We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravella dal 1959

La Caravella dal 1959
Matteo Camera, 12, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-871029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in Amalfi on a cruise and La Caravella was recommended to us, so we went for dinner. What a wonderful meal we had! The service was very attentive and the food delicious. They have a very extensive wine list as well. They made our salad table side and we shared a pasta dish, which was plenty of food for us. For dessert we had the lemon soufflé. It was huge and amazing!! More than enough to share.
It was a memorable night and we enjoyed it tremendously.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    92
    29
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over priced under delivered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

While ingredients are fresh, and the menu somewhat innovative. And service is friendly and responsive. Extremely high prices which of course raises the diner's expectations. Alas very very disappointing

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived just before closing time on a Sunday lunchtime, hot and bothered after a boat trip to Positano. Half expected to be turned away when we asked if it was still possible to have a light lunch, but quite the reverse! We were looked after extremely well and had an amazing lunch - set menu with lots of exciting flavours - fish, veg and meat, good small portions to allow us to try more, finished off with semifreddo and coffee. Very reasonable price for what we had, and good local wine. It looks a bit dull from the outside, but the inside is beautifully done, with pieces of glass and their own ceramic works' products (discount offered for visitors to the shop). Good humour well after they should all have been home putting their feet up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ate there with my wife and daugter. The setting was beautiful, on an alley off the beach. The service was friendly and attentive. The food was outstanding. There is a ceramic shop and wine store associated with the restaurant, but no pressure to buy. The help is so friendly that we got a tour of the kitchen, that included a photo with the staff!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is an elegant restaurant with a very attentive professional staff. It is expensive, but sometimes you deserve a treat. The food was excellent, one of the best meals I have had in years.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caravella dal 1959 also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to La Caravella dal 1959? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caravella dal 1959, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.