We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all of our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Storico Salerno

Centro Storico Salerno
Via Duomo, Salerno, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Attractions in Salerno
Attraction Details
Timisoara, Romania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Surpassed all of our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The historic center surpassed all of our expectations: bigger, older, nicer, cheaper and cleaner then we would have expected. Winding cobllestone streets, old frescoes of the Virgin on many walls, an 11th century cathedral (amongst other churches), great buzzling nightlife, relaxed atmosphere... Especially after seeing Naples, you would think things get only dirtier when you go more to the south,but no... Also, very few foreign tourists compared to Amalfi or Naples, so no tourist traps. We felt absolutely safe there, I did not see any pickpockets and hardly any beggars.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    55
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
293 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“Stay here rather than Amalfi or Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in Salerno's historical centre for a week in May 2013. It's a much more pleasant place to stay than Amalfi and Positano, which are both overpriced and pretentious, and you can easily get to those places by bus or boat. Salerno's historical centre has numerous unpretentious budget restaurants and an excellent gelateria (L'Isola Fresca in Piazza Sedile di Porta Nova), where you'll pay much less than the rip-off gelaterie in Amalfi. You can also use Salerno as a base for visiting Pompeii and Paestum. Salerno's cathedral is just as nice as those in Amalfi and Positano, which are probably more visited. The local art gallery, while small, is also worth a look. A much safer, more relaxed and more pocket-friendly place to stay than the Amalfi Coast, Sorrento or Naples, with easy access to any of those places.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocera Superiore, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Be carefull, because it will steal your hart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The old centre of Salerno is among the nicest ones around. Everyone knows the region because of Amalfi and other places. but I think the centro storico di salerno is much nicer. Especially in the evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good place to do shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A nice shopping area closed to traffic,about a mile long with lots of shops safe place to stroll ,you dont have to check your purse all the time people are very nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The best part of Salerno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wander around and get lost. Great photo opportunities. It looks like all of those photos that you see in guidebooks; washing on the lines above your head, little steps leading to little front doors, etc

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Storico Salerno also viewed

Salerno, Amalfi Coast
Salerno, Amalfi Coast
 
Salerno, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Centro Storico Salerno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Storico Salerno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.