We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Museo Caruso

Ristorante Museo Caruso
Via S. Antonino 12, Sorrento, Italy
081-8073156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 234 Restaurants in Sorrento
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Caruso is an atmospheric gem just off the main square in Sorrento. Walls covered in Caruso photos and memorabilia, charming staff and great food make for a nice evening out. Prices are not cheap: expect to pay €80-€100 for a three course meal with wine, water and coffee. But for a special treat, it is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    84
    18
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Twice the goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Sorrento with a tour group. A group of us selected Caruso's for dinner on Oct. 10 not realizing it was also selected by our tour company for our farewell dinner on Oct. 12, but we were not disappointed! Each dinner was great. On Oct. 10, I enjoyed a delicious meal at Caruso's with 4 other women. I had the Lobster with pasta for my main course. The pasta was a bit under-cooked for my American taste but it was delicious with the sauce. They also gave us a little taster at the start of the meal. We paid our check with the intention of getting dessert and tea on the square to people watch but when we went to leave, the sky opened up and just dumped rain. We went back to our table and sat down for a fabulous dessert of limoncello mouse and we also were served a shot of limoncello . The presentation for all the dishes was outstanding. We loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the decor with all the pictures of Caruso on the wall. The second dinner on Oct. 12 with our whole tour group was no different with the large number of 18 people. We were lucky to have Giovanni as our waiter for the second time. The wait staff was excellent and we were also saranaded by Antonio to add to the ambiance. Even though it was a large group, everything was served hot with a beautiful presentation. Loved this place and would highly reccomend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

we had great food and enjoyed pictures of Caruso through his career + live music. We ordered 2 menus (for the grown ups) and 2 more dishes but we got extras every time there was only two plates on the table.We also got free desert and liquor at the of the dinner. The food was great and so the service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A place with a history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant with a Museum! I was there a couple of years ago with 75 customers, and that was To much for the place. There were too manny things not performing. So we decided to take a dinner there just as a couple. And they are good, and they are expensive. So the whole question is can they match the price. To our best experience the score is average. They try to compensate with some small "extras" so the total picture come out at above average. Food is good, and good wine is very expensive. Is this the picture of a restaurant that is targeted at company paid events? Nevertheless we will come back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Bravo, Caruso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent a very nice evening at this busy restaurant that doubles as a memorial to the famous Italian tenor. Very nice, helpful staff. Good food. The beef carpaccio was excellent. They'll even give you a complimentary booklet about Caruso. Go! Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Museo Caruso also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Museo Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Museo Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;