We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ulisse Deluxe Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mare 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel Ulisse is plush, wonderful staff, the restaurants will pick you up at the door and bring you back so you can enjoy the evening hassel free. The room is wonderful, big & comfortable. Love it! Ask for directions at the IT, it can be hard to find. You have to take a left to go down to the street to go right, after the hospital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    241
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
102
418
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here last August, after seeing the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I was very impressed and agree with the reviews that it is more like a hotel than a hostel. It is very good value for how expensive accommodation is in Sorrento. The location was not right in the centre of town but not far walk. The rooms were a good size and quite modern, and the staff gave useful advice about where to go and eat. Sorrento was a beautiful place and I was happy with the hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Let me start by saying this hotel had a disadvantage to our family by being sandwiched between two five-star hotel stays in our 10 day trip to Italy. We had a very hard time finding Quad rooms and this hotel was suggested in a forum on Trip Advisor. The location was an easy walk to everything in town. If you are staying awhile a Laundrymat is just up the hill. The staff at the front desk is very helpful. The lobby and downstairs area would not lead you to believe that you were in anything other than a very nice hotel-in that sense the name Ulisse Deluxe Hostel does not seem appropriate. We bought the breakfast included plan and my husband and I found enough choices to satisfy us., teenagers on the other hand did not. It is a more European-type breakfast. So American travelers looking for pancakes, scrambled eggs, etc...this would not be for you. The ladies staffing the dining room were very kind. Boys were thrilled to have WiFi. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel-it is an excellent choice for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Quad rooms are very spacious-plenty of room for our family of four with two teenage boys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here during holy week March 2013. The staff was fantastic from the front desk (Angelo particularly) to the maids and breakfast attendants. We were there with our kids (8 & 10), got a quad and the kids had their own room and bathroom. They loved the lighted colored shower head in the bathrooms. My parents had a room with a patio that looked out at a cliff with a waterfall (room 220). The in-room refrigerator came in very handy as there is a local cheese and deli next door that we bought awesome parmigiana cheese to enjoy with local wine we bought. The windows had powered metal covers so you could black out the room if you needed to sleep late. They also provided good security as the windows do open which is nice for fresh air. There is a safe in the armoire for your valuables. Breakfast was served every morning in the dining area which made a nice start to the day. The front desk spoke very good English, made superb recommendations to LOCAL restaurants and even delivered an Easter basket to the kids the day we checked out. It's a quick easy walk to the heart of Sorrento and even though on the opposite side of the city from the train station, that too is easily walkable with roller luggage. Don't let the word "hostel" deter you from staying at this enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Once again I must state that we had a very disappointing time due to the torrential rain and wind, but I will try to be objective.

This is not a hostel, I think they advertise it as one either to pay less tax or to attract American backpackers, there were lots of young Americans running in and out of rooms when we were there, it may have been their university holidays time. It's really a three star hotel.

We arrived by bus from Naples airport, there is a direct bus from just across the road when you leave the airport through Departures. Beware of all the gypsy beggars in the airport and around the buses. We arrived in horrible rain, there was some building work going on so the buses couldn't stop where they usually do, near the taxi rank in front of the station. We had to walk for about 10 mins in the rain to get to a taxi rank. We were charged 15 euros to get to the hotel, which was a dreadful rip-off but we had no choice in the rain.

Nice desk staff who spoke English and Spanish and were helpful for our onward journey to Naples after our stay there. (Told us which bus to get, to be careful of our belongings etc) Nice entrance and hallways, all very clean. The corridors were all tiled so you could hear shoes all the time, especially when it was quiet at night, very easy to put a carpet strip down the middle and cut down on noise. (Maybe I'm just getting old)

The room was ok but the electric shutters didn't close all the way down meaning the light came in once it got daylight. There was a gap under the door so the light in the corridor came in all night so we had to put a towel across the gap! Oh and the room was very big with plenty of space, which I liked.

We were at the back with a view of mountains, fruit trees and a psychiatric hospital, where, on one occasion, and old gentleman got confused and went to the toilet off the balcony into the street down below, and on another, a woman was sitting cowering on the balcony, I don't know why I always seem to notice these odd things!! A strange place to look out over, but I guess all rooms look out over something.

The tv had been set to all Italian channels so my husband re-tuned it all so we had some channels in English.

The room was very very gloomy to sit in, (which we had to do on several occasions to see if it would ever stop raining) and you needed all the lights on, the bedside lights and entrance light, it was very dark indeed...(until 5am when it suddenly became very light, due to the non-closing shutter.)

The bathroom had a jacuzzi but it didn't work. Be careful with the shower glass, if the rubber seal bit at the bottom is bent the wrong way, the water will run down and go all over the floor (as my husband found out) so check before you turn the water on. Nice towels and toiletries and hairdryer.

Good bed (very big) and nice pillows.

Didn't use any other facilities there, I saw a health spa type thing and some beauty salon, all inside the hotel and there was a breakfast room but it was cheaper to go out for breakfast so we didn't try any of the food.


The hotel itself is at one end of the main high street so you will need to do a bit of walking to the station, it's about 1km away, and down to the port to get a boat to Capri etc. There is a lift for 1 euro, to get down to sea level, then you have to walk along a disgusting graffiti-covered boardwalk, which smelt like a toilet, to get to where the boats leave. Shame really, as the lift is lovely and new.

It's easy enough to get to Pompeii by train, there is also a stop at Herculaneum, but we only went to Pompeii. If you rent a car, the hotel will charge you to park, so we did all the travelling by bus and train. The Circumvesuviana line goes from Naples to Sorrento and stops at every little station (covered in graffiti) on the way, it's cheap and very convenient. You really don't need to rent a car, and with the way they drive over there, it's safer if you don't and you don't have the worry of finding a place to park. There are beggars on the train, gypsy children forced to beg by the mothers, the best thing is to ignore them and don't give them anything. Ditto any musicians we saw one playing the accordion for several stops.

The last night we were there, someone was a man banging on every room door at 4.30am, I thought it was someone trying to find which room the American girls were in.... we were just trying to get back to sleep when the fire alarm outside our room went off, and I opened the door to see an English rugby type boy, completely naked apart from a flowery ironing board cover he had taken from the laundry room, covering his nether regions, wandering up and down the corridor looking for his "girlfriend". Drunk as a skunk. Unfortunately, the night desk guy couldnt switch the alarm off and for 45 minutes we had to wait until someone came to switch it off. Ruined the last night. I would have called the police really. Some people on the other side of the hotel thought it was a real fire and so started to congregate downstairs in the foyer, so my husband took this drunk guy and guided him to where everyone was gathered, to show them the reason for the intrusion into their sleep. He was then left to shout up and down the corridor, naked apart from the ironing board cover whilst the alarm was going off. I would have liked a better and faster response from the hotel dealing with this sort of incident, there were families there with kids, who don't need to see this type of behaviour and the hotel should have dealt with him faster and differently. I didn't complain the next day as I suppose they did everything they could and I suppose many others complained too.

On the plus side, the hotel in Naples was worse and if I'd known, I would have had an extra night here in Sorrento and not stayed the night in Naples (read my other review for the hotel there)

Room Tip: Ones at the back have a view of mountains and trees and waterfalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As many other reviewers have said, how is this a hostel? Apparently part of the facility is a hostel but you couldn't tell that from where we stayed. The lobby, the dining area and the rooms made for one of our best accommodations while we were in Italy. The staff was very courteous and helpful with directions and even making reservations for us. There was an elevator to take us to our floor. Our room, while not decorated with sumptuous furniture, was very comfortable and very spacious with great views off of our (small) patio. The bathroom was also large, very clean, and included a tub/shower combination. The dining room was very large and clean, and the offerings for breakfast were extensive and delicious. We decided to walk the less than one mile to the hotel from the train station and found the route very enjoyable. After exiting the train station, proceed straight across the first street and then turn left on Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street. You can follow this street through the main square, Piazza Tasso and all the way to Via del Mare, turning right to find the hotel. However, I would highly recommend bearing slightly right once you enter Piazza Tasso and strolling down Via San Cesario. This is a pedestrian mall type walkway that goes through numerous shops and restaurants, paralleling Corso Italia. You can take it to the end and find yourself at Via del Mare. My wife and I enjoyed the walk, shopping and eating as we went. One last word on finding Ulisse Deluxe. When you turn right off of either Corso Italia or Via San Cesario you will start slightly downhill and be looking at a parking lot ahead of you on the left. Keep walking down the road past the entrance to the parking lot and you will find the entrance to the hotel on the left. Yes, it is under the parking lot. We paid 90 euros per night and that included breakfast. There is no doubt where we will stay if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had read the reviews and were surprised for it to be called a hostel (apparently due to tax reasons...), there is not hint of a hostel element.

The rooms were more than suitable, double bed was two singles pushed together but plenty of space in the room. The room, and the bathroom was clean, and contained a bath/shower with flashing lights!!

Breakfast was simple but nice, a selection of cold meats, breads, cakes and we had that included into our price and was worth it.


The only problem we had was we thought we had paid online, so when we checked out we were presented with a bill for the full night, after arguing and checking our banks they had not taken the amount, but im sure we wouldnt be the only people surprised, better communication was needed on this.

On the whole we enjoyed staying here, and we would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET IN THE HEART OF SORRENTO, THE HOSTEL BOASTS A CONVENIENT LOCATION WITHIN VERY EASY REACH OF SORRENTO’S PREMIER SIGHTS AND ATTRACTIONS. ELEGANTLY STYLED, BEAUTIFULLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE SERVICE OF A 3 STAR HOTEL: 50 ROOMS ALL AIR-CONDITIONED, MINIBAR, PERSONALISED SAFE, WI-FI , UNDERGROUND GARAGE, WELLNESS CENTRE AND POOL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulisse Deluxe Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.