We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the centre of Sorrento!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B DolceVita

Save Saved
You added B&B DolceVita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B DolceVita
Via San Cesareo 64, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the centre of Sorrento!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Like many others we had made our selection to stay here after reading the many reviews. Email communication with Ettore was very good (we now know he works in his office at the B&B from 5-9pm every day).

In a nutshell this is a small establishment (2 floors up) with 4 rooms right slap bang in the middle of one of the busiest streets in Sorrento.....however once you pass the imposing entrance doors you leave the hustle and bustle behind and to be honest we didn't hear a noise the whole time we were there!

We arrived from Naples via train - the walk from the station was c7 minutes and the B&B was really easy to find, just off Tasso Square.
We enjoyed a great welcome from Ettore - who advised us on how to get the best from our 8 day stay and provided a welcoming cold beer on arrival.

The room was a good size and had a fridge which proved to be very useful. The air conditioning was excellent and we controlled it! The bed was also very comfortable. We had a balcony which overlooked the rear of the building - not much to look at but again served its purpose!

The room was cleaned every day by a lovely friendly lady - towels changed daily and linen every 3 days. We felt very secure during our entire stay. The one or two things we asked for were provided within 24 hours.

Ettore was exceptional in the way he looked after us and showed a great interest in what we had planned, always willing to give us tips - we enjoyed our chat every evening when we were leaving for dinner!

The only thing I couldn't really grasp was the 'breakfast' thing! Breakfast is not provided, you have to go to a local café where Ettore has negotiated a discounted price of €2 for a coffee and croissant. Although I should point out that this was made very clear before we had booked.

All in all we would most definitely recommend this establishment and if we return to Sorrento we would most certainly stay again. The customer service provided by Ettore was exceptional and is what made the difference for us. There was something magical about coming down the stairs in the evening, opening the large front door and stepping out in to a different world!

Room Tip: 2 rooms overlook the busy street below with very small balconies. 2 rooms face the rear but have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
71
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

HI I spent ten days in Sorrento and stayed at the Dolcevita B&B, THe reason I picked the dolcevita was I read a lot of reviews about the place. I have to say I agree with all the peoples reviews as It was just right for me and my wife. It was at the center of everything. Ettore , who owns the place was one helpful person, the rooms were spotless thanks to Anna Marie who did a great job. THe rooms have double glazing so you can shut out the laughter and music that came up from the narrow street below, but I loved the sounds from the street. As we sat on our little balcony with our glass of wine, we would speak to the vendors below and joked with them. We made friends with quite a few of them. Where you have your breakfast is just at the corner and it really is only two euros for the tea or coffee and croissant, but there is lots more places you can go to all at reasonable prices should you choose to do so. This is my second article on Sorrento as I just enough of the place and the friendliness of the people. I would highly recommend the Dolcevita for it's atmosphere cleanliness and it's location , you could not find a better place .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The manager was extremely helpful and very friendly, offered lots of advice on excursions, where to eat, drink and shop and where to avoid getting ripped off on prices.

The B&B was always clean, rooms were comfortable with all the facilities you would need.

Great location, plenty of shops, bars and cafes on the doorstep. Only negative thing I'd say is that it could be quite loud in the morning when the market stalls were setting up. But that's hardly the fault of Dolce Vita!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were in Sorrento last week for a wedding and stayed at B&B DolceVIta for seven nights. It was really easy to find, just off the main square. When we arrived we were made to feel right at home by the owner, Ettore. He gave us lots of great advice about what to do and where to eat in Sorrento. He was really keen for us to make the most of our stay, and gave us advice on how to make our money go a bit further (such as taking sandwiches from Sorrento to Pompeii and Capri). We shared all our advice with the rest of the wedding party as it was so useful.
We stayed in the superior room and it was a good size and very clean. We had a balcony which was big enough for a table and chairs so was lovely to sit out in the evenings. Although the B&B is right in the centre our room was very quiet. The balcony also faces the back of the building so you don't hear any noise from the main street.
We would definitely stay in B&B DolceVita again - thanks Ettore!

Room Tip: The superior room has a balcony which was lovely to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at DolceVita and we wouldn't change anything about it. Ettore was a great host as soon as we arrived! He really cared that we have a good time in Sorrento and surrounding areas. He gave us great tips (buy a sandwich in Sorrento before going to Capri or Pompeii - great lunch at a reasonable price!) and told us where to go for good dinners. The orange room and bathroom was spacious and face the busy street. We never had a problem sleeping as the windows are double glazed. The location was great as there were tons of cute stores to buy souvenirs and limoncello. The B&B is not too far from the bus stop and getting there was a breeze. I would highly recommend staying here while visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Our Superior room was so quiet and peaceful it was always a shock to walk out in to the bustling Via San Cesareo! This is the perfect location to explore the town and be able to pop back for a rest or to get changed. Our room had everything you could need with a very good sized bathroom and fresh towels daily. But the best thing about the B&B is the friendly and attentive owner, Ettore, who was always a real pleasure to chat to and gave us so many great tips. If we ever come back, this is where you'll find us!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwood city
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent 10 days here, the excellent location in the very heart of Sorrento. My soul was singing as I opened and peered from the balcony overlooking the beating heart of Sorrento. The music and Life that sang through me from the street below will never be forgotten. Ettore is very friendly, accommodating, and helpful with his suggestions. We loved every minute of our stay and the only problem was we had to leave. Thank You Ettore, I will ♥♪♪Torno Sorrento♪♫ very soon.

Room Tip: our room was the largest overlookingVia San Cesareo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B DolceVita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.