We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sorrento Relais to your Saves list
Sorrento Relais
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Bernardino Rota 5, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 94 Sorrento B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This small hotel is very practically situated near the port and near lots of restaurants. The hotel manager was extremely helpful at arrival and parking right in front of the door was no problem at all. The room and the bathroom were clean and wifi was fast and free. My son and I had a comfortable stay here and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was good.

Room Tip: No comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
15
95
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pasquale and his staff were very accommodative! We had to check in early and the lady (can't remember her name unfortunately) was helpful, made us coffee and had us go downstairs while she made us a cappuccino, and a very great cup of coffee. Our room was nice, cool (it was quite warm outside) and very clean. It is tastefully decorated and enough space for the two of us (my husband and I) to move around and get ready. We liked the location because it is close enough to the city area to walk and hit the train station- but it's far enough off of the main road that it is quiet and peaceful. The breakfast in the morning was great- the standard European Continental- but with very yummy sweets. :) It was a plus for our trip that we had such wonderful hosts! Thank you Pasquale for everything! Pasquale also helped us arrange a tour of Capri, and recommended some wonderful places to eat dinner at, and was extremely helpful. We will be returning to Sorrento this winter, and we WILL be staying at the Sorrento Relais!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great, it was a little noisy due to the location and proximity of the rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights here in August. Location is great - really close to the Circumvesuviana train station, for access to Naples or Pompeii and Herculaneum (literally a five minute walk), or for buses to Amalfi coast. We were greeted by Pasquale, who was extremely nice and affable. I can speak a small amount of Italian so we conversed in broken versions of Italian and English. He was very helpful and offered us tips on good places to eat (NB the fabulous Leone Rosso, near train station), and helped us out with timetables and maps and places to see.

The hotel is pretty bleak looking on the outside and looks like a block of flats. It's nicer inside, and very clean, particularly the public areas. However, the rooms, while clean, are not quite as nice as pictured online, and are a little depressing, with tiled floors and an uncomfortable bed. In fairness to the hotel though, they've tried to make them look as nice as possible, with bright colours throughout, which is a nice touch. The bathroom was tiny and the shower had no middle range - was either scalding hot or freezing. I thought it was quite expensive for a mid-range hotel, but that's Sorrento for you. Also the walls are paper-thin so you can hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms, and in the hallway, as well as conversations at reception, so be warned - bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

The breakfast was pretty awful though - a pretty poor effort of a buffet with no meats or cheeses or fresh bread, just some very sweet pastries and melba toasts in a packet, and fruit. NB - order coffee from the staff and don't drink from the coffee pot on the counter as it's instant. Hard to believe that instant coffee is being served in Italy, which has some of the best coffee in the world. Wouldn't have thought it was that difficult to make a pot of fresh coffee. It was so bad that we didn't even bother having it the next day before heading to Amalfi. So if there's an option to book a room without breakfast, go with that, and have breakfast in town instead.

Not a bad place overall but a definitely could be described as a budget-standard hotel at a non-budget price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASKAL76, Proprietario at Sorrento Relais, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello dear customer,

I am happy that overall your stay in Sorrento was good.
I have to make some clarifications on its review.

I sincerely hope that it is read by all future guests

Sorrento Relais is not a Hotel!!
Sorrento Relais is a B & B.

The judgment should be compared to other B & B and not with Hotel.

The breakfast should be avoided???
We espresso and cappuccino on demand, on the counter says she finds American coffee, hot and cold milk, two kinds of juice, cheese, ham and salami, bread for toast, boiled eggs, croissants, cakes etc etc.

I say just find another B & B that offers the same breakfast.

Best Regards
Pasquale Nocerino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lodging was fine for a budget hotel in Sorrento, where everything is expensive. Breakfast was complimentary and was excellent. Bathroom was small, typical for Europe, but efficient. Locatoin is perfect. The owner, Pasquale was very friendly and helpful, he even gave us a ride to the boat launch. I would stay here again. Dennis Taricani

Room Tip: Front rooms are better, best to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can walk from the train station, but there area plenty of places within walking distance. I don't think the room I had quite looked anything like what the pictures advertised. The air conditioner was leaking a lot of water onto the floor. The walls were very, very thin. My room was on the lower level, i felt like i was in a basement. I am sure the rooms on the upstairs level are more favorable.

Aside of that, the owner was a fantastic help and very friendly. the room was clean. The breakfast was better than average for sure, they had fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, toast, pastries, meat and cheese. There is a common area with TV channels in multiple languages. And if you need dinner advice, they are very helpful.

I might stay here again on short notice, however I would ask for a nicer room because I did find better value for my money in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Upstairs I assume is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Clean, quite, comfortable, safe. All of my requirements for lodging. The owner speaks limited English but he was able to talk to me in a way that got the message across. Although I did not eat breakfast, what I saw looked good. For an Italian budget hotel in a resort town, the bed & bath rooms are large.

For me the only thing missing was parking, but there is a lot about 5 minutes walking time away.

I will be back!

Steve

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is great.
Good size shower-room with toiletries. Curtains/drapes quite artistic Shower-room cleaned daily and bed linen changed at least once in the week. 10 mins walk to old town 5 mins walk to rail/bus (Pompeii Herculaneum Naples by train and Amalfi by bus) 15 mins walk to harbour (Capri)
We did them all with ease from this great base.
Even if you wanted to do almost nothing it is good - very short walks 200-400 meters can get you to a lemon grove, a very interesting small museum or 3 bench seats which overlook the harbour so if you dont walk well you can still see Vesuvius and the boats going off to Capri and Amalfi. There is also a small cafe nearby which does very simple inexpensive meals.
Timetables for bus train and ferry are on a notice board and a mobile contact number if an emergency occurs.
Although only May it was quite hot so it was nice to have the air conditioning available - some Italian hotels have it controlled centrally and only from Mid June to Mid September. The windows
(NB not all rooms have one) also open and have security shutter so room can be aired.
Internal walls are a bit thin so a bit of noise from other guests. Breakfast served in the room was good but only one plate so a bit messy. I would have liked a second cup of coffee so a small pot would have been great or if there had been a kettle could have made my own.
( Well - Being English I have to find some small thing??? :) ) What you save staying here you can spend on another coffee later.

Nothing to do with the hotel but allow 3 hours to get back to naples airport if using the "direct" bus (or even a taxi) as roadworks can cause it to take much longer than the published 1.5 hours.

Room Tip: Cant say for others but ours was on same floor as reception second on right. Those on the left are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorrento Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Relais

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 5, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sorrento Relais 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms of "Sorrento Relais" have been carefully decorated by the warm and enveloping draperies, furniture produced by the valuable work of Sorrento artisans make this Guest House the ideal place for those who are seeking the perfect combination between the warmth of a private residence and the comfort provided by our modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sorrento Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.