We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect First Meal in Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Lanterna

La Lanterna
Via S. Cesareo 23/25, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
081-8781355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 226 restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Oceanport, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect First Meal in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After traveling amd being awake for what seemed like days, we were looking for a light and early dinner after arriving in Sorrento. La Lanterna was the perfect spot---lovely outdoor seating, a friendly helpful waiter, delicious salad and pizza and a very affordable but good carafe of wine.
Great start to a wonderful trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    302
    216
    96
    55
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What can I say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

L'Abate and La Lanterna Ristorante and Pizzeria, Sorrento
What can I say!
This place is heaven for Italian food of excellent quality in conjunction of staff being exemplary, especially Tony who was the manager and is a wonderful host, very friendly as is all the waiters.
We returned to this restaurant on several occasion over our stay in Sorrento. We tried 3 other eating places in the evening, but nowhere as good in terms of quality and satisfaction.
We soon learnt after the first evening that we need to book in advance as this place is very popular with both locals and tourists.
The complimentary breads and bruschetta for starter and our after dinner Limoncellos and cakes were a bonus. The breads were to die for and freshly cooked. The fish was fresh and the meat dishes were fabulous.
Prices were reasonable and there was something for everyone, from wood oven pizzas to fillet steak. The food was freshly made and delicious...
The salads very varied, we had buffalo mozzarella, beefy tomatoes and rocket - wonderful, the cheese portion are enormous and is enough for two.
Wine choice extensive, prices to suit your pocket from house to speciality wines. Some excellent wines both red and white circa 18 - 20 euros.
The staff catered for my vegetarian daughter with both Pizza and Calzone dishes which she thoroughly loved
The pasta dishes are tasty, plentiful and enjoyable.
The restaurant is situated in a side street / lane and slightly off the beaten track and about 3 minutes from the main square.
The best seating is outside where you can see the world go by or people watching
You will not be disappointed with both service and quality of food. Overall, if you're looking for a lovely setting in the heart of the old town as well as good food and service, head to La Lanterna.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant in Ssorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a lovely restaurant on a tiny alley int he heart of Sorrento. The food was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. the maitre'd was not terribly welcoming but our waiter was delightful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent in the heart of Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had visited this restaurant in 1985, and decided to look for it again. We were not disappointed. They accommodated my husband with gluten free pasta amatriciana and salad, and I had a wonderful regular pasta with eggplant. The service was good, the food was good, and we were seated outdoors with a view of the street, shops, and wandering tourists. Altogether a lovely evening, and we would definitely go back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over seasoned, abrupt staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The setting was nice - outside at a small table in the alley leading to indoor section. Quite pushy with the water sale which we declined. The service staff were a little abrupt. Some bruschetta was placed on table without any comment - had to ask if this was 'on the house'. I had a plate of pasta with zucchini and cheese. The portion size would have been very large if this had been my prima plate but as it was the only dish I wasn't complaining (and never have regarding too large a portion of food). However the dish was over seasoned for my palate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lanterna also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lanterna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.