We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sorrento!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Favorita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel La Favorita to your Saves list
Grand Hotel La Favorita
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Sorrento!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have just had a holiday at this hotel and have also stayed here several times since it opened in 2010.The hotel is stunning and everything about it is First Class.
It is in a perfect location as it is possible to walk everywhere more or less on the level,the main square,the delightful lanes,the port etc are about 5 mins away.Yet, although very much in the centre of things the Hotel retains an air of calm,coolness and quiet.

The rooms are large all with balconies,the public spaces are charming with lots of places to relax surrounded by paintings and beautiful objet d'art,everywhere is immaculate,and the roof terrace with its exceptional views of the bay of Naples is gorgeous.
Have dinner on the terrace if you can, or just drinks and enjoy listening to a pianist, a sax player or a lively guitarist playing in the background and maybe have a little dance.

All the staff are exceptional and look after their guests with genuine warm and kindness in that southern Italian way.

The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good review on our hotel and we thank you.

We are really pleased you enojoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we are pleased you have chosen our hotel once again for your holidays.

We hope you will come and visit us in a nearest future and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    113
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
182
539
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Back in August 2012 we booked a week in La Favorita for 13-20 June 2013. We’d stayed in Sorrento back in the 90s but in a mediocre hotel out of town. We had always wanted to go back for something a bit more special and La Favorita seemed to be it. One week before flying Expedia (through whom we had booked) emailed us to say that La Favorita had overbooked and cancelled us; Expedia offered us a large corporate hotel as an alternative. If we’d wanted something like that we would have booked it from the start. The next 24 hours were extremely stressful with lots of phonecalls to the United States but we finally seem to have got an alternative that will be okay but not what we really wanted or were planning for.

We had booked a classic double room in La Favorita and the whole holiday cost came in at £1,630 including flights. Today La Favorita still has 4 classic double rooms available for the same dates but the price just for the room for 1 night is £720 ie £5040 for the week! The only conclusion that I can draw is that greed has taken over and we’ve been kicked out of our room so that they can sell it for a higher price.

Our well-planned, eagerly awaited holiday has been soured by La Favorita’s appalling behaviour and complete disregard for their customers. If you want to go to La Favorita then don’t book more than a couple of weeks in advance as they might cancel you without notice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
We received your review on our hotel and we thank you!
We have been really not pleased to read your conclusion: we are absolutely not interested to kick anybody out of its room ! We had and we are still having serious problems with our computers and the higher prices you saw on-line only refer to a stop selling’s strategy.
Anyway our guests’ comments either positive or negative will represent for us an occasion to improve.
Please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We are just leaving this hotel and have had a really lovely stay. The hotel is centrally situated and superbly appointed. The staff are charming and we would recommend that any guests make a point of enjoying dinner on the roof terrace watching the sun set over the bay of Naples -- a really wonderful experience with good food ,superb wines and an altogether amazing setting!
We would really recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

We have received your nice comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are really pleased you had a good time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita, particularly appreciating our roof top terrace, our good position and our nice rooms.

Hoping to welcoming you again, we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and loved this luxurious hotel. We felt special and well looked after. Location is great for reaching the ports, restaurants, and walking areas of Sorrento. Parking is also available for a fee which can be hard to come by. Easy to find thanks to street location signs for the hotels as we drove here from Rome. We loved the roof top pool and the views of the Bay. Breakfast was excellent each morning and staff was very friendly. Hotel is beautiful and rooms are very comfortable and quiet. We did not want to leave and would definitely return and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and that you remained well impressed by our service, our staff, our rooms and our good location not too far from everything.

We really hope to welcoming you again and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

One if the most beautiful hotels in one of the most beautiful towns in Italy. Perfectly located within walking distance from the heart of Sorrento, I stayed here during the off season. It was so welcoming, warm and comfortable. I can't wait Togo back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your excellent review on our hotel and we thank you.

We are pleased you found our hotel as the most beautiful hotels in one of the most beautiful towns in Italy, and that you particularly appreciated our good location.

We hope to welcoming you again and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 Nights, I cannot fault it in anyway, hotel is spotless as is the rooms and pool area.
All staff are very very friendly, this actually includes the Manager, who takes time out to ask if you needs are being met, the answer is always yes!
Both food and drinks are priced in line with this type of hotel and actually not over the top compared with food and drink found outside in other restaurants.
The location is perfect for Sorrento and only 5 mins to get to the port to take ferries etc
We travel very much each year for both holidays and business, worldwide, I would put this hotel in my top 5, I look forward to the day I can return to see the staff who made our holiday very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your nice review on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased you would put our hotel in your top 5 hotels and we really hope you would come and stay by us once again.

in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Sorrento and hopefully it won't be the last. I can't praise the Grand Hotel La Favorita enough, it is a stunning hotel with beautiful views from the roof top terrace. The breakfast is exceptional, you are offered such a wide range of food, from scramble eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries etc etc. The evening menu is a reasonable price and varied, the food is excellent, so is their sister restaurant La Favorita O' Parrucchiano, where we ate on two occasions. La Favorita is very well situated, walking distance from all the shops and restaurants.
I think you would be hard pushed to improve on this hotel as the staff are professional, immaculately dressed, helpful and friendly. I can't praise this hotel enough, need I say more !,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We want to thank you for such a good review on our hotel.

We are very pleased to know you had a fantastic holiday at our hotel, admiring its beautiful panorama, tasting its exceptional breakfast and its professional staff.

We really hope you would ome and stay again at our fantastic hotel.

Best Regards

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Favorita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.