We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tranquil and Charming Hotel with Stunning Views over Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Tranquil and Charming Hotel with Stunning Views over Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed in this lovely hotel in early June 2009 and had a wonderful experience. The couple who own and manage it are young, elegant, intelligent, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are modern & clean, the views stunning. The common areas are elegant and modern in the best of Italian tradition. Things to consider are that (like most places on Amalfi Coast) one has to navigate stairs to get to the hotel from the road and that parking is on the street. Staff helps with suitcases. For those willing to descend (and later climb) more stairs, there is a lovely private beach for a swim or a daring skinny dip. Along the way down to the water, there is a small sauna with a view and even some rec machines. As mentioned elsewhere, breakfast is very good. Owner Christina accommodated our wish to have dinner brought in from a local restaurant which was served under moonlight in the garden section where breakfast is also served. It was magical. Having had the good fortune of a fair bit of international travel to attractive destinations, we spent a good deal of time looking for the right place to celebrate a round birthday and couldn't have found a better place to stay. If tranquility and charm are what you are looking for in a central location on the stunningly beautiful Amalfi Coast, you found the right place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
valencia pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Christina was the prefect hostess.Her attention to details made our daughters wedding at the Villa so perfect and beautiful.The week stay there was a perfect location for a romantic destination wedding.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for three nights as part of a six week trip around Italy, and our time at Villa Santa Maria - perched on a cliff jutting out over the Bay of Salerno - was one of the biggest highlights!

People do need to be aware that yes, there are lots of steps to get to the hotel, and yes its either a bit of a walk or a short bus ride to get to Amalfi for ferries and buses, but the trade off is the most stunning view and location! It is ideally located in that it is so close to Amalfi, but just out of town = peace and quiet!

Due to delays in getting to the Villa after an afternoon trip to Pompeii, we did not arrive until after dark (our bags had been dropped off earlier that day). In the morning, we opened the window to the most incredible, uninterrupted view of the Bay of Salerno! There is also a hot tub perched on a ledge overlooking the bay, possibly the most well-located hot tub in all of Italy!

Often if you stay somewhere for a great view or location, you find that the quality of the accommodation or service has been traded off - that the room is not so good, or the breakfast ordinary - not here! Villa Santa Maria wins in every category, including value for money.

The spacious rooms were absolutely gorgeous, clean and with fresh, modern furnishings. The lovely bathroom was enormous and came complete with soft, large towels and a fluffy white robe for guest use. There is free Wi-Fi, although it tended to work downstairs, not in the rooms. The common/lounge area is so appealingly beautiful and comfortable, you are almost tempted to hang out there than get out and about and see the area.

Breakfast can be taken indoors or outdoors on a sunny terrace with an amazing view, and was the best breakfast we had in fifteen different destinations in Italy in terms of choice and quality - cereals/museli, yoghurts, sweet breads, meats, cheeses. The fresh fruit salad, including finely chopped cherries and strawberries!! was much appreciated. There were a range of teas and juices, and excellent coffee was made to order.

The staff were all lovely, and we had help with getting our bags both down and up those stairs! The owners, John and Cristina, both speak English and were very helpful and kind.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We were looking for relaxation and we got it here. The place is so well done I cant stop thinking about it. It's expensive, but i think the price is worth it as everything is well appointed and service is terrific.

Pros: beautiful private beach (important for amalfi!), terrific residence, best breakfast in Italy!, outdoor jacuzzi with unbeatable views

Cons: the 170 steps from the main road to the house. (dont forget your stuff b4 u leave the house!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We've been back for a few weeks now and I'm still dreaming of Villa Santa Maria. We were a group of 8 Canadian friends (4 couples) ranging in age from 41 to 63. From the moment we opened the gate to this amazing property, we were staggered, by the views, the property and the sheer magnitude of this amazing villa. Cristina, the owner was spectacular - her attention to customer service would match that found at any five star hotel. The property in and of itself is a destination. It was difficult to leave to go anywhere else, the beauty so breathtaking! Day trips to Amalfi, Positano, Capri and Ravello were all easy as the SITA bus stop was at the top of the stairs. Don't forget to purchase your bus tickets before you get to the villa if you can. They can be obtained at any Tobacco shop. And, speaking of stairs, there are many but don't let that dissuade you. Every one of them is a worthwhile climb when it comes to this place. We made use of the order ahead provisions option for our arrival so we'd have groceries on hand for our first weekend. At 30 Euros (plus the cost of food) it is well worth it. We would highly recommend taking advantage of this service. There were two restaurants within walking distance up the road. We went to the one of the right hand side a couple of times (sorry, I can't remember the name but it's super easy to find). The food was excellent, the cost a good value and the hospitality warm and friendly. We even ran into the owner with her children one evening so it must have been good. We hired a car transfer from the Naples airport with a private driver by the name of Francesco Marrapese. We also hired Francesco for a full day of touring - he arranged a private visit with guide to Pompeii and an exceptional tour of a vineyard with lunch. We would whole heartedly recommend Francesco's services. Highly knowledgable, excellent English, superb customer service and a sense of humour that will keep you laughing during your travels. Here's his website: www.francescomarrapese.com.
But back to this property - if you're contemplating a villa rental on the Amalfi Coast, do not miss Villa Santa Maria. The photos don't do it justice. It is even more staggering in person. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I can't even begin to tell you how much we enjoyed this villa -- contemporary, well stocked and oh so gorgeous -- we didn't want to leave.
Christina is a gem and the staff were lovely -- we had a great stay!
As for the stairs -- well, this is the Amalfi coast and you will find stairs everywhere so if you are going to travel there, be prepared to walk up!
Go, relax and enjoy the view -- it is incredible and will stay with you for a long long time ...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our families for our wedding in Ravello during the last week of May 2009. We still can't believe this amazing villa was real - the pictures just don't do it justice! We have been tempted to keep this place a secret, but that would be unfair to Cristina, the owner of this gorgeous villa. The decor is beautiful, with a very modern, sleek vibe. All of the bedrooms have sea views. The best part of the villa is the abundance of outdoor spaces to enjoy the panoramic sea views and perfect weather (it was in the mid-80s and sunny the whole week we were there). I lost count of the number of terraces with different types of lounge chairs! Outside, there is also a jacuzzi, fitness area, sauna, boat docking area, and private beach. As a note, there are many stairs to get up to the road and down to the water/beach, but they are not terribly steep and they will help you burn off all of the delicious food and wine you will consume!

We highly recommend the services you can book through the villa. We ordered groceries in advance to be delivered upon our arrival - this was a great idea. We booked a chef, waiter and bar man for our rehearsal dinner and Cristina did a wonderful job organizing an elegant and relaxed evening. We did not provide much input, yet she put together a lovely table setting. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. The villa is really the perfect place for a special meal or celebration. We also booked a wonderful hairdresser who came to the villa to do my hair for the wedding and a great masseuse for the day after the wedding.

We enjoyed both restaurants that are within walking distance (we did not have a chance to try two other nearby restaurants offering boat pickup). You can walk to SITA bus stops, but we also recommend the car services of Claudio Lucibello (www.amalficoastcarservice.it) - he offers very professional and prompt service. You can also arrange for a boat pickup from the villa for tours of the coast or Capri - this is a must do!

To sum it all up, this place is truly paradise. We really wish we could keep it a secret, but I think the secret is out, as it was booked up for the entire high season. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Santa Maria

Address: Via Cappella, 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santa Maria is a special luxury home just a short distance from Amalfi, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The property was built in a huge garden with a sea view and is accessed along the 130 steps that divide the Villa from the road.Outside you can enjoy the swimming pool Jacuzzi, private beach or sun deck directly on the beach where it is possible to dock small boats, also you can enjoy some relaxing time in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Maria Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.