We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravella dal 1959

La Caravella dal 1959
Matteo Camera, 12, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-871029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

La Caavella serves outstanding food and should be awarded one Michelin star right now! The decor is somehow has been and that could put you off but he service is perfect and the food is by far the best I have experienced on the Amalfi coast and prbably in Italy! A must in Amalfi, unmissable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a "must" restaurant in Amalfi! Great food and great wine list! If you love seafood, you'll love La Caravella. Friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are ever in Amalfi, this restaurant is a must. It's a beautifully decorated building, the service is impeccable. We decided to opt for the tasting menu and we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely beautiful. We were also impressed with the other choice of dishes on the menu all being sourced locally. It was also a pleasure to meet the chef afterwards in his kitchen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“wonderful food , great service,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

warm friendly staff who didn't mind that i opened my laptop and had a working meal with papers spread about.Loved the wine list and local home made food

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“La Caravella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

During this trip we vised quite a few great restaurants in Campania (see my other reviews). Among them La Caravella was on weaker side. It would be unfair to rate it as "average" and it may be the best restaurant in Amalfi, but we were not impressed.
The interior is quite nice and the service was good. The food was quite traditional and lacked, in our view, imagination and class. The prices were higher than in peer restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caravella dal 1959 also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Caravella dal 1959? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caravella dal 1959, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.