We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food , service and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern Allegra

Tavern Allegra
Via Santa Maria della Pieta 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 4221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 231 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food , service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its a music restaurant. Service is good, food is good, and atmosphere is excellent. The location is not on the main street as many good restaurants are. So remember to use tripadvisor map to find it!
Their homemade pasta is amazing delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    174
    55
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fine food and a fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We picked this place based on the Trip Advisor recommendations and it lived up to expectations. The menu was nice selection of Italian and Mediterranean dishes with a few daily specials. The complimentary sparkling wine and cheese was a nice start. The mussels over pasta was exceptionally well prepared and delicious. The live music (guitar player) was pleasant with the staff joining in for a couple of Italian standards adding an amusing touch. Service was subdued and accurate. The owner visited each table to be sure everyone was satisfied. The restaurant is a converted old Roman stable creating a simple and comfortable environment. Be aware that the prices are on the high side but we felt it was worth it. Just choose a house wine and skip the starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident off the beaten track and were pleasantly surprised with a great evening of food and entertainment. Staff were friendly and attentive bu t not overbearing. Music and singing completed our evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Esperienza Favolosa Cena Musicale!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First visit just off the village center and down a side alley in Sorrento. A charming entrance beckons you into this warm and friendly family oriented environment. We located this through trip advisor and it did not disappoint! Our group of 6 was seated in the back tavern room warmly lit and filled with wonderful fragrances. We were early diners, but shortly thereafter, the room filled with many others. This is family owned and run...later lending itself to the great musical event unfolding before our eyes as the meals were being served. A lovely selection of traditional Italian options were served along with Italian wines to compliment the meal. Giuseppe, the Father, shared songs and some very interesting historical information in relationship to the songs. He allowed each table to share where they were from and if any special event was being celebrated. What a wonderful opportunity to meet others traveling from around the world! We ended up sharing our table and drinks with another couple who lived fairly close to us in the states. Another gentleman from Germany joined in the singing with his most incredible tenor voice...it was an unbelievably beautiful evening all the way around with food, wine, music and fellowship. A truly great dining experience!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over rated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had this restaurant recommended to us. The service and friendliness of the staff was second to non. Great to eat out in a place with such a great atmosphere, guitar playing and people singing. Was a great experience. Unfortunately the food let it down! We had the steak which was tough as old boots. Very expensive as well the bill was €80 for 2 steaks, two desserts a coke and a beer (€6). Maybe we ordered the wrong type of meal as the desserts were lovely. Wouldn't rush back though I'm afraid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TavernAllegra, Proprietario at Tavern Allegra, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr Gareth,
first of all let us thank you for the positive comments about our restaurant.

Concerning the food we hope and look forward to see you again here in order to provide a meal which, we are sure, will correct your opinion.

Concerning the prices there is something no clear. You mention your bill of 80 euro.
According the price list, it was:
2 steak: 18 euro for each.
2 dessert: 7 euro for each.
1 imported beer for 7 euro.
1 coke for 4 euro.

There is a discrepancy:
or you had something else not mentioned in your description or the bill was wrong.
In this case you will have a credit of 20 euro on the next dinner.
As we do not like that people leave our place with a bitter taste,
we go around the tables asking if everything was going well or not.
In order that in case something was not satisfatory, we were able, in that moment, to take the necessary solutions.

Is very difficult for us to accept that only when we cannot do anything to change a dish or correct something to receive a negative opinion.

We wait for you again.

Peppe&Peppe
Tavernallegra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Allegra also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tavern Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern Allegra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.