We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ulisse Deluxe Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mare 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 97 hotels in Sorrento
styrx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and visited the Amalfi coast. Great value and the hotel is only a leisure 10-15 mins walk from Sorrento train station. Rooms are clean and the neighborhood feel safe. Breakfast was pretty good and most importantly the coffee was strong unlike some other hotels in Italy. The reception staffs were all very friendly and helpful and won't hesitate to offer help if you need. You can read more about my trip at my blog http://www.travelathousandmiles.com/italy/

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    220
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
396
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our budget option on a recent trip to Italy. It worked out quite well for the most part - accomodations were clean and very adequate for our needs. It was a bit far from the train station and at 15Euros each way, I wonder if it might have been a little better to spend a little more and stay closer to the train and town. We opted not to have the breakfast at 7Euros per person and were able to get coffee and a pastry close by for substantially less.

Room Tip: Our rooms were next to each other (a good thing!) but overlooked an interior courtyard which was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a very comfortable room and enjoyed using this hotel for a week as a base for sightseeing. Our room had nice open views to the east, and was serviced every day. We had a TV although only three channels seemed to be available; fortunately one was CNN.
The reception and lounge area was well appointed and the reception staff were very helpful in giving advice on transport and places to visit.
The continental breakfasts were really excellent - a good selection of juices, hot drinks, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, breads, cakes, ham and cheese.
Although the hotel does not have a restaurant there are plenty within 5 or 10mins walk. For those not so fit do be aware that you have to ascend a steepish slope (or steps) up to the town centre!
There is a car park on the hotel roof, which could be convenient if you have a car.
The ferries are within 15mins walk, the rail station abut 20mins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

As the title says, this isn't a hostel. It is a hotel, but the price is right and it is very nice. We booked our reservation online on their website and got a very good deal (in the low season) including breakfast. When we arrived, they had our reservation and our room was ready even though we had arrived before the actual check in time.

The room was large compared to most hotels in Italy. It was what I'd say is the closest we had to a "North American" style hotel room as it was spacious, had a desk, mini fridge, and a large bathroom with a counter and a soaking bathtub with jets. The shower had good water pressure and lots of hot water. The bathroom was also well appointed with shampoo and soap if you forgot your own.

The breakfast was good and quite extensive, also closer to the "North American" continental breakfast. There were pastries, yogurt, cereal, and fruit.

There was wifi, but it cut out quite often and we ended up paying to use the hotel computer which was quite slow. Also, the hotel is located quite far down the main road in Sorrento, so it's a bit of a walk from the train station if you have bags with you, but it's still very close to all the shops and restaurants in town. Staff were friendly and most spoke some English. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I chose to stay at the Ulisse because of the positive reviews on trip advisor and I wasn’t disappointed. The hotel reminded me a lot of the “Grand Hotel Pupp” in Czech Rep. the entrance is huge (bench outside for smokers or a seating area in the lobby – very thoughtful owners). The room we had for the week was massive. Extra pillows in the wardrobe, extra blankets which were needed given we went out of season. Plenty of toiletries and a spa bath! There were also shutter blinds outside which were great for keeping out light and any noise. The hotel is nicely out of the way so it was a very quiet area to stay in. The room was spotless, the towels were changed every day and the bedding was regularly changed. There was a huge TV which we never got round to switching on but the free wifi was a definite bonus.

We paid extra for breakfast and we were glad we did. This was in part because a glass of juice in Sorrento averages about 3 euro’s. There was a huge choice of food (meats, cheese, toast, warm croissants, fruit and cake -odd for an English person but actually really nice). There was a good choice of fruit juices and hot drinks. We had two glasses of fruit juice and two cups of tea each which would probably cost around 20 euro’s in a local cafe. Bargain breakfast! My only criticism was the milk was across the room from the tea (twinning’s!) machine next to the cereals. Admittedly I think everyone else chose coffee.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and in particularly the lady behind the desk helped us out a lot during the stay. She gave us directions all over the place and gave us lots of info about the hotel’s spa. The spa cost 22 euro’s (special guest rate). We had friends and family staying in another hotel and the staff even let them have it for that rate because we booked us all in together which was really kind of them. I recommend a trip to the spa; they provide flip flops and towels (it’s dimly lit) and it is a relaxing experience with plenty to go at.

The hotel is a short walk down to one of the harbours. It is a two minute walk from the corso italia which has lots of shops. I recommend buying a few beers in to enjoy before going out for a meal (95c a bottle). The hotel room has a fridge which kept them nice and cool. Drinks were expensive in Sorrento so we saved quite a bit of money this way. If you keep walking down the corso italia (about 2 more minutes) there is an excellent ice cream/cake shop/cafe. Once on the corso italia there are lots of side streets leading to some really nice rustic restaurants, some cheaper than others. The train/bus station is about a 10 minute walk. If you take the first street on the left when walking uphill from the hotel and keep walking you eventually get to Da Gigino’s which does a lovely meal at a reasonable price.

All in all a lovely stay at a really nice hotel (not sure why it’s called a hostel – it certainly gives a good impression of a hotel) and we will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Lifts to all the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

More than a hostel, this is a hotel!
Room was OK, and the bathroom was big.
Had to work it out, but you can have wifi connection along the whole building.
Well located, near Sorrento's downtown. In a 15 minute walk you can reach the train station or the bus terminal, where you can grab the bus towards Positano or Amalfi.
Also near the port, where you can catch the ferry to Capri.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We did not know what to expect when we booked this place and were very very surprised when we checked into our room. The room was clean, spacious (huge as a matter of fact) and a GREAT deal! I would definitely recommend a private room if you are looking at this place. Staff was attentive and efficient. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel
Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET IN THE HEART OF SORRENTO, THE HOSTEL BOASTS A CONVENIENT LOCATION WITHIN VERY EASY REACH OF SORRENTO’S PREMIER SIGHTS AND ATTRACTIONS. ELEGANTLY STYLED, BEAUTIFULLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE SERVICE OF A 3 STAR HOTEL: 50 ROOMS ALL AIR-CONDITIONED, MINIBAR, PERSONALISED SAFE, WI-FI , UNDERGROUND GARAGE, WELLNESS CENTRE AND POOL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulisse Deluxe Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.