We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Well Equipped Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazzetta Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Piazzetta Sorrento to your Saves list
La Piazzetta Sorrento
Via San Francesco, 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Gerringong, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spacious Well Equipped Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location close to the centre of town on a nice plaza. The staff were friendly and looked after us well. The apartment is in an older style building with an unpretentious entrance but the apartment itself is decorated in a modern slightly quirky style. It was well equipped and comfortable. Some may find the spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom on the mezzanine level a bit tight (and the bathroom is on the lower level).

Room Tip: There seem to be two options. Some rooms open onto the plaza but we requested a back room because w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    53
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
124
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in La Piazetta. It is very close to the center but still a bit secluded and peaceful. We really enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast is provided in a nearby restaurant which was actually very good! We really enjoyed our stay here. Clean rooms and nice interiors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Raoul and Valentina looked after us very well. We arrived late at night but there was no issue with letting us in and all was ready for us. The little bottles of Prosecco and Limoncello were much appreciated. The apartment was clean, tidy and very good value for money. We loved being so central and felt safe at all times. We would have liked a kettle to boil water as the little hot plates were very slow however this did not detract from our overall positive experience. We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 with 2 friends in the purple room, and loving every moment of it!! The room is big, clean, cosy & cheap too! It comes with 1 queen size bed,1 single bed and a sofabed for 2 adults downstairs. The kitchen is complete with everything, except for a water heater, but that's not a problem, we boiled water using a pot & the stove. There is a fridge and a safe box too. The view from our balcony was facing the beautiful street in front of the apartment. No noise problem whatsoever.

The location is good, about 8 mins walk to the train station. Everything was just around the corner, restaurants, supermarket, fashion boutiques, souvenirs stores, pharmacy, etc... Below the apartment there is a nice souvenirs shop selling everything you'll need to buy gifts for yourself and families. We ate most of our meals at a restaurant named Zi'ntonio, recommended by the beautiful Valentina, a staff at the apartment. The food is very good & delicious, well that's another review. Walk to the back of the apartment & there is a garden/park with the view of the ocean, marina and the surroundings. We were there at sunset and it was BEAUTIFUL!! You can also walk down to the marina from here.

The staff at this apartment are very nice and friendly people. This is actually another reason why i gave it a 5 star! One is a beautiful Italian lady, Valentina, and the other is a Filipino guy. Before checking out i was having a bit of a problem, but Valentina help me settle it diligently, & with a smile. Gratzie mille Valentina! ;)

But there is just 1 problem though, there is no elevator here. I have to carry my 20 kg luggage up 2 stories. For a guy like me it's not a big problem, but for the older generation they might find it difficult. I hope in the future they install an elevator here.

All in all, love every moment of my stay here at La Piazzetta. Would love to stay here again if i come to Sorrento, & would highly recommend this place to my friends and to others who is visiting Sorrento. Thank you for the memories La Piazzetta!!

Arrivederci,
Fazlee Supahat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are still sleeping at the la Piazetta tonight, but i thought i should just drop a note to say that we are really very impressed with the friendly staff at the guest house. Valintina just helped me to purchase our tickets on the Trenitalia, smiling all the time and the Filipinian guy (sorry i did not get his name) was also a star!!!!! Thank you for the great service.

The rooms are also well kept. We stayed in the gray room (nr 7).

Room Tip: Excellently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the beginning of october and what can i say from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome, we stayed in room no 7 the black and white room and it is just the same as in the picture.The room had some water in the fridge for us and a bottle of wine which was a nice touch.The location of the hotel is fantastic it is near the main square all the bars and restaurants are close by and the train station.When you arrive you are given a breakfast voucher for the cafe/bar underneath the hotel the lady who runs it is very welcoming and friendly.The room was kept spotless and the staff work very hard,i would recommend this hotel as it was a little gem right in the heart of sorrento and i would certainly stay there again .

Room Tip: room no 7 the black and white room and it is away from the front of the hotel so not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at La Piazzetta for a few nights in early September and overall I was impressed!
Whilst the hotel is not immediately on the sea front so does not have the best views, the lift down to the beach was only a couple of minutes walk away and is also just down the road from the main square in the centre of town.
The hotel is also approximately a 15 minute walk from the train station, and although slightly on an uphill incline from the station, was not taxing to walk to with all the luggage.
Our double room was HUGE, quite possibly one of the biggest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, and surprisingly the bathroom was almost as large, complete with two sinks (very useful as we could get ready at the same time), bidet and shower. There was plenty of wardrobe space too.
The reseption staff were also excellent and made some excellent recommendations for restauraunts.
One downside to this hotel is that there are no lifts (and also the reception is one flight of steps up from the ground floor), and this therefore may be an issue to those who are either disabled or have difficulty climbing stairs.
Despite this however, we were both very impressed with La Piazzetta and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Piazzetta Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piazzetta Sorrento

Address: Via San Francesco, 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“La Piazzetta” is positioned in an ancient building completed in the 18th century, overlooking Piazza Sant’ Antonino, in the very historic centre of Sorrento. Within a few steps you will reach the main square of Sorrento named "Piazza Tasso" and from there start the discovery of the town's famous places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Piazzetta Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazzetta Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.