We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation but far away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation but far away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The accommodation is clean and decent. Good wifi and very nice hospitable family. However, it is far away from amalfi and the stairs are a bit annoying especially with bags (even though they do have a slow wheelchair lift). The rooms are a bit outdated but have a nice view. You get complimentary breakfast yet we were unsure as to what this was as we just got given bread everyday, compared to other people getting eggs and dates. Overall was an alright stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
168
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Palme for our honeymoon. The views from this place are simply stunning, and the service we received was great - as expected, really. Breakfast is good (and set in a stunning location). I enjoyed the croissants which had jam inside them! The room was clean and tidy and comfortable, with a window looking out over the sea.

Our main reservation with the place is that it is not really in Amalfi - it's nearer Pogerola, and is a good 20 minute walk down to Amalfi, and probably a 30 minute walk back up the stairs (granted with some pauses to take in the gorgeous views and catch our breath). We knew this when we booked, based on previous reviews on this site, but it bears repeating that there are a LOT of steep and sometimes uneven stairs to navigate if you choose to stay at Le Palme. We are both fairly fit but we did find the stairs hard work after a hot day on the beach, or having eating dinner and drunk wine!

We had a fantastic stay at Le Palme but if we had been staying in Amalfi for any longer than 5 nights we would have wanted somewhere a little closer to the heart of things.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I think it is important to note up front that this is not a hotel but more of a B and B experience. The location is high in the hills of the town of Amalfi ( probably closer to town of Pogerola). Access to the property is via a " wheelchair lift" and lots of stairs ( many of which are in a poor state of repair) so just be aware of this if you have any travellers with mobility issues or lots of luggage. However, there are definite advantages to this. The views are breathtaking, it is quiet, the family who run it are wonderful, and the advantage of meeting people from all over the world in the communal breakfast area and lounge area is priceless. Breakfast is simple but always served with a smile and they were happy to oblige with special requests (extra cups of coffee, omelettes, juice etc). This place is highly recommended to those of you looking for an escape from the tourist laden town centre and want a more authentic Italian experience. We want to thank Antoinetta, Sophia and Juicy for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a week time in this lovely hotel last august and we have to say that the place is really nice and quite so is perfect for a relaxing holiday!
Views are stunning from the balcony and the rooms are lovely and really clean!
Thanks very much to Antonietta and Sonia for the really nice help during all our holiday
We will surely come back here on our next visit to amalfi coast!
Ps: We found a really nice place up in the village called Gerry's pub where food and drinks are well worth the visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our six day stay in Le Palme was a terrible experience. We just cannot understand where all the good reviews come from, especially the one which describes a terrible experience lugging luggage up the many (many) stairs without the lift! That does not sound like a 5-star experience to me!

Here are just a few points:

• Half of the sunbeds and umbrellas were broken and all of the covers were dirty.

• We never saw any of the staff take care of the pool area. When it rained, we and some other guests had to hang the soaking wet and unusable covers out to dry.

• For our whole stay, our sheets were changed just once, and I mean just the sheets – not the pillow cases or bed covers.

• The breakfast was cheap and terrible - stale croissants, stale cereal and a cheap cheese toastie.

• Before we booked we were in conversation with the hotel about what to expect. We were told that all rooms have a “stunning sea view". However, the only ‘window’ in our room was our entry/exit door which opened onto a terrace, including a seating area, which all the guests used. This meant that we could not leave the door open as we would have had no privacy whatsoever! Besides that, our ‘view’ was an overgrown bush!

• The room was very dark, even with the curtains drawn, which made it quite uncomfortable and cold-feeling.

• The shower was incredibly small, perhaps one metre squared, which made it difficult to even turn without hitting the shower walls, let alone pick something up.

• The bathroom was incredibly narrow (under two metres).

• The TV had shady reception.

• The wardrobe blocked another door through which we could clearly hear people talking. It also had a stool inside it. Perhaps they thought we could use it as another room!
Considering we paid more than 100 Euros per night, we expected decent service and a decent room which we do not think is unreasonable. In reality, it felt more like a 2-star motel.


Lastly, I’ve uploaded some photos to back up some of what I’ve said.

Our advice - avoid staying here, especially for the cost! It really isn’t anywhere near as good as it sounds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Le Palme for 2 nights of our honeymoon and it lived up to our expectations. The view is excellent and the pool area is very nice. The staff was very friendly and provided a great breakfast. As others have noted, it is a bit of a hike to get there. We took the bus the first time which was a little confussing upon arrival. I would not recommend taking a taxi (which we did once at night) as its expensive. We walked from Amalfi and it took about 20 minutes and was well lit. I would recommend this for anyone that doesn't mind a little exercise. The room was clean but basic and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is located about ten mins from Amalfi town (by bus)close to Pogerola. It is possible to get a bus but they stop around 9 pm... If, like me, you decide to go up the 300 steps, you'll feel like you've just done a rigorous session at the gym!! Not for the faint hearted.

The hotel is run by a family who, may I add, are lovely. However, my room was next to their house and I could hear the mother screaming in Italian to her kids all the time... Not conducive to having a relaxing break...

No wifi available here either (Nov 2012 so maybe they've sorted it now)...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.