We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camere con vista

Save Saved
You added Camere con vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camere con vista
Via Matteo Camera 17, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A spectacular place... convenient, clean and friendly. I had a few friends from the states meet me here.. and we had the best vacation ever. Everyone was so friendly.. and informative. where n when to go. My memories of our time spent will last a lifetime... time stood still. we are all looking forward to going back. great views.. Even with all the partying we did.. this place also enabled us to catch up on sleep...and simply relax. I left there feeling rejuvenated.. Thank you!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
24
66
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Upon arriving Camere con Vista it is situated right on the hill closest to the bay providing spectacular views. However, there are a few stairs to getting to the top floor with the rooms so be ready although at the end you are rewarded with a breath taking view of the Amalfi Coast. As we were fortunate enough to receive a room with a view and a balcony! My friend and I had a splendid time while staying here. The rooms are kept clean and provide a cozy atmosphere for your stay. There is free wifi in the hotel and is easy accessible from the rooms. Although, breakfast wasn't served in bed it was located at the cafe that was right next to the beautiful cathedral. It's delicious pastries and cafe mixed with the warm sun rays peaking from the clouds was wonderful. It was quite a lovely way to wake up. After asking James where was the best places to visit he gave us detailed instructions on when to take the bus and where to go. Although we may have been down in Amalfi during the off season I feel as though it was the best time. You truly get to experience the Coast for what it is, a beautiful display of houses built into rocks and beaches without the crazy rush of tourists everywhere. The people that live there are very cordial and surprisingly know English all to well! I almost forgot I was in Italy! This hotel is a great place to stay while enjoying your time in Amalfi. I will certainly be going again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are an Australian family of 6 and stayed here in early Jan 2013. The staff were very helpful and after finding their travel office, they took us a couple of blocks to where the building was right on the Harbor front. Up several flights of stairs with our bags wasn't fun but we managed.
It wasn't a Hotel as such but more like separate Apartments within a building. Breakfast was at a local restaurant a few blocks away, just juice, cake and coffee but it was adequate. The rooms were big and fitted 3 of us comfortably.
Amalfi was great and such a beautiful place on the Mediterranean sea.
We would stay again, now that we know what to expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Camere Con Vista is perfectly positioned overlooking the waterfront and close to the centre of Amalfi. It is not a typical hotel but more like apartments. Nino and James who manage the property are so very helpful in every way. We stayed in 2 different apartments during our week's stay and they were both very comfortable, clean and with the most spectacular views. The breakfast at Bar Pasticceria Leone was perfect - our favourite part of the day just sitting and watching Amalfi come to life each day. Also best coffee in Amalfi! Camere Con Vista is very reasonably priced and great for a longer stay with the perfect view. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our apartment had fantastic views over the waterfront and we were right in the middle of everything without it being too noisy.. The place was quite basic but it was clean and the people looking after the place are nearby for any assistance. We didn't find it on arrival but a local phoned our man and he was down straight away to lead us the way and even carried my heavy bag up to the top floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was delighted by my stay at the Camere con vista. For starters, the view of the harbour in Amalfi was superb. The reservation was handled with great efficiency. I actually turned up early but that was no problem at all. The room was clean, beautifully appointed, ideally situated in a very charming building and I couldn't fault one aspect of the place. If you want to engage very reasonably priced accommodation in what can be a hugely expensive area and you are still a stickler for high standards, then this is the place. Also, you are about as central as can be so access to buses and taxis is excellent... and that view!!! Fantastic value for money and a problem-less stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose this thinking this was a proper B&B, as it stated on booking.com
To our surprise, it was neither a hotel or B&B. Plainly let out apartments managed by a professional travel agency who probably manage multiple apartments across Amalfi.

We called the number given to us, when we arrived at the Amalfi bus station. A man came to pick us up and took us to the place- a cluster of apartments located facing the Amalfi marina. Our room did not have a balcony or anything, just a large window overlooking the great bay.

We were taken to the travel agency shop in Amalfi town about 15 minutes walk from the room, to charge our cr card and give us breakfast coupons.
Breakfast was at a bakery close to the travel agency shop, we could get exactly 1 croissant+coffee+juice per person from the bakery!!! Bad bad bad.

Internet was free only in the corridor of the rooms where they had put up ONE sofa for all apartments to use!!( booking.com mentioned that Internet is free in the business centre, imagine calling one sofa in a corridor on the way to the apartments as business centre)

Overall I think it was very overpriced for the quality of rooms we got. It ain't a B&B or hotel so don't go expecting anything similar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camere con vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere con vista

Address: Via Matteo Camera 17, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are larges and uncomfortable. The rooms have autonomous air-conditioning, safe box, mini bar, satellite telecommunications, hair-dryer. The hotel has also three family rooms, with private living room with a double bed sofa, and equipped with a little cooking angle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and HostelWorld so you can book your Camere con vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere Con Vista Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camere con vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.