We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn Bufalito Taverna Mediterranea

Inn Bufalito Taverna Mediterranea
Vico Fuoro, 21, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 365 6975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 221 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $57
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mozzarella Bar - Taverna Mediterranea: Light, simple and creative, our cuisine takes inspiration from the traditional Campania Region gastronomy.Our Philosophy is to use only local and fresh products, in particular buffalo meats and cheeses.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a pleasure to find a restaurant (and a staff) so singularly focused on a 'food concept' such as this. Buffalo meat and mozzarella features heavily here, and both are excellent (the former was a bit of a surprise to me - I expected it might be dry) .

The food was interesting and well prepared, from the antipasti to the buffalo steak and pasta. Generally the food was simple but full of flavour. Everything tasted 'natural' in that there were no cloying sauces - just good produce.

The service was great, too - confident, friendly and knowledgeable.

Finally, the wine list was short, but perfectly fine - I recall they had a very good value Amerone which quite a few tables around us took advantage of.

An absolute pleasure - we will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal ....buffalo carpaccio was superb. Excellent dishes. We were late and they held table for us. Great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
573 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“one of the best in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had an excellent dinner here - twice. It was so fantastic the first time that we had to return for our last evening in Sorrento. I had the Buffalo filet that was cooked perfectly. My wife got the buffalo beef stew that was outstanding. I could have eaten this every night. Very flavorful. The service was outstanding - our waiter Gaetano was funny and insightful in his suggestions. We also got dessert - more than we usually eat. The overall experience was so good we immediately scheduled to return later in the week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very touristy and sub-standard buffalo mozzarella”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

So when I decided to go to a restaurant focused on buffalo mozzarella, I expected that they would have excellent buffalo mozzarella. If this is also what you are expecting, I recommending finding another restaurant. The food was fine and the restaurant had a nice, tourist-friendly atmosphere, but I would never recommend that someone go there for their mozzarella or for a really high quality meal. In addition, don't expect the waiters to care if you are not happy with your meal for some reason. I learned this quickly after I was served my first mozzarella dish that I wasn't happy with.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good service, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ate here twice on our holiday. The service is good and the waiting staff want you to have a good experience. We never have a complete meal in Italy (its just too much food) so just ordered some salads and some pasta from the specials board each time. Lovely food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn Bufalito Taverna Mediterranea also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Inn Bufalito Taverna Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing