We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B--in the middle of everything but in a good way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B DolceVita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added B&B DolceVita to your Saves list
B&B DolceVita
Via San Cesareo 64, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 93 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B--in the middle of everything but in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay--not far from the Circumvesuviana train station, the port to catch a ferry or catch a bus for the Amalfi coast. Right from the beginning, Ettore was an excellent host. Though it is on the third floor of a building on a pedestrian walk/shopping area, he was right there when I arrived to help carry up my luggage. Short walk from the train /bus station, spotless rooms that are cleaned every day with fresh linens. Easy to control heat/AC within the room, comfortable beds, and since not on a busy street like Corso Italia, no motor cars at all hours. Peace and quiet. Ettore is able to give advice based on previous guests experiences on everything from help with travel to restaurants and best times to visit specific places. He's very interested in feedback from guests so that he can then provide it later. Just a wonderful, positive person who is a huge fan of the city. This is only the first B of B&B, as breakfast is not included, but i'd trade comfortable, clean rooms and helpful owners ANY DAY over toast/jam. I was in a room with a small balcony overlooking the pedestrian walkway--just down from Piazza Tasso. Terrific accommodation--definitely plan to visit again!

Room Tip: Ettore works hard to match travelers with rooms-I'd leave it to his discretion. All rooms appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 at the end of our two weeks in Italy. I must admit we were beginning to tire after the hustle and bustle of Rome for a few days, but Sorrento was a wonderfully relaxing way to end our trip.

B&B DolceVita is a cute little B&B right off of the main drag in Sorrento, amidst all of the wonderful shops and restaurants. The room was clean and spacious. We originally had asked for a room that overlooked the street, but Ettore gave us a larger room on the backside of the building for no extra cost. The bathroom was rather large and very clean with all of the necessary updates to make it feel comfortable and new. The bed was comfortable enough, and neither myself nor my wife had any trouble falling asleep at night. We had a fridge in the room, which was nice, and also a small balcony with some chairs and a table that we did not use on our stay (the courtyard really isn't anything to look at). The location really is perfect. Just open the door and you are right in the heart of Sorrento. It's fantastic. I'm sure you can get a better view outside of the town center (or for a much steeper price), but you won't be able to walk everywhere in 5 minutes or less the way you can from DolceVita.

Only a few negatives to point out. One is that the room really could use a coat of paint to freshen it up. There were many scuffs on the wall, and overall it made the room feel somewhat used and dirty, which it wasn't. Also, one of the shelves that served as a nightstand was falling off of the wall (literally). Did this ruin our experience here? Absolutely not. These are just points to mention in case Ettore reads this review and wants to improve the place a little.

Finally, there is Ettore. As others mentioned, he really loves Sorrento. I think he spent about 20 minutes at least at check in answering our questions and pointing out everything on the map, explaining what to eat, where to eat it, how to spot a good restaurant vs. one that is overpriced, train schedules, good values, etc. He was just exceptionally nice. By the time we stepped out on the town we felt like we were already acclimated to our new surroundings (which is a nice feeling). He also allowed us to store our bags on the day we checked out for a few hours, as we wanted to enjoy Sorrento for a bit longer before heading back to Rome and back home. Superb customer service.

If we ever get to return to Sorrento, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

just come back from our first visit to sorrento,the Dolcevita is right in the old town,the rooms are serviced every day so everything is super clean and Ettore makes it feel like home ,he tells you every thing about trips cheapest way to do them,time tables for bus's ,trains best places to eat.
The room we were in was at the back so did not hear anything at night but the double glazeing was great so i am sure the front rooms were o.k. The price's are reasonable and we will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our night at DolceVita was quite frankly the best place we had stayed in our entire trip to Switzerland, Germany and Italy - and one of the cheaper ones. Value was excellent. Ettore made us feel so welcomed, gave us maps, tips, directions, timetables and even welcome beers! Location is right on the main old street with soundproofed windows. Thoroughly renovated, superbly maintained, excellent shower facilities. No breakfast on-site, but he had connections to get us excellent breakfast at nearby restaurants. A lift would have been great but is hardly a deal-breaker. Excellent location made it so accessible to the action in Sorrento and the surrounds. When we return, we will definitely be coming back here. Couldn't recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: Recommend checking in before 1pm or after 5pm. Having trolley bags means the stone pavement on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location is right smack dab in the middle of Centro Storico. Rooms are clean and not tiny with good shower and view of the bustling street below from the little balcony whose doors/windows are double glassed eliminating the street noise at night. Air conditioning works great. But the best part if all is Ettore! A nicer host you will not find anywhere. So helpful and friendly. And the prices are extremely reasonable. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Ettore was so welcoming and friendly. He gave us lots of info about the area and ways to save a bit of money, which was much appreciated. He was readily available if we needed anything but not at all intrusive. The location of dolce vita couldn't be more central! It's easy to walk to from the buses/trains. Bit of street noise at night, but given its location this is to be expected (though my husband didn't think there was any street noise in the bedroom)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Like many others we had made our selection to stay here after reading the many reviews. Email communication with Ettore was very good (we now know he works in his office at the B&B from 5-9pm every day).

In a nutshell this is a small establishment (2 floors up) with 4 rooms right slap bang in the middle of one of the busiest streets in Sorrento.....however once you pass the imposing entrance doors you leave the hustle and bustle behind and to be honest we didn't hear a noise the whole time we were there!

We arrived from Naples via train - the walk from the station was c7 minutes and the B&B was really easy to find, just off Tasso Square.
We enjoyed a great welcome from Ettore - who advised us on how to get the best from our 8 day stay and provided a welcoming cold beer on arrival.

The room was a good size and had a fridge which proved to be very useful. The air conditioning was excellent and we controlled it! The bed was also very comfortable. We had a balcony which overlooked the rear of the building - not much to look at but again served its purpose!

The room was cleaned every day by a lovely friendly lady - towels changed daily and linen every 3 days. We felt very secure during our entire stay. The one or two things we asked for were provided within 24 hours.

Ettore was exceptional in the way he looked after us and showed a great interest in what we had planned, always willing to give us tips - we enjoyed our chat every evening when we were leaving for dinner!

The only thing I couldn't really grasp was the 'breakfast' thing! Breakfast is not provided, you have to go to a local café where Ettore has negotiated a discounted price of €2 for a coffee and croissant. Although I should point out that this was made very clear before we had booked.

All in all we would most definitely recommend this establishment and if we return to Sorrento we would most certainly stay again. The customer service provided by Ettore was exceptional and is what made the difference for us. There was something magical about coming down the stairs in the evening, opening the large front door and stepping out in to a different world!

Room Tip: 2 rooms overlook the busy street below with very small balconies. 2 rooms face the rear but have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B DolceVita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.