We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B in Amalfi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B in Amalfi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Le Palme B&B is charming and cozy! Loved the accommodating hosts, Sonia, Antoinetta, Jusy, and Rafaelo, and the services we received! Going to Le PAlme is quite a hike! You take the bus to "Pogerola" from the center of Amalfi, and it takes 5-10 minutes to get there. That was the only concern/difficulty we had. You get free breakfast at the terrace which overlooks the Amalfi coastline. They also have a lift that aids you with your luggages.

Our room in Le Palme was very charming and homey. The bed was comfortable and we also had our own bathroom. The door to our room also gives you a view of the lemon trees and the ocean, which was lovely. There is a mini fridge that had extra beverages and snacks, if ever you are hungry. Also, Sonia made us espresso as we waited for our bus to Amalfi center.

Overall, I would certainly come back to Le Palme! I would only recommend to bring smaller luggages when going there, as it is quite a pain to pull and carry large luggages while climbing up or down the hotel, even with the help of the lift.

~ Maria & Peter ( August 26-August 28 2011)

Room Tip: View, Swimming Pool, free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaeleroma, Proprietario at Le Palme, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that since August last year the hotel can be reached with the help of a stair lift that can carry two people wide with three people without baggage, or for walkers, can still walk the 300 steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    84
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
169
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hove
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a small family run hotel. I think there are about 8 rooms in the place. The hotel was full while we were there but we hardly saw any other guests, so it was like having the place to ourselves. The rooms were clean and lovely and the service was really good.
There is a new pool and the view from it would rival any high-class resort! This really is a cosy and lovely hotel.
The one point I would say is that the hotel is half way down the hillside and has to be accessed by going down quite a few steps. There is a new lift installed so you dont have to carry your luggage down, but if you are not very active then you may struggle a bit. The walk down to Amalfi is very pleasant and will take 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

At first, when we arrived we weren't sure due to the location and accessibility of the hotel. When we got to our room all that disappeared. We were welcomed fantastically and the feel and warmth from the staff was what we expected and more. The family feel to the hotel is great and the new swimming pool had views you would expect in 5 star accommodation. It is a solitary retreat, calm and inspirational.

The only thing negative I could say is that you have to like steps to reach Amalfi...but with the help of the staff you will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This B&B is amazing. I originally planned to just take a day trip from Rome to Amalfi to take the Amalfi Coast powerboat tour, but I was advised to stay the night prior so I can make it to the tour early morning. Le Palme was suggested to me by the tour organizer as a reasonably priced, family-owned B&B. I therefore emailed Le Palme to get a quote, and got an immediate reply. Based on the quote, I was expecting a room with no windows, with just a bed, which was exactly what I was looking for, as I did not plan to stay long.

When I entered the B&B, I was pleasantly surprised. It was nestled in the hills of Pogerola, facing the Amalfi coast, with dramatic views of the ocean. Every room I was told had a view of the ocean, including mine. Antonietta, the receptionist was very friendly. I loved my room which was spacious, had a large bed, TV, A/C, safe, closet, bathroom (small). It had glass doors so you can see the ocean in the distance, with separate wood panels that can be closed if total privacy is desired. It was a bit late when I arrived, and I asked where I could have dinner. Antonietta recommended the restaurant uphill which the owner also ran. The owner himself and his little tyke, came to get me in his Vespa and 3 of us rode back (10-min romantic walk or short bus ride uphill) to his restaurant where his wife herself prepares the food. The place had open dining, and had a very nice twilight view of the small houses dotting the surrounding hills. Reminded me of those little Italian hamlet towns they feature on travel magazines, only known to seasoned travellers. Food was decent, housewine superb!

The only draw back to this place is that it is a good 15min bus ride from downtown Amalfi. However, it is located along the trail running from the top of the mountain to downtown, and I was told it was only a 30min leisurely trek downhill to get downtown from the B&B. Personally I would have loved to do it if I had time, as the view would be breathtaking. It is also about an 8min walk downstairs from the highway above, though someone can meet you at the bus stop to help with your luggage. (You might wanna factor this in if you're planning to catch a bus at a specific time schedule to go downtown).

All in all, this is definitely not the Ritz, but a great value for the price! I ended up staying for 2 nights and 3 days, and enjoyed every minute of it! Pogerola has a very enchanting view of the coast, and this little B&B was perfectly positioned for one to appreciate the grandeur of the Mediterranean, especially at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Antoinetta and her extended family provide gracious and warm hospitality in this stunning small hotel nestled into the cliffs above Amalfi. The view is one of the best on the Peninsula, the pool is relaxing and the rooms very comfortable. Prepare to do some stairs (301) to get to and from your car but it is so worth it. Try the Expresso Limona!!

Brian and Madeleine, Caledon, Canada

Room Tip: Ours was on the main floor adjacent to the terrace. Very comfortable! There is also a stunning littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Le Palme for 2 nights and felt warmly welcomed and well looked after throughout. There were always offers of delicious red orange juice when we returned from being out. Antonietta and Sonia couldn't have been more helpful, even using the internet and making phonecalls to find information for us about boat times and how to make some journeys.

The bed was comfortable and the terraces were very tranquil places to relax and soak up some sun when you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi for a while! The breakfast was big and tasty- ham and cheese toasties, toast, cakes, jam filled croissants, coffee, and set us up for the day.

As other people have mentioned, the hotel is uphill from Amalfi, so be prepared for a climb, but definitely don't let this put you off- It is worth it! And it is a pleasant walk past interesting buildings and lemon groves, etc. Going downhill is no problem and to get back you can walk or take a short bus trip to near Pogerola (Excelsior Hotel), and then walk downhill to Le Palme. While we were there, they were fitting a stairlift to the hotel from the entrance uphill, so soon after taking the bus uphill, you can get the stairlift down.

Also, we would recommend going to their restaurant in Atrani (also called Le Palme). Delicious food and great service. Highly recommend the pasta with scorpion fish sauce!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our hiatus to Europe. The service was great - all the staff were really friendly and helpful - we were even greeted with a glass of cold orange juice which was nice after lugging our backpacks down the hill. The breakfast and coffee in the morning was great. The homemade lemoncello in the minibar was delicious (plus all the mini bar was reasonalbly priced). We also went to their restraunt in Atrani - much recommended. The rooms were spotless and the hotel is a really nice place to relax. The owner was fantastic, and we felt like we were treated like old friends rather than just customers. It did not seem like the staff were out to make money at all - they even did a load of laundry for us!

We were aware that there was a long walk with many steps to Amalfi, but the walk was really scenic and stunning. Not to bad if you have a good base of fitness. There was talk of the hotel putting a lift in sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#17 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.