We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Pompeii Guide Private Tours

Lucia Pompeii Guide Private Tours
Via Crocevia 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
+39 3384202154
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 118 Activities in Sorrento
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hi, my name is Lucia, I’m an official licensed guide,I have been licensed by the Italian Government to provide personal guided tours of Pompeii and all the museums, archeological sites, and churches of the region Campania, one of the most fascinating county of southern Italy, full of history, archaeology, natural beauties and for sure one of the most famous parts of our country.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lucia and her private tour of Pompeii with us was a highlight of an already fantastic trip to the Amalfi coast. My retired parents had a pretty good understanding of the history of that time period and Lucia engaged them in detailed conversation on their areas of interest. Lucia was flexible in guiding us to the sites of our choosing in Pompeii and was a wealth of knowledge on a wide variety of topics. I recommend checking with Lucia first on her schedule availability and building your trip itinerary around that event. She is one of the best private guides I have booked in the world based on my experience in many countries over the last 20 years of international travel.
- Paul D

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lucia gives an entirely new dimension to the ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are visiting Pompeii, using Lucia as a guide is an absolute must. Our group was two adults and two children (12 & 9). Lucia is very knowledgable, speaks perfect english and is able to describe the buildings so well that you can readily imagine what they would have originally looked like. A tour of Pompeii with Lucia gives an entirely new dimension to the ruins and is the best way to visit Pompeii. I would highly recommend that you use her services. The next time we visit Pompeii we will go on another tour with Lucia. Thank you so much for a memorable day at Pompeii.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pompeii Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful 3-hour tour of Pompeii with Lucia. She is extremely knowledgeable about Pompeii (and the rest of the area) and gave us an informative history of the city and it's inhabitants. She was fun to be with and managed to find shade on a sunny day when we needed to stop to discuss what we were seeing. Her English is perfect and she showed us so many interesting places and gave us all kinds of fascinating facts about Roman life in the first century. I highly recommend touring Pompeii with a guide. There's so much to see -- not all of it open all of the time -- and a guide can make your time there more efficient and more meaningful. Lucia does many tours of the area and I'm sure would be wonderful on any of them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lucia was the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

At the last minute we decided to book a private tour of Pompeii because we wanted to make our visit to the Pompeii ruins more meaningful for our three kids (10,14 and 16). We quickly googled 'Pompeii tours' while staying at the Amalfi Coast and found Lucia's website. It had 'glowing' reviews so we decided to call her. Luckily for us, she had a cancellation and booked us in for a two hour tour. Our only regret was that we didn't book the three hour tour because Lucia was absolutely fantastic! It's not often you can keep my children interested in history but Lucia was able to entertain them with her wonderful stories and lovely manner. She is very knowledgable, speaks perfect English and has a genuine warmth. I recommend anyone planning a visit to Pompeii to spend a little more and go with Lucia! You won't regret it! It was certainly a highlight of our trip around Italy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, informative guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lucia was our guide around Pompeii. She has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the site and its history and was able to bring the ruins alive for us. Her English is excellent. Overall she greatly enhanced our visit. Some may baulk at the cost of a guide, but we found she was worth every cent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Pompeii Guide Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lucia Pompeii Guide Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Pompeii Guide Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.