We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Donna Sofia

Ristorante Donna Sofia
Via Talagnano 5, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
0818773532
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 231 Restaurants in Sorrento
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our experiance at Donna Sofia restuarant. Great shuttle service provided by the restaurant to take you there and back. Wouldnt agree with previous reviews saying the drive is terrifying, just a very narrow access road which the drive is comfortable with. Had the best caprese salad i have ever had, lovely mushroom pasta dish and an amazinng panacotta. The service here is excellent, if anything our experiance was too short as the service was so good! They had a singer entertaining diners through out the meal which was nice and not too imposing. Atmosphere in the restaurant quite quiet during our visit but i imagine we were a bit early for dinner before it got lively. If i was back in sorrento i would most definately go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    122
    44
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
1 review
“Absolutely amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Best food on our entire 11 day european trip. Chef Mario is absolutely amazing! The restaurant was up a small hidden road, secluded away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded tourist streets- But oh so worth it! A must do if you are in Sorrento.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Missed a Golden Opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

In Sorrento during early October, asked our hotel manager for a restaurant recommendation, which was Ristorante Donna Sofia. A really interesting experience since it began with the restaurant sending a car to pick up the four of us for a somewhat intimidating ride up the mountain to their location, moving quite quickly on the most narrow roads you could imagine with only inches to spare on either side....this was also true on the ride back. This is a convenience you must take advantage of, as I doubt this is an easy place to find without assistance or knowledge of the local geography.

When I say this was a golden opportunity missed, I'm simply saying that we visited Donna Sofia at the end of a very long day with an extraordinarily busy schedule and we were very tired. As a result, we simply did not get to enjoy the meal as we could have.

It began with a mix of antipasto -- really about 8 different dishes -- each of which was very good. This was followed by our choice of pasta and then the final course (primi piati) which we were simply too full and tired to finish.

On reflection, rather than accepting the restaurant's recommendation of the antipasto mix (which added many euros to our final bill), we should have ordered and shared a couple, leaving us with room and appetite for the remaining selections of the meal.

Of course, the hosts were wonderful and the restaurant is very attractive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Italy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel recommended this restaurant saying it was a “special place”, we quickly checked on trip advisor and recent reviews were positive so we booked it for our last evening in Sorrento. A very pleasant young man called Giuseppe picked us up and the journey through narrow streets was the best bit of the evening. It just went downhill from there. We had complimentary bruschetta and eventually our order was taken and then we waited and waited over an hour for the starters, they even bought us another complimentary amuse bouche. After a further wait a waiter came over and asked whether we had ordered the main course and then asked what we had ordered – my husband wanted to leave then and in hindsight we should have! The service was absolutely terrible and the food mediocre and one dish the monkfish was inedible. We quickly realised that there were a lot of unhappy diners around us that night and in all there were 6 tables complaining. This was the worst dining experience we have had in Italy and I would never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Found the shuttle service much better than the walk we made to find it in the first place. Excellent lunch with marvellous help from owner, even got taken to the kitchen to meet his wife! Rest of service a bit grumpy and, please, turn the TV off! Great wine choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Donna Sofia also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Donna Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Donna Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.