We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Abagnale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 164, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 87 Sorrento B&B and Inns
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just came back from Ital trip last week. Writing the first review about this hotel as we had great experience here: 1) very convenient location: walking distance to train/bus station, central plaza, shopping streets and restaurants; 2) room is quiet, spacious, clean, accessible to elevator/lift for those with luggage, and offers in-room free WiFi (love that they now don't charge customers usage fees beyond 1 hour access; don't know why many hotels in Italy still deem WiFi access as extra; after all, it's through the essential Internet that travelers find them in the first place ;). On top of these, an extra value added: the room is creatively and consistently designed with a modern, matching theme. The owner/designer clearly has a great design sense; rarely see a hotel with this nice, unique design touch; very pleasant touch; 3) great service: the staff were all helpful, acting like our TI (tourist information) desk when we need to call for transportation connection information when we were out traveling during the day: by boat to Capri or Amalfi, by train back to Napoli/Rome (travelers must appreciate this when out traveling during the day, away from Internet or any local TI office). Want to also especially thank Luigi as he was the one that greeted us when we arrived: promptly offered to take our luggage up the stair to the reception desk; friendly and prompt to help us set up the WiFi access. On the night we left: we were debating whether to make it back to Rome on the last trains or stay one more night in Sorrento. Luigi helped us printed out the train/connecting schedule promptly (he is the most Internet savvy among all our hotel helpers in our one week in Italy) and showed us the best connections to get back. He even helped us make a local call to inform our hotel in Rome that we would be arriving late (as we were debating whether to stay one more night, given the great experience here).

All in all, our best stay in Italy. On top of all these, the price is very competitive and affordable. Of course, with great reviews like this, hope that the hotel doesn't get too popular to be affordable in the future ;) Definitely recommend if you are visiting Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    121
    26
    10
    17
See reviews for
75
248
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We went to Italy for a friends wedding and spent some time deliberating where to stay. We did some research on-line and we found this hotel on www.lastminute.com. We could not have asked for more. We were collected by the hotel owner near a ‘tourist attraction’ to take us to the hotel which was ideally located a stones throw from the main Square, however it was not noisy during our stay. We were greeted in the hotel by a relaxing atmosphere and with exceptional friendly staff (I have to mention Luigi who was extremely accommodating and helpful). The hotel was finished to an excellent standard with different contemporary themes on each floor. We stayed on the ‘light floor’ and the black and white floor. The room we stayed in was spacious and luxurious and we were able to utilise a roof terrace which overlooked Sorrento. Our friends who had stayed in other hotels all had paid a lot more and for a far less service. If you are thinking of visiting Sorrento or the Afalmi Coast I would highly recommend you stay here. The train /bus station is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel where you can access Pompei and other such attractions at a very reasonable price. If you do not want to go on an organised tour, then it is easy to go and do your own thing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

This was our second trip to Sorrento in the last 2 years. We loved our stay at Palazzo Abagnale!! We won't stay anywhere else while in Sorrento. The location is superb- right near Piazza Tasso, center of town. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. A special thank you to Luigi - -he truly helped us out when needed. The rooms were very clean and delightful. Thanks again , we will be back soon. Jeanie & Rick.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

superb location on the corso italia. with bars, restaurants and shops within 50 metres in either direction. close to train and bus station and within walking distance of ferry to capri. friendly, helpful english-speaking staff who have useful and accurate local knowledge. we loved the eccentric retro style of the rooms, even if we are aged travellers. we could not beat this for value, location and ambience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

was so pleased with this hotel - stayed here for 1 week while attending family wedding. The room was situated on the black and white floor and was so modern and clean - would actually love my bedroom at home to be like this. Luigi was so helpful and ultra-friendly giving us advice and tips and providing a warm friendly welcome eash time we entered the reception area. The room was cleaned to an excellent standard. i would most definately recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to sorrento- the location couldnt be any more central if you tried - especially as some of the older 5 star hotels are out og the centre of town and there is no foot path so u either rely on shuttle buses provided by the hotels or get absolutely ripped off by taxi drivers as the prices they charge are absolutely ridiculous!!
Well worth a try - and thanks again - Luigi!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed in the Palazzo Abagnale for a week at the beginning of October. It is a very new establishment, so everything is in tip-top condition. There is a small sun terrace on the roof, which was very pleasant as the weather was glorious whilst we were there. The staff - especially Luigi and Ornella - were extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were given a great room on the "black and white" floor, but it had a bath rather than a shower. Luigi organised a change of room the next day and we spent the rest of our visit in the "blue room", which was not quite so large, but had the shower we preferred. The location is fabulous - practically on Piazza Tasso. In fact, the only thing missing was a pool .....! Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. By the way Luigi, the photo is on its way to you soon. And ... Forza Juve!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We spent two weeks here in September and had such a wonderful holiday. The hotel was ultra modern, spotlessly clean and very well situated - a couple of minutes from the old town and just a few minutes from both the train and bus stations. The entire staff were the friendliest we have ever met on any of our travels. Luigi and Ornella on front desk were so helpful giving us tips on where to go and supplied us with train, bus and boat schedules or anything else we needed. Their interest in where we were going and where we had been made us feel part of their family and their concern for our wellbeing was very hearytwarming. Having only 12 rooms made it very easy for us to make friends with our fellow travellers over breakfast which was a cold buffet and more than adequate - and where do you go where they make you capuccino coffee every morning when you walk into the dining area! We had a wonderful trip and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Address: Corso Italia, 164, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Abagnale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.