We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total package -food, service and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Borgo

Ristorante Il Borgo
Nastro Verde 44-46, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
081-8781827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 223 restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $20 - $68
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Total package -food, service and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A delightful family-run restaurant perched on the hillside with exquisite views of Sorrento and Bay of Naples. Excellent grilled fish, crisp salads, tasty pizzas, great pasta, and delicious desserts topped off with efficient and friendly service. Il Borgo scores high marks on all aspects

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    274
    96
    38
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and the food to match it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

They picked my wife and I up from our Hotel in Sorrento chatted amiably and informatively on the way to the restaurant. We arrived for lunch and the place was busy with locals. A wonderful grilled fish was being served as we arrived. Toni, the owner met us and sat us at at the best table for the views, which are stunning. Almost a full circle of the Bay of Naples, Capri just out of sight to the west, from a vantage point above Sorrento. We ordered anti pasta for two and were brought a dozen dishes that would have fed four! We had asked Toni what fish he had as the one we saw when coming in looked so good. We had a choice of four different ones all freshly caught and settled on baked Sea Bass washed down with a jug of the house white wine and some water. After dessert and coffee with complimentary Lemoncello we sat and enjoyed the view. The The service was attentive, but not intrusive, helpful but not overbearing and genuinely caring. The food was fresh, freshly cooked and delicious. All for a very reasonable 71 Euros. We left to be whisked back to our hotel at the end of a great experience suffused in a warm glow. It had been everything we wanted and more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.S.M.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The view from Il Borgo is breathtaking as you dine on delicious food. The owner/chef was welcoming even though we were there before the place actually opened for dinner.

The presentation of the chateaubriand was as wonderful as it tasted! Excellent seafood pasta as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great service, food and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A group of us (9 family and friends) rented a villa up the road from Il Borgo and went to the restaurant 3 or 4 times during our stay.Good food and great to have such a nice restuarant with close by, particularly after a big day exploring in the region. The pick up car was really handy and the people working the place were welcoming and approachable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we visited 4 times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great food and good value for money. the views from the restaurant are great too. Toni and his staff were most welcoming. Loved the freebie Limonchello at the end of the meal too!! thanks Toni you are a star!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Borgo also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.