We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Sorrento B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Sorrento B&B to your Saves list
Belvedere Sorrento B&B
Via Luigi De Maio 14, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 93 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for the price and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

More of a bed and breakfast than hotel, the Sorrento Belvedere is kind of hard to find! Two steps from Piazza Tasso and about a 7 min. walk from the train station, it was a perfect location. But after we found the building, we couldn't find where the frontdesk was! That's because there is none. The hotel is on the second level of this family's house. So once you find the building, go up the stairs on the last floor and follow the arrow that says Sorrento Belevedere on it. The room was fine, clean and the breakfast kitchen is self-serve, which you can use anytime. We liked everything except that it felt like we were sleeping in somebody's house and there was no frontdesk. So whenever we wanted something, we had to knock on their door. But they were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010 via mobile

Location fantastic (main street sorrento), room clean and newly renovated on to floor, beautiful view of the sea, close to everything.

Only one things: breakfast is not served, but you gave a kitchen where you can cook your own one.

No lift available to reach 4th floor. Not a problem for us, but bear it in mind.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My friend and I stayed here just one night, but l was quite taken with this place - the skylights in the rooms in particular are great for natural light and fresh air. The beds felt a little more like camp beds rather than hotel beds, but were fine.

The owner, Paola, was lovely, and we watched in fascination (and with some trepidation, I must admit) as our bags were winched to the top of the building where the B&B is. But no fear, the system is sound!

The B&B is up several flights of stairs, and there is no lift, so bear this in mind if this will be a problem for you.

The information we had through booking.com said that breakfast was not provided, but there were some packaged items, help-yourself tea and coffee etc in the little kitchen, and a fridge you could put your own things in for breakfast.

The bathroom was spacious and clean, the only problem we had was the hot water ran out in the morning when my friend was showering, so I heard yelps from the bathroom!

I loved the view from the rooftop balcony, going up there at sunset, at night, and in the morning!

Anything in Sorrento is within walking distance, including a number of places to eat. We went to Il Pozzo, which was recommended by other travelers we met in the laundrette and which was good.

I'm not sure if it was the location or the position of the B&B at the top of the building, but this place was nice and QUIET, and I had one of my best sleeps of a six week trip here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Belvedere Sorrento was as charming and cosy as the town itself. Walking through a wooden side door, we entered a quaint little courtyard, a contrast from the busy street outside. Our luggage was hoisted up by a pulley to the highest floor. Paola, the proprietor and her family lived on the lower floor of the apartment which was split into 2 levels. There were at least 4 guest rooms along a common corridor located on the upper floor.

The skylight window in our room let in fresh air and warm sunlight. The room was neatly furnished in a sunny country style with personal touches and modern conveniences. Importantly, everything was exceptionally clean. An added bonus was a well kept common kitchen and a decent spread of food we could help ourselves to for breakfast. This was also a good place to interact with fellow guests.

My favourite place was the rooftop area with deck chairs and tables. I could either sunbathe or enjoy coffee while looking out to old fashioned tiled rooftops set amidst rolling hills that formed a picturesque view. At night, it was a great place to admire the stars with sounds of people dining and music not far away.

And of course, the icing on the cake was the convenient location, right smack in the town centre (15min walk to the bus station and ferry terminal). I would recommend this place for a taste of warm Italian hospitality at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Loved this hotel, despite being a very unfit person and there being 75 steps from street level up to the rooms.
Really friendly staff. When we had a problem with our shower (the hose broke) the guy came and immediately fitted a new one. Good selection of DVD's to watch, no TV channels though but I expect they'd have all been in Italian, so useless for us anyway.
This hotel couldn't be more central if it tried. Down those 75 steps, through the outer door and there it all is, shops, bars and restaurants. Only a 10 minute walk to the train station for those trips to Pompeii and Ercolano that HAVE to be made. Very handy having a fridge in the room too and the room was very spacious with a lovely modern bathroom.
Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. We're not particuarly early risers and I think those that were up early got all the good bits. So, we took to taking a few pastries into our room the night before. It's a self service affair, there's a little kitchenette with a balcony with tables and chairs.
Anyway, loved this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I was scouring the net for accomodation in Sorrento and decided to take a gamble with Belvedere despite limited reviews and photos. It was worth the risk!

Upon arrival by ferry from Naples, we took a 1 Euro bus service that takes us to the town centre, and we had no difficulty finding the place at all. Rang the bell and a young man (Paola's son?) came down to help me with my backpack up many flights of stairs.

Paola and her family stays just a floor below the B&B, so we can reach them if we need anything. We were shown our room with pride from mother and son. It was very welcoming and cozy and I absolutely dig the skylight window above the bed! They then showed us the kitchen and the rooftop terrace with a nice view. I think there are only 4 or 5 rooms in this B&B, all along 1 stretch of corridor.

Sorrento is not a big town, most places are within walking distance. It takes 10 min to the train station, which is also where the bus to the Amalfi Coast is. Only downside is the limited breakfast, mostly supermarket-bought bread rolls and pastries. But you can help yourself to the breads, juices, coffee and fruits anytime of the day

Overall, it was a good stay and we look forward to going back to the sanctuary every night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

a very pleasant stay at B&B Belvedere...room nicely & simply decorated in a modern style, spotlessly clean with good bathroom & comfortable bed. The breakfast is DIY with limited choice but the advantage here is that the kitchen facilities are available for everyones use and you can make tea/coffee, snacks when you like. There are lots of stairs to reach Belvedere (the communal stairwell could use a coat of paint!) but your luggage is taken up on a hoist system. As I was on my own it was important to me that I could walk back late at night feeling safe and the position in the centre of town was ideal, with the buses & train station at around a 10 minutes walk.
TIp-to find the B&B go into the `Tabacci´ on Via Luigi de Maio-they are also the owners of Belvedere which is a couple of doors along the street.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Sorrento B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Sorrento B&B

Address: Via Luigi De Maio 14, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belvedere Sorrento B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Sorrento B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.