We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, clean & great value B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Save Saved
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, clean & great value B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

My partner and I stayed at le Palme for 2 nights and loved it. We were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped foot in the door and really enjoyed our stay - it would have been hard not to waking up to a generous breakfast on the terrace overlooking a stunning view down onto Amalfi town.

We also ate at their sister restaurant in Atrani one night and recommend it highly too.

It isn't in Amalfi itself and does have 300 stairs which may be difficult with alot of luggage or if stairs are a problem but the path takes you through lemon groves and is well lit and quite magical at night. Once we didnt have to carry our bags, we actually enjoyed walking the stair path between the main road and the B&B, after all this is how many of the houses along the coast are accessed!!

We would stay again if we are ever in the area and recommend it to anyone looking for a little adventure, charm and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    79
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
34
152
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Spent 2 weeks in the company of Antonietta, Sonya and family by the end me and my partner were quite emotional leaving. The personal touch really made our holiday. Stunning views even on the day of a storm. Rooms lovely and clean mini bar always topped up and at very reasonable prices. Amalfi itself was beautiful the steps are what they are, we quite enjoyed the walk down to town always caught last bus back after a few gentle drinks. For value for money this quaint hotel in a fabulous setting of lemon groves surely can,t be bettered.
You can,t buy the warmth and generosity we received its priceless.

  • Liked — The views, The owners
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I have never written a review, but I have to say what a great hotel! Le Palme is a small, family-run place with very gracious hosts who were happy to help out with our requests (renting a scooter, laundry, helping out with a lost purse). We really enjoy ed our six-night stay and were sorry to leave.

We also decided to try out Le Palme restaurant in Atrani on our own (they never push their restuarant on guests, which I liked), and I'm so glad we did. It was one of the best restaurant experiences we had on the coast. His brother is the chef and does some amazing things. He even gave me some of the pink peppercorns that he used in an antipasta of marinated anchovies.

I would recommend Le Palme to adventurous couples, as there are 350 steps down to the hotel, with many twists and turns. As long as you're up for a little bit exercise, this is a great value. Although we rented a scooter, you can the walk to Amalfi town center in about 20 minutes.

Know before you go: If traveling to Amalfi, the ferry is fast (35 minutes from Salerno) and inexpensive (and provides some great views). The bus takes an hour from Salerno. and you will need to switch in Amalfi. From the town center, you will need to take the bus to Pegerola and get off at the Excelsior hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

After a terrifying highwire bus ride from Sorrento we were happy to be on terra firma again, and we immediately found the bus to Pogerola to get up to the hotel. The buses in Campania use cards which are 2 euros each and last for 45 minutes. Catch the Pogerola bus up the hill, and get off outside the Hotel Excelsior and walk down the steps beside the hotel to find the place.

We arrived after a walk down the hill and the hostess Antoinetta greeted us and offered us a drink. This friendly and welcoming attitude was so much different from every other place we stayed in Italy, and they seemed genuinely interested in their customers.

We stayed in the room upstairs by the pool (we splashed out for my partner's birthday) and the views were some of the best of our whole trip. The room was beautiful and clean, and the chillis and bell peppers growing outside the windows are a nice touch.

Like everyone has said, the hotel is not really in Amalfi, but only 20-30 mins walk down the hill to the city center. The steps are steep and not suitable for older people but if you're young and fit, it's not much problem at all, and you'll be pleased to be away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi center.

Overall, this place is beautiful, the staff /family are wonderful and the price ain't bad either. If you're willing to make the walk up and down the hill and want a nice family run place out of the busy Amalfi center, this place can't be highly recommended enough.

Once again Grazie from New Zealand!!

  • Liked — Views, staff, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Walk up hill
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Provided that you understand that this place is not in Amalfi itself and that you will need to take a bus (get a 24hr/3 day ticket from any tabacci, take the Pogerola bus, get off at the Excelsior Hotel and walk down the unsign-posted steps at the near corner of the hotel building) and walk down 300 or so steps to get to it, you can expect to really enjoy this little place, well away from all the other zillions of tourists. Lovely views, very helpful owner, pleasant breakfasts. The associated restaurant in Atrani is good too.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The owners are a little economical with the truth as far as (in)convenience of access is concerned. We only knew about the steps because we read Trip Advisor reviews...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

This holiday house was one of the highlights of our stay on the Amalfi Coast. My mother and I stayed for 4 nights and everything about it was perfect. The view from the terrace was breathtaking, the room was spotless, the rich breakfast included delicious home-made sweets (torta caprese, panna cotta, crema catalese and biscotti) and my mother says they prepare the best espresso she ever had. We only used the local transportation on the arrival/departure day because of our luggage, but the rest of the time we really enjoyed walking the trail that connects Amalfi to the house. The trail offers beautiful views of the sea and it leads you through lemon groves, vineyards and olive trees. Antonietta, the hostess, is very nice and warm and the owner even let us sample the juicy figs and peaches that he grows. We didn't feel like going out for dinner one night and we decided to have the melenzane alla parmigiana offered on their menu and we thought it was very good. If I have the chance to go back to the Amalfi Coast, I’d definitely stay there again.

Daniel Gamboa and Sara Fato.

  • Liked — I liked the value and the location
  • Disliked — I liked pretty much everything about it.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

My husband and I and two friends stayed at Le Palme Hotel for five nights earlier this month.
It is an enchanting establishment, warm and friendly staff and very clean rooms with heart-stopping views. My husband and I occupied the suite on the roof. Two rooms and a bathroom with gleaming tile.
Very convenient amenities- a fridge fully stocked with beverages and snacks, cheese, etc. (all contents available at a low price) and air con.
As other travellers have mentioned, there are over three hundred steps down to the hotel from the Hotel Excelsior on a main road. This is where the convenient Sita bus stops. Because of this, we decided not to buy wine in Amalfi and shlep it back to the hotel. We preferred to buy bottles at the hotel, they are offered at the excellent price of 5euro. We enjoyed our wine each evening on the rooftop terrace where we gazed at stars and yatchts and cruise ships. Lovely lights up and down the cliffside and in the port of Amalfi.
We were not offered this type of service in any of the other hotels we occupied.
Yes, there are over six hundred steps from the hotel down to Amalfi and the small Amalfi beach. This was the only exercise we got when we were in Italy so we didn't mind. Just bring bandaids girls!!
The town of Amalfi is very crowded, a little touristy, but quaint and in a fabulous location. We had a rental car and made several day trips. Nothing is very far away.
Much ado has been made of the steps- please make sure that you travel to the Excelsior Hotel in Pergola- very close to Amalfi. There is a staircase to the right of the hotel- travel down these to reach le Palme. I advise you to phone ahead and arrangements will be made to have someone meet you and help with your luggage. Don't overpack. It's hot anyway.
We arrived, hot and grumpy (my husband in particular) and we had no idea how to get there (a sign would be nice). A man and woman and their two children stopped to help us- it turned out that the man was Salvatore's cousin. They could not have been nicer or more eager to help. They all grabbed some of our luggage and led us down the steps to the hotel. The first view is absolutely charming.
One look at our hot sweaty faces and the lovely Antonietta and Sonya offered us cold drinks. Being Canadian, we had four draft (and then another four...). Our friends stayed in a lovely superior room with a seaview. Very clean.
As mentioned by others, Salvatore the owner (cousin to Antonietta, husband to Sonya) owns a restaurant in Atrani, within walking distance of Amalfi. We enjoyed a really lovely meal there our first night. Our host was very gracious, offering us complimentary drinks and dessert (two to share). Try the gnocchi, it is fabulous.
Breads and cakes and cappucino are served in the morning. One morning we were given a bowl of freshly picked plums and figs. Another morning I picked cherry tomatoes from the pots around the small rooftop pool and we ate them with our toast.
Antonietta cooked dinner for us one evening (too pooped for the steps that night!) and the price was very reasonable, the food fresh and yummy.
This is a hotel that offers very good value for the money. If you are
adventurous of spirit and you enjoy a good walk this is the place for you. Besides, it really makes a lovely story to tell the folks at home. You won't forget this place. I know I won't.
Thank you, Antonietta!!

  • Liked — Staff/Location
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.