We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the Amalfi coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added Villa Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Santa Maria
Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay on the Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent several months looking for a perfect location throughout Europe to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary.
I found the most extraordinary accommodation with the Villa Santa Maria in Amalfi. To be specific I had what is called the junior suite which is a self contained one bedroom villa about 60 metres from the main accommodation wihch is a 7 roomed villa.
A word of warning. Anyone with mobility issues should research the Amalfi coast carefully to find suitable accommodation. The villa is about 150 steps from the main road.
For my wife and I, everything was perfect.
Firstly, a reassuring email from Annalisa prior to our arrival that the room was booked.
When we got to Amalfi Annalisa greeted us with a tour of the villa and services before leading us to our own seperate accommodation. The website does not do this place justice.
We had a large kingsize bed overlooking the sea. The bed was quite high up enhancing the views. Outside is a private terrace which is at least 40 metres long. There are banana trees and grape vines with a small private garden and beyond this our own personal jacuzzi.
To have peace quiet tranquility and solitude in such a busy place as Amalfi is priceless.
Breakfast is served in the main villa and is of a fantastic standard. I could go on and on about how helpful the staff were, including arranging taxis. To top it all on our last day we were leaving early and Annalisa made sure there was bread cheese, yoghurt and other treats to send us on our way.
This place is an absolute must for anyone craving beautiful views, a great room, wonderful service and privacy and I find it impossible to believe there is anywhere better to stay anywhere along the Amalfi coast. We would most definitely return.

Room Tip: The junior suite also known as the purple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the junior suite which is detached and a little higher than the villa, so fewer steps to the road!! Because the Villa was fully booked by a group wanting privacy, we were unable to access the private beach. However, the manager Annalise reduced the cost and ensured our fridge was fully stocked with all manner of food and drink for the 3 days, as an apology.
This in no way detracted from our stay. Totally private mini apartment, with all the trappings. Sun terrace and gardens with Jacuzzi and the most amazing view. We loved just sitting there with a cool beer at the end of the day, before bussing into Amalfi for dinner.
Annalise was most helpful...renting boats for us to explore the coast and swim off, recommending restaurants, bus timetables etc. Victor was on hand to carry the bags, drop us in and out of town during the day and parking the car for us!! Staff changed bed linen and towels daily as well as restocking with friut, food and drinks.
Lovely to be alone, undisturbed and in peace to enjoy the view and the quiet.
A magical place.

Room Tip: Not sure how the villa works when booked by individual couples so suggest booking the junior suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merksem, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in July this year(2013). Once you go past the fact that you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the main road, it's a wonderful place. Great sundeck where you can sunbathe privately and still go out in the sea whenever you want(even for inexperienced swimmers such us us..).You can even go up some steps to a public beach but you have to get the key to the property"s gate at the reception before you go down to the sundeck. Lovely jacuzzi to cool down in the evenings. Good breakfast with everything you want.Very clean rooms, good turndown service.You even have an outdoor gym if you're the sporty type and a sauna if you don't get enough heat from the sun.It's actually a bit far from the center of Amalfi (2.9 km) but it's still doable on foot as long as it's not during midday.. But the views are the best.... Just stunning!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Santa Maria for a week in november with a group of 14 friends and family. We got married at the church just above the villa and the whole experience was a dream come true. We barely left the villa for the whole week... our days where spent relaxing on one of the many terraces overlooking the amalfi coast, either from our sun beds, the spa, or outdoor entertaining area. We swam at our own private beach and lounged on the sun deck. The manager Cristina made sure that we wanted for nothing, she organised everything for the wedding from the private chefs to the flowers. Cristina and the other staff where so eager to make our stay perfect and we where treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. We highly recommend this villa to anyone who is thinking of staying on the Amalfi Coast we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Thank you Cristina and everyone else at Villa Santa Maria for one of the best weeks of our lives. We will be back.
Ant & Holly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is simply amazing. Stunning views on the bay, very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Numerous areas to sit or lay back and relax. The furniture and decoration are neat, the service discreet, professional, and friendly. Not a detail in this region that can be stuffy during the summer months, a very good working and silent air conditioning in the rooms and breakfast area.
The hotel also offers a jacuzzi on an intimate terrace with amazing views on the bay. Further downhill there is a terrace from which you can dive into the blue waters. A bit further right, there is an amazing private beach which you can access with a key (that you can ask to the B&B owner).
The B&B is situated 2 km away from the center of Amalfi, but there is a bus stop at 50m from the B&B. So, connections are very convenient to go out for dining. There are also two good restaurants within short walking distance. Be prepared from quite some stairs going down from the main street to the B&B, but it really pays out when you're down there, as you arrive into a magnificent garden, hosting a beautiful villa, and offering stunning views on the coast. You should not worry for your luggage, the porter will gently help you and carry them for you (Gosh, this is impressive how this man can carry two bags going up and down hill at such speed!). Truly recommended place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at the end of July 2012 and had a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful and the surrounding is incredible. Service is well provided, supported by an attentive owner, Cristina.
You should be aware of hundreds of steps to get to the house and the private beach, nevertheless is not a problem if you are in good health condition. It is the price you pay to be in a seclude spot and will allow you to eat and stay fit!
Do not miss a visit to neighbor Restaurant Da Teresa at next bay. They will come for you at the beach and return.
Definitely a place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Villa Santa Maria is located between Amalfi and Positano. The villa is perched on the cliffs of the Amalfi coast making it the perfect location to live the coast to the full whilst allowing you to totally get away from it all and relax.

Decor
It is a country luxury style; the rooms are minimalist but with a very warm and personalised interior design. Each room is different from the other,

Rooms
we stayed in a junior suite and it was a real dream: slightly detached from the main house, it has a patio overlooking the sea surrounded from lemon trees, a small garden with sun chairs. The room itself is quite big and its key point is the huge window with sea view which can be enjoyed from the bed as well. The room is clean and has all you need (flat TV, sitting area, etc)

Service
Raally good. Rooms were cleaned early in the morning and your needs are always met throughout the day

Breakfast
The breakfast is served outside and offers a wide choice, including home made cakes.

Aperitifs
Aperitifs: loved them - especially when enjoyed with the stunning sea view

The hotel does not have a restaurant, however there are 3 of them 5 minutes walk from the villa.

Private beach
Stairs take you to a very nice private beach; on the way to the beach there is a Jacuzzi overlooking the sea and an open air gym which are part of the villa's facilities.

Special mention to the owner/manager
Our stay was made exceptional thanks to the attention of Cristina, the owner, who is a very discrete but at the same time attentive manager, always ready to give you tips on sites to visit, restaurants and with a great capability to foresee all customer needs/requests.

We will definitely be back - October probably!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Maria

Also Known As:
Villa Santa Maria Hotel
Villa Santa Maria Hotel Amalfi
Address: Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.