We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante 'O Canonico 1898

Ristorante 'O Canonico 1898
Piazza Tasso 7, Sorrento, Italy
081-8783277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 231 Restaurants in Sorrento
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Delicious! Great atmoshere! Very child friendly too. Friendly and attentive staff. Reasonably priced for 2 adults and 2 children.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    14
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have eaten in O'Canonico 1898 maybe 30-40 times over the last 6 years. I look forward to going the moment I step onto the plane to fly to Italy. It is some of the best food I have had anywhere. The portions are not big, which for me is perfect because I want to sample a lot of different dishes. In the photos, the entrées were from last night and there were 5 courses, not counting desert. We were in a group of 10 & we made reservations the day before. We told them to cook what ever they wanted and everything was just wonderful.

In case you are wondering about the photos, I am a professional photographer and these are literally snapshots of the food as delivered to the table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“survives on its position which leads to complacency or just not bothered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the place in the square , they know it and I presume their business costs reflect that position which inevitably is passed on in the price and for that you can not complain , a couple of lemonades with the inevitable dish of nibbles approx 14 euros , the view is simply watching the world go by , nothing else , posers paradise perhaps .

However although we did not eat there I gained the impression that they were there to lighten your wallet and there was little concern for their customer , just the approach of the waiters , pity really as with good food and attitude it could be so much better , but its a tourist cash cow and so I don't think they are too concerned.

A better place in the square is the bar at one end surrounded by a small hedge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and fancy lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great food, great wine, great service. We had a wonderful afternoon on the patio sharing dishes that were unique twists on the classics. Very creative menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good homely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

These you will find at the Aurora. The prices reasonable
and the service excellent. The tables are a little close together
but you were always asked if the table was good for you. Inside in the hot weather it might be uncomfortable but you can always
eat outside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante 'O Canonico 1898 also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante 'O Canonico 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante 'O Canonico 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.