, we are so kind to read that your experience at Parco dei Principi was a memorable one.

Thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Rota 44, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parco dei Principi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.