We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Museo Caruso

Ristorante Museo Caruso
Via S. Antonino 12, Sorrento, Italy
081-8073156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 215 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newfoundland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were shopping in Sorrento and asked where to have a nice dinner - the clerk didn't hesitate to recommend Caruso and what a treat! ( He even drove us there!) You could spend hours just enjoying the ambiance and information non that magnificent tenor. Food was great - portions perfect - good wine list as well. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Take in the sunsets from numerous places in the area then go have a charming evening at this treasure of a spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    106
    25
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Caruso is an atmospheric gem just off the main square in Sorrento. Walls covered in Caruso photos and memorabilia, charming staff and great food make for a nice evening out. Prices are not cheap: expect to pay €80-€100 for a three course meal with wine, water and coffee. But for a special treat, it is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Twice the goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Sorrento with a tour group. A group of us selected Caruso's for dinner on Oct. 10 not realizing it was also selected by our tour company for our farewell dinner on Oct. 12, but we were not disappointed! Each dinner was great. On Oct. 10, I enjoyed a delicious meal at Caruso's with 4 other women. I had the Lobster with pasta for my main course. The pasta was a bit under-cooked for my American taste but it was delicious with the sauce. They also gave us a little taster at the start of the meal. We paid our check with the intention of getting dessert and tea on the square to people watch but when we went to leave, the sky opened up and just dumped rain. We went back to our table and sat down for a fabulous dessert of limoncello mouse and we also were served a shot of limoncello . The presentation for all the dishes was outstanding. We loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the decor with all the pictures of Caruso on the wall. The second dinner on Oct. 12 with our whole tour group was no different with the large number of 18 people. We were lucky to have Giovanni as our waiter for the second time. The wait staff was excellent and we were also saranaded by Antonio to add to the ambiance. Even though it was a large group, everything was served hot with a beautiful presentation. Loved this place and would highly reccomend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

we had great food and enjoyed pictures of Caruso through his career + live music. We ordered 2 menus (for the grown ups) and 2 more dishes but we got extras every time there was only two plates on the table.We also got free desert and liquor at the of the dinner. The food was great and so the service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A place with a history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant with a Museum! I was there a couple of years ago with 75 customers, and that was To much for the place. There were too manny things not performing. So we decided to take a dinner there just as a couple. And they are good, and they are expensive. So the whole question is can they match the price. To our best experience the score is average. They try to compensate with some small "extras" so the total picture come out at above average. Food is good, and good wine is very expensive. Is this the picture of a restaurant that is targeted at company paid events? Nevertheless we will come back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Museo Caruso also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Museo Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Museo Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.