We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Pogerola” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel in Pogerola”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you want a room with a jacuzzi make sure that you ask for one! The first room they gave me had no jacuzzi. They allowed me to change rooms, but I had to pay 5 euros a night more for the new room. It was worth the five euros! The new room was much larger, it had a jacuzzi and it was much more private (below reception and the veranda where people have breakfast) unlike the first room which wasn't very private at all. The best thing about this hotel was the view, it is unbelievable. The rooms have glass doors that have views over the ocean and there are also many public areas where guests can sit and look at the sea. There is a pool, with views of the ocean, that looked very nice, new and clean.

There are some areas that need serious improvement:

The mattress was inexcusably terrible. The springs were sticking out, it was very uncomfortable. It should have been replaced a long time ago.

The thing that really bothered me about the breakfast was the toastie. The toasties are ham and cheese. I told Sonia that I can't eat pork and asked if I could have just cheese for the remaining mornings. On the last morning I pulled my toastie apart because I like to stretch the melted cheese, old habit. When I did this I saw little bits of ham stuck throughout the cheese. I'd specifically asked if the toastie was just cheese and Sonia said it was. This was not true, I wouldn't have noticed if I didn't pull it apart and have a look. So, watch out if you're Jewish, Muslim, Hindu, vegetarian etc.

The furniture and linen really need to be updated. The furnishings were dated and tatty.

Notes on location:

I probably wont return to village of Amalfi itself, it was just way too touristy (tourists with BIG cameras, menus in 5 languages, tour buses everywhere). Le Palme is in a village called Pogerola, above Amalfi. Pogerola is a good base for walks around the area. During my stay I really enjoyed the walks and I'd return to the amalfi coast to hike. It's nice to walk around the small villages on the hills above the Amalfi coast. The best thing that I did during my stay was to walk from Ravello to Atrani (through Valle del Dragone). It was such a beautiful walk, the material that dreams come from!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    82
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
163
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Be very careful when taking someone who cannot climb stairs. There is a stair lift but it does not go all the way. There are still 50 steps. Otherwise I agree with everything said below.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

400 steps up or a bus to Pergola and 300 steps down... you choose.

Rooms were lovely with a balcony overlooking Amalfi bay, pool and food is served on site. Mini bar is really quite cheap €5 for a bottle of nice local red wine.

They've had a stair lift installed recently, but honestly at the speed it goes (about 0.5mph) you'd be quicker walking if you have backpacks... the ground isn't great in places so if you have suitcases it's probably best to use the intercom at the VERY top of the stairs as you get off at the Excelsior stop... keep your eyes peeled or you could miss it... like we did... ha!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Perhaps the most famous picture of the Amalfi coast is the one from Ravello with the mountains tumbling into the sea in the background. Well, the view from this hotel is more spectacular than that. It is truly heavenly. It is situated up a steep hill (the only way to get dramatic views) but well worth the effort of climbing many stairs. We have 3 kids aged 8, 10 and 12 and they coped well with the effort. If you really want something memorable from your holiday then go for it. The hotel itself is small, family run and as a result is so friendly. Our kids were given ice creams without prompting, and we were treated to lemon coffee. A really lovely experience, and waking up in the morning to those heavenly views....
Petefay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. I think every room has one anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Le Palme B&B is charming and cozy! Loved the accommodating hosts, Sonia, Antoinetta, Jusy, and Rafaelo, and the services we received! Going to Le PAlme is quite a hike! You take the bus to "Pogerola" from the center of Amalfi, and it takes 5-10 minutes to get there. That was the only concern/difficulty we had. You get free breakfast at the terrace which overlooks the Amalfi coastline. They also have a lift that aids you with your luggages.

Our room in Le Palme was very charming and homey. The bed was comfortable and we also had our own bathroom. The door to our room also gives you a view of the lemon trees and the ocean, which was lovely. There is a mini fridge that had extra beverages and snacks, if ever you are hungry. Also, Sonia made us espresso as we waited for our bus to Amalfi center.

Overall, I would certainly come back to Le Palme! I would only recommend to bring smaller luggages when going there, as it is quite a pain to pull and carry large luggages while climbing up or down the hotel, even with the help of the lift.

~ Maria & Peter ( August 26-August 28 2011)

Room Tip: View, Swimming Pool, free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a small family run hotel. I think there are about 8 rooms in the place. The hotel was full while we were there but we hardly saw any other guests, so it was like having the place to ourselves. The rooms were clean and lovely and the service was really good.
There is a new pool and the view from it would rival any high-class resort! This really is a cosy and lovely hotel.
The one point I would say is that the hotel is half way down the hillside and has to be accessed by going down quite a few steps. There is a new lift installed so you dont have to carry your luggage down, but if you are not very active then you may struggle a bit. The walk down to Amalfi is very pleasant and will take 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

At first, when we arrived we weren't sure due to the location and accessibility of the hotel. When we got to our room all that disappeared. We were welcomed fantastically and the feel and warmth from the staff was what we expected and more. The family feel to the hotel is great and the new swimming pool had views you would expect in 5 star accommodation. It is a solitary retreat, calm and inspirational.

The only thing negative I could say is that you have to like steps to reach Amalfi...but with the help of the staff you will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.