We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic hotel with superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 25, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Bonheiden Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good basic hotel with superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are a family (2 adults, 2 kids 8 + 12y old) We've booked a family room. We had a room with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The bedrooms were very clean. The bath tub was not that clean (bit to old and too much used, silicon on the sides looked black).

Our kids loved the swimming pool, and enjoyed it a lot. There are too less sunbeds around the swimmingpool.

The service is excellent. The pool-boy was very kind, and we had also a lot of good and friendly assistance on the reception.

The hotel is located next to the Tasso square, and the back entrance is located in the Corsa Italia.

We only booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast was basic but ok.

Keep in mind that this a three star hotel, you get a good price/quality. I recommend the owners to upgrade the bathroom.

Room Tip: We have the impression that the other rooms are better. We saw rooms that had an upgrade allready. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    148
    49
    21
    16
See reviews for
82
174
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good modern rooms, ideal location to attractions and centre of town, small but functional pool, adequate breakfast, very clean, BUT the parking is a nightmare and very limited. Watch out you dont run over the hotel cat !

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went back to Sorrento for the second time this year. Hotel Eden has been through some renovations in the last two years.. The hotel looks fantastic! The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, air conditioned and the staff are great...The location of the hotel is within a short walking distance of all the attractions.

My purpose of this trip was to visit Pompeii for the ruins, the volcano close by, to see a friend and rest. I was able to accomplish everything that I wanted to do. I never do get tired of visiting Sorrento!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just arrived back from Sorrento what a beautiful place loved it. Stayed at the Eden it was very nice spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely and so helpful nothing too much trouble for them. The room was minimal but that was ok it had everything you needed. We went half board and the food was ok but boring and basic the breakfast was the same everyday no variety at all we have had continental breakfasts before and each day there has been something different ie different fruit or meat etc but at the Eden it was the same all the time. The meals at night again were ok but chicken one night pork the next and chips all the time. We thought perhaps we might get some Italian cuisine the only thing was a pasta and tomato starter this again was on the menu each night. Nevertheless the staff were lovely so we skipped the meal on the last night and went out that was brilliant!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whidbey island, wa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a fabulous room with a balcony as big as the room! We looked right out at Mt. Vesuvius! The hotel is a really great location, there is a "secret" door that leads you right out into the middle of Sorrento! The hotel is quite and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Eden for three nights in July '12 with my wife and baby, visiting Sorrento primarily for a friend's wedding. The hotel was absolutely perfectly for our needs. It is situated literally three minutes walk from the main square, and the surrounding network of side streets of shops and restaurants. The hotel's pool was a comfortable size and temperature, with staff frequently stopping by to offer drinks. Our room was not huge, but was clean and well-maintained. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Our fourth floor room gave us a lovely sea view over the bay and Mount Vesuvius beyond - although whether all the rooms would offer this I do not know. Overall we would love to revisit the town of Sorrento and would definitely stay at the Eden again if / when we do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have just returned from a week at this hotel in Sorrento with my partner. Our bedroom was in the new part of the hotel and decorated in lime, navy and white. Unfortunately, it was a bit sparse in that it had not one single picture on the wall, but on the plus side, it was clean, fresh and had a free safe, fridge, and a really modern bathroom. The air con was excellent and was really needed as it gets very hot (as in mid 30's or more) in Sorrento in July. The hotel entrance is inviting and is marble floored; there is also a bar, a lounge and an outdoor, roofed area to sit having drinks. The gardens are lovely and the pool is very nice but seems to belong to the adjoining restaurant. You cannot take any food or drink to the pool, not even water. This has to be purchased from the bar. Also, as was said before, shutting at 6pm sharp is a shame as we would have loved a dip after an excursion.
On the first night, we were the first into the restaurant at 7pm, but nobody told us that we had to go down to the front to get our vegetables. All this consisted of was a bowl of chips and some salad. My partner did complain but the waiters did not want to know and passed it onto the management, who then passed it back to the restaurant. The food was really bad for Italy. the pizzas were burnt and did not have much topping and most days the meat was a breaded cutlet of chicken. In fact, chicken was the main meat done in different way, mostly grilled and lying in grease though. When we asked for vegetables, we were told that in Italy one did not eat hot vegetables. I have Italian friends so know this to be untrue. We had a rather unfortunate start to the holiday because of the food trouble and when we subsequently tried to contact Thompsons who were our holiday reps, we were promised 3 return calls which never arrived. WHen we spoke to Tom (our resort rep who is a really nice young man) he was not even informed (despite their promise to tell him in the morning) of the problem. We were offered another hotel, but Tom later told us that the man we spoke to on the help line in London had no business to offer this to us and in fact it would have cost us double the price of the holiday. Breakfast was ok, but having stayed in other hotels in Italy in the past, I would say the choice was very small with only ham or Mortadella and cheese, cake, croissants, toast, scrambled egg, yogurts, a bowl of fruit salad (tinned) and various teas, coffee, and juice (all machine). All in all the food does let this hotel down. the location is brilliant and the newer rooms great with large balconies. After the initial bad start, the staff were very nice and helpful. Improve the food and you have a winning hotel. Oh yes, the bed was the hardest I have ever slept on. I sleep on an orthopaedic bed at home but this was rock hard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Via Correale 25, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.