We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good memory of Salerno Centro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salerno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast
Piazza Sedile di Portanova 10, 84121 Salerno, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 86 Salerno B&B and Inns
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good memory of Salerno Centro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I love Salerno Centro. The hotel is very nice, like a friend's home. The room is very neat and clean. I love to have breakfast in a lovely balcony garden. The owner Francesco is very friendly and helpful.

The main point is the hotel has a good location. There are a few nice restaurants just downstairs. Souvenir shops, clothes shops, shoes shops, toiletry shops, phone shops just 3 to 10 minutes by walk distant. 15 minutes by walk to railway station, bus stations is just 10 minutes by walk, you can catch the bus to Amalfi coast towns.

I have a good memories of this town, this hotel, and people. Wish I will come back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
148
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

One of the best price quality ratios I've found while staying in Italy. They were friendly, the place was clean and it's extremely well located at the center of Salerno. You even got to choose your own breakfast. The only thing that came a bit surprise was that you really can't cook by your self even though there's a kitchen (only microwave, stove cannot be used, some law issue).

In any case warmly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The people who run this establishment couldn't have been nicer. We got help with our planning, and a ride to the train station. It's a very welcoming environment.
Location is good for reasonably close access to Metro stations, some of which have wonderful art. You can walk to train station to go to nearby archeological sites. Very conveniently located on a pedestrian street just off a main drag. And don't forget to take time out to go to Paestum.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at pictures of the rooms. Some rooms have no ensuite bath, some have only one high w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALERNOCENTRO, Direttore at Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your stay and review.

I appreciated very much your great opinion about our hospitality, we love hosting nice people, like you.

I would need to clarify we have two rooms with en-suite bathroom:
“Positano” room: it has en-suite bathroom and private terrace where during spring, summer and autumn you can enjoy lounger sun, umbrella, little table and chairs;
“Amalfi” room: it has en-suite bathroom. This room is an original space where religious people were praying when the building was an ex-convent (during sixteenth century). It has an high window which it's possible to open/close by a rope-system.

We always describe our rooms by e-mail or by phone, but in your case we did not, our mistake, I apologize. You stayed in “Amalfi room” (the only one with an high window) without be informed about its historical features. I am very sorry for this, it will not happen anymore.

I hope I will host you again.

Best,
Dr. Francesco Manzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I can't rate Salerno Centro highly enough! Francesco and his wonderful family are much more than hosts - they are like long lost family and tour guides rolled into one. The warmest of welcomes awaits all guests and the accommodation is kept to a good and comfortable standard, at a reasonable price. Best of all, its great location is perfect for enjoying Salerno as well as all the major nearby attractions due to its proximity to the train station, ferries and buses, which provide an effective and affordable service to the likes of Pompeii, Herculaneum, and the Amalfi Coast. You can't go wrong at Salerno Centro - and make sure you listen to Francesco's recommendations for local restaurants too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spend 9 days 8 nights in Italy before traveling to Switzerland & France for our 16 days Europe trip - 2 nights at Salerno, 1 night at Rome, 2 nights at Florence, 2 nights at Venice and 1 night at Milan. I would say Salerno Centro is the BEST B&B among all these B&B. Especially my wife, she likes Salerno Centro very much as it gives us the feeling of "Home away from home"

Our host Frencesco are very friendly and helpful. His mother Lina & Japanese assistant Kaoru are also as great as Francesco. They make us feels like we are the VIP family members.

The location is excellent, the house is beautiful and the breakfast is fantastic. Our room was large and spotless. Our private bathroom was outside the room but just opposite which was not a problem at all. The only problem in the bathroom was the heater which do not deliver a consistant temperature.

Another great thing about Salerno Centre is they provide return transfer from Salerno Train Station. It was so good to see Francesco & his parent waiting for our arrival as soon as we step out from the train station after a long journey of traveling.

Thank you so much to Francesco, Lina & Kaoru for making us a fantastic and memorable stay in Salerno especially this was our 1st destination in Italy. Last but not least my wife loves the souvenir given by Lina so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Salerno Centro is a great place if you want to spend great time in southern Italy! The staff is extremely gentle and kind, Francesco helped us a lot while visiting: we wanted to visit many places, also in the coast, (Amalfi, Ravello,Caserta, and of course Salerno!). Francesco was very kind and he offered to take us in those places and many more! We agreed on price and he did an excellent job, we were able to visit lot of important cities, beautiful and particular places as well as fine restaurants and pizzerias :) Important to notice, the B&B has its own (handsome) guide! She will make all efforts to enable you to visit all the places you want, she is also an expert in ancient history and she knows a lot about those places!
Perfect staying, strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here last Sepemeber. Very clean and just the most comfortable beds. But the most outstanding part was the hospitality of Francesco, Lina and Pasquale. They made us feel so welcome and part of their family. Francesco gave us great advice for seeing the Amalfi coast and we found Salerno to be a great base for day trips by bus to various towns and Pompeii. Our breakfasts were substantial and Lina's morning lattes just what we needed !!!
We loved the location in an area which is not too touristy and felt we were part of the every day Italian life. The most wonderful Pizza restaurant is in the square behind at very reasonable prices. We will definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to go to Salerno in the future.

Room Tip: The room with the patio is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast

Address: Piazza Sedile di Portanova 10, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast "Salerno Centro" is housed in a former convent of 15th century. We are located in the main square of salerno, about 800 meters from salerno train station: a simple and pleasant 10-minute walk along the pedestrianized corso vittorio emanuele, the most important shopping area of salerno. Also the intercity buses and ferries to Amalfi, Positano and Capri are all 10 minutes away.You can choose between three very comfortable rooms with private or en-suite bathroom. There is a wide relaxing terrace where you can enjoy the breakfast. Wi-fi connection is provided in some areas of the accommodation. There are many cafes, bars, restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, and the local bus lines are just steps away along via roma. Salerno merits a full day or more just by itself, and can be used as a citybase for daytrips to the Amalfi coast, Cilento coast, Capri, Paestum, the Royal Palace of Caserta, Pompei, Ercolanum and Naples itself."Salerno centro" will be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list