We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, perfect family winter holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Contessina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Contessina to your Saves list
Villa La Contessina
Luigi de Maio 38, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, perfect family winter holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of 9 stayed here over the winter break end of 2013. I agree with all the other reviews that rave about the lovely feast of food ready for us when we arrived, the fantastic location in the middle of beautiful Sorrento, and the great accommodations. All true - it was an amazing stay!

The rooms, bathrooms, and small guest house were all in perfect clean condition and we had everything we could possibly need or want in a home. We ate citrus fruit from the trees in the beautiful garden everyday, and prepared great meals in the well appointed kitchen, and enjoyed family time in the comfortable great room on the main floor. And of course we took advantage of all the great restaurants and shopping just outside the front gate!

A few things to note - the hostess may ask for some of the final payment in cash, so you may need to hit a few ATMs near the end of your trip to do that for her, and parking for more than one car is an issue. There are parking lots in Sorrento, about a 10-15 min walk from the villa.

We did use the heat in the house most evenings when we got home as it did get quite chilly. We turned the heat on in some but not all the bedrooms at night. The water was always hot in the showers. We all slept really well while we were there, but you can definitely hear the t.v. through the walls if someone has one on. We ended up using the elevator all the time, instead of the outside staircase, as the outside steps were quite slippery from rain or frost - that did impact our electricity usage a bit, of course.

We used the villa as a base for trips all around the area - Amalfi Coast, Vesuvius, Capri - all easily accessible from Sorrento for the day. We arrived by train from Rome, but then did rent two cars while we were in Sorrento. Note that traffic (when we were there in December/Jan) was pretty awful almost all the time, I can't imagine what it is like in summer!! So just add in extra time to your planning to get in and out of Sorrento if you are driving. Also they close down parts of Sorrento to just pedestrian traffic some evenings, which was nice for walking around, but sometimes made getting back to the villa a challenge and certainly didn't help the traffic jams.

The electricity tripped off for us at the villa on Christmas eve (of course!) - we eventually figured out that the breaker we needed to reset was in the small guest house panel, not in the main house.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and highly, highly recommend this gorgeous villa, rented out by a lovely family, in the core of a beautiful city.

Don't miss the New Year's celebration out in the streets of Sorrento!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family vacation at Villa La Contessina was fabulous. The villa is amazingly beautiful and was perfect for our needs. We travel with my 87 year old mother and it is difficult to find villa that is suitable for her mobility needs. Not only was this villa perfect for that reason since it has an elevator and a shower stall not a tub in the bedroom but each bedroom had its own bathroom and the location allowed us to walk to shops and delicious restaurants. My mother was able to walk to both shops and restaurants. The villa is also close to the marina. Anastasia, the owner, was so unbelievably helpful during the planning stages as well as while we were guests. Always available and helpful. Her mother prepared an outrageously delicious buffet of local dishes upon our arrival. We couldn't even decide which dish was our favorite! This villa is perfect on so many levels. I highly recommend this as the ideal vacation spot. The location, the hospitality, the beauty of the house and it's garden. We loved every minute and hated to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had planned a small family reunion (8 adults) - for some of us it was our first trip to Italy, so having a great location and comfortable accommodations was high on our need list. The Villa was perfect - 5 separate bedrooms, all with baths, and a fantastic kitchen/dining room area, all with beautiful tile work and impeccably maintained. The outdoor areas were large, key-controlled, and well landscaped - there is a large, tiled area with more chairs and tables so you can relax or take your meals outside. The villa was literally only steps from the local square and a look-out area, and easy walking distance to the main shopping/dining areas and the train station. The owner, Anastasia, was very welcoming and generous with her time and advise - incredibly, she and her Mother delivered a full buffet meal on the first night just to welcome us! I can't imagine a better home base for a vacation in Sorrento - whether we were touring the Amalfi Coast, traveling to Pompeii, seeing Capri, or taking the train to Paestum, we were always happy to return to this oasis. I can't imagine returning to Sorrento without staying here.

Room Tip: 4 bedrooms are upstairs, which can be reached by stairs or a small elevator. Two of those rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the villa with 4 adults and 2 children and had a wonderful time. The pictures can barely do it justice, and the 'hosts' are better than long lost family.

We arrived to a wonderful buffet of food that served as a perfect welcome to the villa and the area. The location of the villa is perfect - with the outdoor amenities of a hotel with the privacy of our own home. In addition, the layout of the villa proved to be child-friendly as there was no internal staircase and the garden had just the two steps and was completely gated. We loved the visiting cats, the ping pong table, and the smell of jasmine permeating everything. The villa is also adorned with such lovely ornaments which added so much to the ambiance.

The only 'issue' we had is that at the hotel/tourist facilities across the street there was an event every night. So we were serenaded with dance music and revelry while we enjoyed the garden. Having said that, it wasnt really disruptive, we made a game of guessing what the event was, and the shutters on all the windows ensured that the noise didnt reach us when we were sleeping.

Anastasia and her family were more than welcoming and focused on our comfort - even bringing us another set of keys when we didn't realise we already had two. Greeting us with leaving sweets for my girls on the last day. And finally, having left behind an iPod, Anastasia let me know even before we got to the airport and has shipped it back to me without a question.

Having stayed in villas in both Italy and France, I would highly recommend this as a particularly wonderful find. No disappointments and only highlights and positive surprises. Oh, and did i mention the sea views from the bedroom balcony on the upper floor?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Villa la Contessina was our highlight of our month long trip! We rented the entire villa and when we arrived we were greeted by Anastasia and her mother who had prepared an amazing Italian dinner for all of us! I had read all the reviews and looked at all the pictures and just hoped I had found a good spot for our large group but I never imagined it would be as outstanding as it was; the most lovely and helpful host, the best location in Sorrento, and a beautiful villa and garden to relax. Sorrento is one of my favorite towns in Italy to vacation and we will never stay anywhere else. Honestly, if you ever have a chance to stay there DO, you will fall in love with it too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Imagine booking a place over the internet to house your entire family for your destination wedding in Sorrento, Italy with only a few pictures to some blind faith. Then imagine showing up and walking into a beautiful oasis that not only met your expectations, but redefined what it means to be on vacation. We spent an entire week and could not have been happier.

Villa La Contessina was everything we could have ever hoped it could have been for our family's stay in Sorrento. Just steps away from the beach, a quick walk to the port and two blocks from all the shopping you could ever hope for, Villa La Contessina was simply perfect. Anastasia, the Villa owner and her mother are the sweetest people in the world and they went out of their way to make sure our every need was met while we were there.

Our family made hundreds of memories in the astoundingly beautiful courtyard, drinking wine and enjoying salumi over conversation. When we return to Sorrento one anniversary in the future, you better believe we will be calling Anastasia and booking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompeii, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Villa la Contessina is just an incredible place to stay. I have never seen anything better in Sorrento!
The Villa has a wonderful location (3 minutes walk from Sorrento main square), and at the same time is in a very quite place, and very close to the sea. There is a beautiful garden, which is very unusual similar places in Sorrento, and the staff is very friendly and extremely kind.
Now I know why everyone dreams to come back to this place, and everyone wishes to stay longer! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contess, Proprietario at Villa La Contessina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie grazie mille!
Cordiali saluti
Anastasia Del vecchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Contessina

Address: Luigi de Maio 38, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the get-away of your dreams? Then Villa La Contessina is the ideal vacation spot for you! The Villa is nestled within an ancient park in the heart of the historical sights of center city Sorrento. In the Villa’s luxuriant gardens, you can breathe the heady perfume of nature which envelopes you there during every season of the year. You will savor the smells of citrus and olive trees and of the centuries’ old regional flora.Ideally located, The Villa is just a short walk away from the center of Sorrento. As you take a pleasant and quiet jaunt through the city’s quaint back alleys, you can pop in and out of the specialty shops and eateries to hunt for good buys and enjoy the city’s distinctive culinary delights.Nearby, you’ll find the port of Marina Piccola, from which hydroplanes leave every day of the week. Like many before you, you will be captivated by Sorrento’s charm and enraptured by the city’s uniquely evocative atmosphere.You may reserve the whole villa or for regular bed and breakfast accommodations.Check in from 4.00 PM to 7.00 PM - check out until 10.00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Contessina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.