We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover a hidden jewel of Sorrento...The La Piazzetta Guesthouse, for culture, beauty, hospitality & endless memories.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazzetta Sorrento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Piazzetta Sorrento to your Saves list
La Piazzetta Sorrento
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via San Francesco, 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Discover a hidden jewel of Sorrento...The La Piazzetta Guesthouse, for culture, beauty, hospitality & endless memories.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

La Piazzetta has become my "home away from home"! Valentina, Rosa and Federica are now considered our Italian family. Located in the heart of the city, just steps away from anything on your agenda. We enjoyed and highly recommend the blue apartment overlooking the Sant’Antonino Square from the large French door to the Bay of Naples out the back window. We enjoyed wine, cheese, and salami almost daily from our large private balcony as we planned the remainder of the day. Beautiful fresh flowers and champagne welcomed our visit as we celebrated a special occasion and just days later we were overwhelmed with more fresh flowers, including the signature mimosa blossom, to celebrate Internatoinal Women's Day. I had hoped to bring a flower back to the USA as a momento.

The accommodations were immaculately clean, stylish, and so comfortable. The bed was very big by european standards and provided outstanding rest. The bathroom was large, modern, with a wonderful and powerful shower system and a quality hair-dryer. There was also a brand new wall mounted 20" LCD HD TV in the living area with many channels to choose from. Rosa saw to it that we needed nothing and Valentina went out of her way to make sure our trip was perfect.

La Piazzetta is located in the historic city center of Sorrento, just 2 minutes from all the great shopping on Corso Italia, the unique alley shops, the restaurants and the marina where ferries depart daily to the island of Capri and other destinations. You can have a nice breakfast at the Spinnaker pub, situated right next to La Piazzetta or several other locations just steps away.

Sorrento was the perfect location for our side trips to Pompeii, Capri, Positano and the rest of the Amalfi coastal towns. Having vacationed in this part of Italy a few years ago, I can honestly say, this time was far better! I highly recommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone visiting beautiful Sorrento. The price is outstanding for this lovely property, the location is second to none, and you, too, will want to extend your family to include Valentina, Rosa and Federica! In all my years of traveling, I can not remember crying when having to say goodbye to a destination until this trip. One of my treasured purchases was a beautiful wooden music box that plays "Torna a Sorrento" (Come back to Sorrento). God willing, I do hope to return...

Room Tip: Best view, balcony, sleeping...the BLUE APARTMENT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    62
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
137
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

La Piazetta is in the perfect location. Just a few steps away from restaurants, cafes, shopping and the port. The property itself is very new and modern we stayed in the double room for 50 Euro per night and then the Apartment for 75 Euro per night at those prices it is fantastic value. Each room is themed in different colour and is bright and fresh. The bathroom has a great shower with power shower head. The kitchenette in the apartment is tiny but sufficient. We made our meals each night there is no oven or microwave just a stove top, fridge and utensils it was fine for pasta or soup.

All in all I rate this property a 9 out of 10, with the top 3 features being the location, the price and the modernness. I highly recommend La Piazetta.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I went to Sorrento in the end of March 2011. We loved this Bed and Breakfast. The location is excellent and it is very clean, modern and chic. It does come with free breakfast although it consists of only a roll and coffee or orange juice, the service and the food was good.
They provide free wi-fi internet.

The only slight negatives are that the staff isn't there at all times but they are available on site by phone and are very friendly.

This B&B is a great value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday, the Piazzetta was everything we desired!We had the purple apartment with a great view of the S.Antonino Square right in the centre of the town,so we were near the shops,restaurants,the port and the train station.The staff were really helpful and kind.We recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I just spent a delightful weekend in Sorrento and my three days there could not have been better. La Piazzetta Guest House, overlooking Piazza Sant'Antonio, is charming and comfortable, a welcoming and hospitable staff, especially Valentina and Rosa, easy access to all parts of Sorrento and to the Port for the boats to Capri and other place; and a good price for the room.

I certainaly will recommend La Piazzetta to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, china
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Excellent Hotel!! Location is great, a few steps from Piazza Tasso, center of Sorrento. Modern room decoration with great colors. We stayed at the yellow room. Hope to stay at the blue next time. Wi-fi is free, but we get on line at the corridor, it doesnot work at room. Federica speaks good english. she's very friendly and nice.
Hope to stay here next time.
Next time I hope the towels would be more soft.^^

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a 6 night stay here, and had a wonderful time. Located on a small piazza away from the main street it was lovely and quiet. It was so close to the marina and all the shops, we just walked everywhere. Brand new apartments, with all the amenities, and lovely decor. All the ladies were wonderful, and happy to help out. This made our Italy vacation very special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Piazzetta Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piazzetta Sorrento

Address: Via San Francesco, 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Piazzetta Sorrento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“La Piazzetta” is positioned in an ancient building completed in the 18th century, overlooking Piazza Sant’ Antonino, in the very historic centre of Sorrento. Within a few steps you will reach the main square of Sorrento named "Piazza Tasso" and from there start the discovery of the town's famous places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Piazzetta Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazzetta Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.