We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the faint hearted.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
carluke scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a one week's stay at this holiday house.
As other reviewers have said the view is spectacular but getting there is another matter. This holiday home is more suited for a mountain goat! There are 300 steps down to the hotel from the roadway where you leave your car in the car park of another hotel. Disabled type stair lift covers three sections down but there are also other stairs to negotiate. The stair lifts are temperamental and are not always available. You can walk down to the town but this is in excess of 300steps with no hand rails and no stair lift.
The hotel room shower was meant for small framed people. Breakfast was average. The pool area and service was good. If you have any mobility issues this holiday house is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
168
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

An amazing view that takes your breath away. The stairs are many but a lift has been installed for your luggage which is good. The rooms are excellent and the service is good. The pool is great as well.

A note though, do not go to the associated restreraunt it is far away and not worth it. We got ripped off as they gave us special customer drinks which was exciting except they added it to our bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I agree with all the other positive comments about Le Palme. So as not to repeat them, i thought i'd give a slightly different angle ... which is that as a non-sun worshipper, i was extremely pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to find a nice shady spot to sit, or lounge, read a book or wahtever. There are a couple of shaded terraces and lots of umbrellas and awnings on the sun deck. Becuase it's such a small hotel, quite ofte the other guests were out which meant we had the sun deck completely to ourselves. Of course, if you want full on sun, there are lots of opportunities for that too. For me this was the best thing about Le Palme.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a superior room .. recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want to stay in a generic, chain, enorma-hotel, then don’t stay here. If, however, you want to stay in a small, boutique, friendly, family-run establishment with stunning views, this is for you. We stayed here several nights for our honeymoon.

Here are some more details for those who are interested.

Location:
The hotel is located in the hillside and only accessible on foot. The view is absolutely breath-taking! The path down takes you to Amalfi (20-minute walk) however the path is steep (and tiring) walking back. We didn’t find this a problem (in fact, it helped work off the pasta) but I would consider elsewhere if you don’t have a reasonable level of fitness or have mobility issues. An alternative would be to take the bus (from Pogerola up the hill), which takes longer, or get a taxi which is over-priced. Going further up the hill is the village of Pogerola, which I preferred to Amalfi due to the views and the better restaurants. There is a hillside lift from the hotel to Pogerola (it stops at the hotel, it doesn’t go as far as Amalfi). The lift is fantastic, especially when you have your bags. It also allows you to really take in the scenery as you are going up. Make sure you ask management to show you how to work it though and show you the way as it is confusing at first. Although the lift can be used if you are in a wheelchair, there are still steps within the hotel complex itself, so stay elsewhere if you are looking for somewhere completely step-free.

Food:
All meals in the hotel are served from a covered terrace with spectacular views. Breakfast is coffee, a glass of juice, a home-made croissant, bread, some biscotti, and jam. An extra coffee or fruit would have been nice, but the breakfast is filling and the service is good. We also had lunch twice in the hotel, which was absolutely delicious.

Room:
We had the Junior Suite. It was very large and comfortable and the air-con was good. The shower was warm and powerful. The only downsides were no bath and no views of the sea from your bed, just from the general room area. Also, be careful of the low ceiling! A few more coat hangers would have been nice. The mini bar was good, but not always re-stocked.

Pool:
The view from the pool area is fantastic. Plenty of sun loungers and places to relax. This is a very small hotel with only a few rooms so we often had this area to ourselves.

Misc. Points
The family who run the hotel do really try to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. For example, they offered to drive us to Pompeii and ended up throwing in a mini guided tour of the area!

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. The rooms are very clean, breakfast really tasty and staff are eager to help. There are a lot of steps to and from the hotel, but you're in Amalfi - there are lots of steps everywhere!!

This was our first visit to Amalfi and when we return we'll definitely be staying at the Le Palme!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most romantic and klient friendly place in Amalfi:):):) Recomend recomend recomend. And the steps are so much fun, something interesting must be, when you have a vacation. Room service is great, rooms are clean and beautiful. And you can always ask for everything you need. The family who runs the place makes you feel, like you are old friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the first time both my husband and I visited Amalfi Coast. We arrived at "Le Palme" around midnight, much later than our initial reservations. However, we were greeted as if it was noon! After a long day of running around, we were completely exhausted. Antonietta was such an amazing hostess, she made us feel at home and immediately offered us home made limoncello, which was just perfect!!! She asked if we wanted to eat something, but we just wanted to settle in this paradise, relax and sleep our tiredness off. The following morning we opened the windows and the views from this "Superior Suite" was heavenly amazing. No exaggeration, the views were breathtaking!! We went to have breakfast, and again we felt like home. The daily breakfast constitutes of delicious home made danishes, latte, Orange juice, toast, and croissants. Le Palme is about 15 minutes away from Amalfi center, but it was just perfect. Normally we walked the long pathway of stairs, which helped us stay in shape from all the fantastic food we at Le Palme Ristorante which is also owned by Salvatore and family. Salvatore, thank you, your wife, Antonietta and the entire family for making us feel as part of your family. We will see you again very soon:) ...Vivi & Alex.

Room Tip: Any ocean view room
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.