We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book the Purple Suite!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
cork
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Book the Purple Suite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the junior suite which is detached and a little higher than the villa, so fewer steps to the road!! Because the Villa was fully booked by a group wanting privacy, we were unable to access the private beach. However, the manager Annalise reduced the cost and ensured our fridge was fully stocked with all manner of food and drink for the 3 days, as an apology.
This in no way detracted from our stay. Totally private mini apartment, with all the trappings. Sun terrace and gardens with Jacuzzi and the most amazing view. We loved just sitting there with a cool beer at the end of the day, before bussing into Amalfi for dinner.
Annalise was most helpful...renting boats for us to explore the coast and swim off, recommending restaurants, bus timetables etc. Victor was on hand to carry the bags, drop us in and out of town during the day and parking the car for us!! Staff changed bed linen and towels daily as well as restocking with friut, food and drinks.
Lovely to be alone, undisturbed and in peace to enjoy the view and the quiet.
A magical place.

Room Tip: Not sure how the villa works when booked by individual couples so suggest booking the junior suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merksem, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in July this year(2013). Once you go past the fact that you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the main road, it's a wonderful place. Great sundeck where you can sunbathe privately and still go out in the sea whenever you want(even for inexperienced swimmers such us us..).You can even go up some steps to a public beach but you have to get the key to the property"s gate at the reception before you go down to the sundeck. Lovely jacuzzi to cool down in the evenings. Good breakfast with everything you want.Very clean rooms, good turndown service.You even have an outdoor gym if you're the sporty type and a sauna if you don't get enough heat from the sun.It's actually a bit far from the center of Amalfi (2.9 km) but it's still doable on foot as long as it's not during midday.. But the views are the best.... Just stunning!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Santa Maria for a week in november with a group of 14 friends and family. We got married at the church just above the villa and the whole experience was a dream come true. We barely left the villa for the whole week... our days where spent relaxing on one of the many terraces overlooking the amalfi coast, either from our sun beds, the spa, or outdoor entertaining area. We swam at our own private beach and lounged on the sun deck. The manager Cristina made sure that we wanted for nothing, she organised everything for the wedding from the private chefs to the flowers. Cristina and the other staff where so eager to make our stay perfect and we where treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. We highly recommend this villa to anyone who is thinking of staying on the Amalfi Coast we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Thank you Cristina and everyone else at Villa Santa Maria for one of the best weeks of our lives. We will be back.
Ant & Holly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is simply amazing. Stunning views on the bay, very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Numerous areas to sit or lay back and relax. The furniture and decoration are neat, the service discreet, professional, and friendly. Not a detail in this region that can be stuffy during the summer months, a very good working and silent air conditioning in the rooms and breakfast area.
The hotel also offers a jacuzzi on an intimate terrace with amazing views on the bay. Further downhill there is a terrace from which you can dive into the blue waters. A bit further right, there is an amazing private beach which you can access with a key (that you can ask to the B&B owner).
The B&B is situated 2 km away from the center of Amalfi, but there is a bus stop at 50m from the B&B. So, connections are very convenient to go out for dining. There are also two good restaurants within short walking distance. Be prepared from quite some stairs going down from the main street to the B&B, but it really pays out when you're down there, as you arrive into a magnificent garden, hosting a beautiful villa, and offering stunning views on the coast. You should not worry for your luggage, the porter will gently help you and carry them for you (Gosh, this is impressive how this man can carry two bags going up and down hill at such speed!). Truly recommended place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at the end of July 2012 and had a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful and the surrounding is incredible. Service is well provided, supported by an attentive owner, Cristina.
You should be aware of hundreds of steps to get to the house and the private beach, nevertheless is not a problem if you are in good health condition. It is the price you pay to be in a seclude spot and will allow you to eat and stay fit!
Do not miss a visit to neighbor Restaurant Da Teresa at next bay. They will come for you at the beach and return.
Definitely a place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Villa Santa Maria is located between Amalfi and Positano. The villa is perched on the cliffs of the Amalfi coast making it the perfect location to live the coast to the full whilst allowing you to totally get away from it all and relax.

Decor
It is a country luxury style; the rooms are minimalist but with a very warm and personalised interior design. Each room is different from the other,

Rooms
we stayed in a junior suite and it was a real dream: slightly detached from the main house, it has a patio overlooking the sea surrounded from lemon trees, a small garden with sun chairs. The room itself is quite big and its key point is the huge window with sea view which can be enjoyed from the bed as well. The room is clean and has all you need (flat TV, sitting area, etc)

Service
Raally good. Rooms were cleaned early in the morning and your needs are always met throughout the day

Breakfast
The breakfast is served outside and offers a wide choice, including home made cakes.

Aperitifs
Aperitifs: loved them - especially when enjoyed with the stunning sea view

The hotel does not have a restaurant, however there are 3 of them 5 minutes walk from the villa.

Private beach
Stairs take you to a very nice private beach; on the way to the beach there is a Jacuzzi overlooking the sea and an open air gym which are part of the villa's facilities.

Special mention to the owner/manager
Our stay was made exceptional thanks to the attention of Cristina, the owner, who is a very discrete but at the same time attentive manager, always ready to give you tips on sites to visit, restaurants and with a great capability to foresee all customer needs/requests.

We will definitely be back - October probably!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stay: July 15-21, 2012
Profile: married couple; aged 36,48; active life style.

First and foremost Villa Santa Maria (VSM) is absolutely refreshing. The views are breath taking, the location is stunning and the proprietors Christina and Victor are amazing!! 

Our stay at VSM was by happenstance given our decision to abandon our first hotel selection. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Christina who showed us around the property. Her husband Victor is amazingly strong carried our luggage down the long stairwell and was ever so pleasant and friendly. Their daughter Victoria who I believe is between the age of 6-8 is well mannered and perfect.

The hotel is situated on a cliff, similar to that of the Amlfi Coast. So it has ample stairs, gardens and sitting areas. The property is equipped with a sauna, whirlpool, small outside gym,  private sun bathing and swimming areas (natural). The rooms are tastefully decorated and the  living room is stylishly done.

Mark and I stayed in the mini-suite which had it's own garden, filled with beautiful flowers native to the region, lemon trees and grape vines. Additionally the suite has it's own  sun bathing and dining area. An ideal spot for lovers or just good ole R&R.

Breakfast is simple, delicious and carbohydrate rich!! 

We loved this place and leaving has become one of the hardest things we've had to do. We've enjoyed lazy moments, filled with good conversation, great food, wine and endless sunshine. VSM is by far one of the best places we've stayed during our 15-day Italian holiday. So I'm certain that we'll be back* whilst we only have good experience and memories of VSM. They are however a few items to note which might be percieved as cons to others, i.e.:
Cons: 
Parking can be a bit of a hassle but it's worth it. Street parking is free. 
Food: only breakfast served, but it's ok to mix with the locals, so go outside. The trattoria up the street is amazing. 
Artwork: could do with some on the walls in the rooms, but I consider  this more of an improvement. 
Stairs: lots of them so not for non active people. But after all everything isn't for everyone...

Nonetheless VSM is a must experience whilst visiting the Amalfi Coast.

Janis

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Address: Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santa Maria is a special luxury home just a short distance from Amalfi, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The property was built in a huge garden with a sea view and is accessed along the 130 steps that divide the Villa from the road.Outside you can enjoy the swimming pool Jacuzzi, private beach or sun deck directly on the beach where it is possible to dock small boats, also you can enjoy some relaxing time in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Maria Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.