We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meating Sorrento

Meating Sorrento
Via della Pieta', 20, 80062 Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 2891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 231 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $31 - $81
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful meal in this restaurant. It was the best meal of our trip!!
Loved the free starter of a deep fried pizza, very tasty. Also loved the free glass of prosecco too. Our steaks were cooked to perfection . The staff were very friendly . Our waiter ( a young guy with slicked back hair and glasses) was excellent, an asset to the restaurant. Also loved the guy singing and playing the keyboard.

When we visit Sorrento again, we will return!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    147
    46
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great steaks, great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we went here twice on our recent visit to Sorrento and were not disappointed...recommended on Tripadvisor and very easily found in a little street just off the main square... the service is superb, quietly efficient and helpful...the food is incredible if you are a carnivore, and much as we love Italy and pasta we do enjoy a steak.. once you have ordered you are served a little taster of Parmesan and walnuts with a glass of chilled prosecco, simple and delicious...this is then followed by small pizza rolls (calzone) which are freshly made and just the perfect size..again wonderful taste and on our first visit all of this was a surprise... by our second visit we were so looking forward to them! we both had the fillet and it was cooked perfectly as requested and just melted in the mouth...the accompaniments were excellent and complimented the steaks perfectly..a selection of sauces is also provided to further enrich the experience..we had no room for desserts but on both visits we saw nieghbouring tables select various desserts and all looked absolutely mouthwatering.. on our second visit we again had the fillet this time done with mushrooms and if anything it was even tastier than the plain grilled fillet we had previously..a small glass of limoncello and some sweets were served with the bill and I have to say this just finished the meal to perfection for us.. All in all an absolute must if you enjoy meat of any kind, as they have a wonderful range of cuts displayed in a chiller cabinet.... the service and care received from the delightful staff and the ambience of the soft music made this our favourite place to eat in Sorrento and it was also incredibly reasonably priced.. we will be back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here and it was such good vale for money. The service was faultless. Would recommend to anyone visiting sorrento.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

had our last evening here & thoroughly enjoyed it. Big steak, lovely family atmosphere, Lionel Richie on the piano in the corner, great wine suggestion. Lovely time had by us both.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we found in sorrento!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife had eaten at 5 different restaurants and in all honesty were not that impressed with the quality of food... U til we stumbled across Meating.

Its just off the main strip and i had no idea it was so highly rated on here as we found it by accident. - Finally a decent steak! :-) thr ambience was just right and it was very welcoming. We were shown to our table and we were served with complimentary prosecco and a side of fresh Parmesan cheese and walnuts - really nice touch. After this we were then brought an experiment by the chef, which resembled mini pizzas that were shaped like potatoes! They were absoloutely delicious.

Thr main courses themselves were alsodelicious- i had fillet steak with mushrooms with a side of fries and it was perfect, so much better than what we had experienced so far.

I heartily recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meating Sorrento also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Meating Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meating Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.