We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise - we wish we could keep this place a secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Amalfi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolute Paradise - we wish we could keep this place a secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our families for our wedding in Ravello during the last week of May 2009. We still can't believe this amazing villa was real - the pictures just don't do it justice! We have been tempted to keep this place a secret, but that would be unfair to Cristina, the owner of this gorgeous villa. The decor is beautiful, with a very modern, sleek vibe. All of the bedrooms have sea views. The best part of the villa is the abundance of outdoor spaces to enjoy the panoramic sea views and perfect weather (it was in the mid-80s and sunny the whole week we were there). I lost count of the number of terraces with different types of lounge chairs! Outside, there is also a jacuzzi, fitness area, sauna, boat docking area, and private beach. As a note, there are many stairs to get up to the road and down to the water/beach, but they are not terribly steep and they will help you burn off all of the delicious food and wine you will consume!

We highly recommend the services you can book through the villa. We ordered groceries in advance to be delivered upon our arrival - this was a great idea. We booked a chef, waiter and bar man for our rehearsal dinner and Cristina did a wonderful job organizing an elegant and relaxed evening. We did not provide much input, yet she put together a lovely table setting. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. The villa is really the perfect place for a special meal or celebration. We also booked a wonderful hairdresser who came to the villa to do my hair for the wedding and a great masseuse for the day after the wedding.

We enjoyed both restaurants that are within walking distance (we did not have a chance to try two other nearby restaurants offering boat pickup). You can walk to SITA bus stops, but we also recommend the car services of Claudio Lucibello (www.amalficoastcarservice.it) - he offers very professional and prompt service. You can also arrange for a boat pickup from the villa for tours of the coast or Capri - this is a must do!

To sum it all up, this place is truly paradise. We really wish we could keep it a secret, but I think the secret is out, as it was booked up for the entire high season. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

My wife and I and 6 other couples rented the Villa Santa Maria for a week from July 11-July 18, 2009. The Villa is spectacular. It has all the modern amenities and more. It has restaurant-quality kitchen. The private ocean access (which is 220 steps down) is well worth the effort. (Our group was composed of 62 year-olds and we had no problem going up and down--just took our time.) There are 2 good restauants within walking distance, and one of them will even deliver food to the Villa. The maids will shop for groceries at your order.
The Owner, Christina, was very accomodating. This is an A+ place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n. ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I have just returned from Villa Santa Maria on the Amalfi coast and I have to say it is the most luxurious and beautiful villa I have ever seen! The accomodation was second to none and I doubt if I will ever experience the likes of it again. My sister booked it for her wedding and it really was the dream location. I feel I do have to warn potential guests of a few drawbacks however! There are 150 steps down to the villa from the road, which becomes a major nightmare when you are struggling up them - especially in a bridesmaid dress or wedding dress! My parents are in their sixties and they found it very difficult. It is not a villa designed for the elderly, disabled or young children! Apart from that, everything went swimmingly until the final morning when Cristina, the owner, arrived and tried to fleece the newly married couple! Like they hadn't paid enough for the place in the first place! She wanted them to pay for the maintenance of her jacuzzi, despite no damage being done! As well as that, a child in the party accidentally broke a vase which said seven euro on the bottom. She wanted them to pay 145! It really ruined tha last day for everyone, especially the newly weds and really wasn't a pleasant experience. We are decent people who have respect for other peoples' property and we were treated like we had committed a cardinal sin! A word of warning to anyone who stays!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We booked the entire villa for the last week of May, 2009 for our son's wedding in Ravello. Words can't describe the spectacular views from the villa. We could actually see Sophia Loren's villa too, which is very close by. The owners and staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The entire grounds are immaculate and the many terraces allow for privacy if desired. It is as romantic as a place to be found. We had a chef and his staffcome to the villa to prepare the rehearsal dinner and it was delicious and charming. There are also great restaurants within walking distance and a couple others that will pick you up at the villa's private dock too. Amalfi, Positano, Ravello are just a few of the nearby towns to visit, shop and dine in. The locals along the coast were all very friendly. We promised to return to the villa someday and we will!

The Keegans

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We have stayed six nights at the wonderful Santa Maria Villa near Amalfi. At the end of September 2007.
We came as a couple to celebrate our 20th anniversary. And the owners help me to surprise my wife with flowers, Champaign and chocolate.
Villa Santa Maria is a small villa (about 7 rooms) which has only been opened this year. It is sheer paradise – beautiful villa with fabulous view providing privacy and making you feel you're in a very special place.
The staffs at the villa and the owners are very sweet and aim to please. Breakfast was delicious and served outside on the balcony watching the astonishing view of the sea.
The villa decorate in a modern style and outside there are lovely places to sit and watch the view.
The place has a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym and privet beach.
Villa Santa Maria is a great place to stay - perfect for romantic couples.
We enjoyed so much our vacation that we are planning to come back . It was the way I always imagined a romantic vacation. I recommend this to everybody.

Israel Laban

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We have just returned from a short (too short!) stay in Villa Santa Maria in Amalfi. It is a first rate hotel. Everything is top notch. The hotel itself is new, the decor if chic and the views are breathtaking.

The owners and staff in this small hotel are very friendly and the breakfasts were very good (while I love Italy, breakfasts are not usually a strong point but here they were fab - full of fresh fruit, ham, tomatoes, cheese and pastries).

There is a private swim area which is well kitted out and they will arrange for a boat to bring you to the next beach for lunch (unless you want to canoe or swim there). There is a hot tub and even a small gym area in case you felt the need (I didn't).

The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the air conditioning was good (an essential in my book).

All told we had a wonderful break. The temptation is to say nothing and hope that no one else finds it but that would be fair to this new well run hotel. My advice, go there and enjoy every minute of it.

  • Liked — The views and the people
  • Disliked — It is down a number of steps and there are more steps to the sea - not their fault, Amalfi is mainly on a cliff so we knew before going.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Address: Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santa Maria is a special luxury home just a short distance from Amalfi, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The property was built in a huge garden with a sea view and is accessed along the 130 steps that divide the Villa from the road.Outside you can enjoy the swimming pool Jacuzzi, private beach or sun deck directly on the beach where it is possible to dock small boats, also you can enjoy some relaxing time in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Maria Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.