We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and tranquil place for relaxation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very nice and tranquil place for relaxation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Le Palme has a really nice spot at the Amalfi coast. The house sits about 200 meters above sea level with a stunning view of the whole Amalfie bay. We spent most of the time on the sun deck and pool since we don't like to be in the crowds down in the town.

You should be aware of that there are some 700 steps down to town and 300 up to the road. There is a (slow) lift up the 300 steps which is suited for luggage, and you have to be able to walk about 50 steps on your own feet. If you are in somewhat good shape the 700 steps up from the harbor in town takes you about 15 minutes.

The family that runs le Palme took really good care of us and even altered the breakfast to suite our wishes. The grandad brought us every night to Atrani, next to Amalfi where the family had its restaurant. The restaurant is not fancy and serves nice local food with warm hospitality at a reasonable prices.

Conclusion:
-You do not want to walk stairs and want to spend lots of time in town and have a beach close by, don't go there.
-You are able to walk some stairs and like tranquility and stunning views, ABSOLUTELY GO THERE

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    81
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
162
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at Holiday House Le Palme. The location is gorgeous, overlooking crystal blue waters and the town of Amalfi. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. There are just a few rooms, and we enjoyed the smaller, quieter atmosphere of Le Palme. My favorite part of the hotel is the pool, which overlooks the water and the coastline.

Breakfast was served each morning, and you can order lunch or dinner if you would like. We also highly recommend a visit to Le Palme restaurant/pizzeria in nearby Atrani. One of the staff members at Le Palme is married to the restaurant's chef, and we took her up on the recommendation - amazing food and a great location.

Important to know: As with many areas of the Amalfi coast, there are stairs - lots of them! There are 300 stairs leading from the main road to the hotel. They do have a lift (a wheelchair lift) that can accommodate a couple of people and/or suitcases, and we used it to get our luggage up ad down. We are in decent shape and enjoyed some stair exercise to work off all our big Italian meals, so keep all that in mind! If you are traveling with young kids or have trouble with stairs, you may feel frustrated with the access.

We will absolutely be back to Le Palme on our next Italy trip!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great place to stay in Amalfi, Maria, Sonia and Giusy made our stay a real pleasure, they were super helpful and kind. Salvatore himself was a great surprise, we met him at the pizzeria Le Palme, so nice; by the way, go to Pizzeria Le Palme, great food and the best prices in town, plus, the service was the best we had in the entire Amalfi Coast, and I have to say that every single person we met was extra nice, so, you can imagine how cool all the restaurant and B&B staff are. I give it a great "Excellent" and two thumbs up and 4 out of 4 stars, we really loved it and we are definitely recommending it and coming back next year.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and the food was great! Everyone was very hospitable and helpful. The room was nice and big and clean. You must try their homemade limoncello and lasagna! The only downside is getting to and from the location. The little luggage cart can take a long time and going up and down all those steps gets tiring, but it's good exercise!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent two days in this hotel in July and found it very charming! Great breathtaking see view, swimming pool, green territory. Breakfast was good and tasty with fresh red orange juice:)) Wifi is in common areas. Price are not very expensive.
Only two things we didn't like:
1. there was no any window in our room so it was quite dark and not so romantic in it:(
2. It is really hard to find! We got there by car and if we didn't call to the hotel we would definitely lost! It is situated in the middle of mountain so it is quite far from Amalfi center and beaches (you should get a bus app. 10 min to get to the beach).
If you have enough time to go up and down I can recommend you this place.

Room Tip: Ask the room with the window:) And explore a map before go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Le Palme is located up in the hills above Amalfi giving the most perfect views of the hills sides covered in lemon trees and the Mediterranean.

I caught the bus from Amalfi and was met on the road by Salvatore and Sonia who helped me use the stair lift down to Le Palme. My room was fine, simple and had everything I needed - and I headed straight to the pool when I arrived.

Le Palme provides the perfect opportunity to rest by the pool with the most stunning views in the quiet of the hills or you can walk, or catch the bus, to Amalfi or Pogerola for meals or to swim in the Med.

They have a limited menu and a well stocked mini bar so if you don't feel like leaving you don't have to. If you do want to go out for dinner, Salvatore has a restaurant in Atrani (a wonderful village next to Amafli the has far fewer tourists and a much better beach) and he generously will drive you there and back if you want - and the food is wonderful!

Breakfast was generous and the staff were all very helpful and welcoming.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelbrook,Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in Le Palme for 3 nights and loved the place so much we really didn't want to leave.

The views are spectacular and being served breakfast ever morning overlooking the beautiful blue water was truly a highlight.

The rooms are super clean and the beds made every day.

If you are after an authentic Amalfi experience in a family surrounding, look no further than Le Palme. The family also have a restaurant in town that we dined at and both the service and food was exemplary with a complimentary pick up and return service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.